12 Best Authors Like TL Swan for Fans of Romance Novels

 Check out our list of top authors like TL Swan to get your next romantic read. These steamy authors offer plenty of compelling tales to explore.

T.L. Swan is a bestselling author of romance books who has works in 20 languages, including many in the number one slot on Amazon for US, UK, Canadian, Australian, and German readers. Swan is a relatively new author, publishing her first book, Stanton Adore, in 2014. This book started the Stanton series, which had four total books. After it, she moved on to write Find Me Alastar and Play Along, two standalone novels in 2016 and 2017.

In 2018, she introduced The Mr. series, starting with Mr. Masters, then Mr. Spencer in 2018, and Mr. Gracia in 2021. At the same time, she was working on The Miles High Club, which started with The Stopover in 2019 and ended with Miles Ever After in 2013. After exploring her famous works, look at the best authors like T.L. Swan for your next read. Check out our guide on authors like Lucy Score.

Best Authors Like Tl Swan Ranked

1. Christina Lauren

Christina Lauren
Photo of Lauren Billings and Christina Hobbs

Christina Lauren is the combined pen name of a duo of writers, Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings. Together, they have written 18 New York Times bestselling novels and young adult books. They are quite successful as a pair, with works in over 30 languages and an induction in the Library Reads Hall of Fame.

Lauren received her doctorate in neuroscience and studied neurodegeneration in aging before she started writing full-time. Christina Hobbs was a counselor in a junior high school before she started writing full-time. The two consider themselves best friends and work well together. The Beautiful series, starting with Beautiful Bastard, and the Wild Seasons series, starting with Sweet Filthy Boy, are the most like TL Swan.

“I knew everything happened for a reason. I just wished the reason would hurry up and make itself known.”

Christina Lauren, Beautiful Bastard

2. Colleen Hoover, 1979 –

Colleen Hoover
Photo of Colleen Hoover

American author Colleen Hoover writes young adult fiction and romance novels that have won several awards, including the Goodreads Choice Awards and UtopYA Con Awards. A distinguished author, Hoover held six of the top ten spots on the New York Times bestseller list in 2022, including It Ends with Us in the top spot. After studying social work, Hoover grew up in Texas and graduated from Texas A&M Commerce.

After graduation, she worked in social work and education before she wrote Slammed, her first novel, which she self-published in 2012. It started selling well, and she wrote Point of Retreat, publishing it just a month after publishing the first novel. The success of these two works allowed her to quit her job to write full-time. Today, she has 24 novels and novellas to her name.

“It stops here. With me and you. It ends with us.”

Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

3. Lucy Score

Reading and writing were in Lucy Score’s blood. As a young girl, her family was known for the dinner table being a place for reading, not conversation. After high school, she got her degree in journalism and settled down in Pennsylvania to write full-time. Known for her romance novels, she has strong heroines in her books that make them appealing. Pretend You’re Mine, the first book in the Benevolence series, which she published in 2014, was an instant number-one New York Times bestseller. Most of her books are small-town romance novels.

“What am I supposed to do, be all ‘woe is me’ for the rest of my life? I still get access to the same sunrises everyone else does, the same 24 hours in a day. And if I don’t take advantage of those things, it’s my own fault.”

Lucy Score, Pretend You’re Mine

4. Max Monroe

Max Monroe is a pen name for two writers, Max and Monroe, who write steamy romance novels. The two writers keep their first names secret but are well-known for their sarcastic writing style. The Max Monroe books are New York Times and USA Today bestsellers, and the pair has over 30 books. A recent project is the Billionaire Bad Boys series, which started with Tapping the Billionaire in 2016. This trilogy of books uses humor with steamy romance to create a page-turning rom-com-style book.

“The world is small, baby. But love is large. Big enough that coincidence occasionally rubs elbows with opportunity.”

Max Monroe, Tapping the Billionaire

5. Meredith Wild

Merideth Wild is a successful romance and suspense author from Florida who has reached the top spot on the New York Times bestseller list. In 2013, she published her first novelHardwired, as a self-published author, and it was successful. Because she has a tech background, Wild quickly built her self-publishing brand, which she named Waterhouse Press.

Under this imprint, her books rose to the top of the New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestseller lists. She has had the foreign rights to her books sold in over 23 languages and has appeared on The Today Show and CBS This Morning. Hacker, her first series, uses her knowledge of tech and her ability to write a great love story to create an exciting series of books.

“You lose yourself, Erica, because with the right person, who you become together is something so much greater, more than you could even realize right now.”

Meredith Wild, Hardwired

6. Victoria Quinn

Not much is known about Victoria Quinn other than that she lives in Seattle and is happily married. This author is known for her wildly imaginative dark romance books in the Obsidian Series. She also has written the BossCherrySoulless, and Hamilton series. These contemporary romance books have a dark edge but are wildly popular. Many have become New York Times bestsellers. Quinn published her first book, Black Obsidian, in 2017 and finished the entire series the same year. Because she writes so quickly, she has four complete series to her name even though she is a relatively new player in the romance book world.

“The black ring on my right hand felt heavy with commitment. It was the only piece of jewelry I wore other than my watch, and it took some getting used to. To everyone else, it was just a ring. It had no meaning and no voice.”

Victoria Quinn, Black Obsidian

7. Olivia Hayle

Olivia Hayle has sold over a million contemporary romance books, making her one of the top authors like TL Swan. The bestselling author has only been writing romance novels since 2019, selling them through Amazon and Kindle Unlimited. Before she started writing steamy books for her readers, she was an avid reader of romance novels. This allowed her to learn about the genre and how to write it well. To help her readers stay connected with her books, she publishes online bonus content to engage with them from the printed page.

Hayle has three series, New York BillionairesSeattle Billionaires, and Brothers of Paradise, as well as several standalone novelsArrogant Boss and Look But Don’t Touch. To help readers who want to read their books wherever they are, Hayle publishes versions with discrete covers that don’t showcase the fact they are romance novels.

“I could party with the best of them. But the business meeting for my brother’s potential contract was at ten o’clock the following day, and despite my promise to Deinse, there was nothing more important.”

Olivia Hayle, Arrogant Boss
Sale
Arrogant Boss
  • Hayle, Olivia (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 288 Pages - 02/20/2023 (Publication Date) - Theresia Publishing AB (Publisher)

8. Rosa Lucas

British writer Rosa Lucas brings spice and sass to her writing. With romance novels often set in London and other British cities, she strives to create strong heroines who partner up with alpha males, giving her stories a fresh take on the romance novel. She weaves humor into her works to make them more relatable and focuses on the tropes, age gap romance, workplace romance, and enemies-to-lovers stories.

The billionaire alpha male also weaves his way into her books. The London Mister series, which starts with Taming Mr. Walker, was published first in 2022, and there are currently three books in the series. Her fourth book, Fifth Avenue Fling, is the first in the Billionaires in Charge series. You might also be interested in our list of authors like Rina Kent.

“I’ve never loved anyone like this before. I want you to be my girlfriend; I want you to be my last girlfriend. I’ve never been so sure of anything in my life.”

Rosa Lucas, Taming Mr. Walker
Taming Mr. Walker (The London Mister Series)
  • Lucas, Rosa (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 429 Pages - 12/15/2021 (Publication Date) - Independently published (Publisher)

9. J.A. Low

Australian romance offer JA Low offers five romance series for fans of the genre. Low started writing in 2016, publishing Suddenly Dirty and Suddenly Together in the same year. These are the first two books in the Dirty Texas Rockstars series of five books. After completing that series, she wrote The Sexy Stranger and The Arrogant Artist, the first two of the International Bad Boys books, followed by Sapphire and Diamond, two Bratva Jewels books, in 2019. The other series of her books are Playboys of New York, The Hartford Brothers, and Paradise Club.

“This is why you never let a man have access to your heart because they will eventually rip it out.”

J.A. Low, Paradise
Paradise (The Paradise Club)
  • Low, JA (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 314 Pages - 05/26/2020 (Publication Date) - Independently published (Publisher)

10. Ilsa Madden-Mills

Ilsa Madden-Mills is an Australian author with 18 novels, and 14 of those have been on the Amazon bestseller list. Dirty EnglishNot My Romeo, and The Revenge Pact all ended up at the top spot on the list. Before she started writing romance novels, Madden-Mills was a high school English teacher who loved Pride and Prejudice. Madden-Mills enjoys a coffee or collects magnets with cheesy sayings when she is not writing. Her books are known for their angst and comedy, and they have landed on the New York Times and Wallstreet Journal bestseller lists. Check out these authors like Debbie Macomber.

“Big moments happen with the smallest of actions, and sometimes it’s not until later we connect the dots,”

Ilsa Madden-Mills, Dirty English
Dirty English (British Bad Boys)
  • Madden-Mills, Ilsa (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 270 Pages - 10/09/2015 (Publication Date) - CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (Publisher)

11. Kat Singleton

Kat Singleton is a Kansas native who loves iced coffee and writes spicy romance novels, known for their elite banter in addition to their steamy love scenes. In her books, she strives to bring in some emotional turmoil to bring more depth to her characters. Black Ties and White Lies is one of her more recent works, published in 2023. Her new book, Rewrite Our Story, was published in 2023 and told what happens when a small-town woman gets a second chance at love with her best friend’s brother. Check out these authors like Tessa Bailey.

“When people have the power to hurt you, they have a hold on you that makes you do unexplainable things.”

Kat Singleton, Black Ties and White Lies
Black Ties and White Lies: A Billionaire Fake Fiance Romance (Black Tie Billionaires)
  • New in Plastic
  • Singleton, Kat (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 418 Pages - 01/23/2023 (Publication Date) - Kat Singleton (Publisher)

12. Elsie Silver

Canadian romance author Elsie Silver publishes romance novels with spirited heroines and plenty of banter. To get her writing underway, she wakes up daily at 5 am to enjoy quiet reading time and coffee. Silver is a newer author, publishing her first book, Off to the Races, in 2021. She quickly finished the Gold Rush Ranch series that the book started, then moved on to the Chestnut Springs series in 2022. Because she publishes multiple books a year, she is quickly growing a fan base who love her steamy stories. Check out this list of authors like Yvonne Whittal.

“And that is a heart-wrenching combination… loving someone you can’t respect.”

Elsie Silver, Off to the Races
Off to the Races: A Small Town Enemies to Lovers Romance (Gold Rush Ranch)
  • Silver, Elsie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 386 Pages - 04/23/2021 (Publication Date) - Independently published (Publisher)

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best authors like Sarah J Mass!

Tweet
Pin
Share
Share