15 Best Authors Like Debbie Macomber: Romance and Contemporary Women’s Novels You’ll Love

Looking for authors like Debbie Macomber? Check out our list of talented writers who specialize in heartwarming, feel-good stories.

Debbie Macomber is a recipient of the Quill Award for Romance for her 150 novels that have sold over 200 million copies worldwide. She is a #1 New York Bestselling Author, and her stories have been on the bestselling list for 1000 weeks, where 15 books hit the number one spot. 

Macomber’s Cedar Cove was adopted by the Hallmark Channel for their TV Series Cedar Cove. The channel also took six of her other novels as the basis for its Christmas movies, including A Mrs. Miracle Christmas and Dashing Through the Snow. If you’re interested in this, you’ll love our guide with the best authors like Kristin Hannah!

Here Are The Best Authors Like Debbie Macomber

1. Susan Mallery, 1970 – Present

Susan Mallery is the #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of novels about romance, family, and friendship. She wrote over 100 books translated into 28 languages and sold over 40 million copies worldwide. Her most famous novel, Thrill Me, is the 18th book in her Fool’s Gold series and the number-one bestseller in 2015. The book is about a girl who fell in love with a bad boy and ran away.  

“Love is always enough.”

Susan Mallery, Almost Perfect
Almost Perfect: A heartwarming romance of second chances. Perfect for fans of Virgin River: Book 5 (Fool's Gold)
  • Mallery, Susan (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 02/03/2022 (Publication Date) - Mills & Boon (Publisher)

2. Danielle Steel, 1947 – Present

With more than 900 million sold copies of her books, Danielle Steel is now the world’s best-selling living author. She’s written 180 romantic novels, published in 69 countries, and translated into 43 languages. 

Her international bestsellers are All That Glitters, The Wedding, Daddy’s Girls, and The Wedding Dress. These stories highlight Steel’s prowess in writing about family, traditions, betrayal, and loss, all at the expense of love. 

“You’d be surprised how fast things happen when the right man comes along.”

Danielle Steel, The Wedding

No products found.

3. Nicholas Sparks, 1965 – Present

Best authors like Nicholas Sparks
Nicholas Sparks had written 22 novels over his entire career

Nicholas Sparks is best known for his work, The Notebook, in 1996, about a lady who returns to a town to meet a guy she encountered 14 years ago. Over his career, he wrote 22 novels in more than 50 languages, with 105 million copies sold worldwide. If you enjoyed Macomber’s Ready for Love, then Sparks’ The Notebook will teach you about second chances in love. 

“You can’t live your life for other people. You’ve got to do what’s right for you, even if it hurts some people you love.”

Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook
The Notebook
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Sparks, Nicholas (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 227 Pages - 01/05/2000 (Publication Date) - Grand Central Publishing (Publisher)

4. Fern Michaels, 1933 – Present

About 60 novels by Fern Michaels were featured in the New York Times bestselling list, which sold over 14 million copies. Her Betrayal is the latest in her bestselling list. It’s a story of two couples going against each other after one was accused of sexual assault. 

“It’s all about family. It was always about family. It will always be that way if I have anything to say about it.”

Fern Michaels, Up Close and Personal
Up Close and Personal
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Michaels, Fern (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 385 Pages - 03/31/2009 (Publication Date) - Zebra Books (Publisher)

5. Susan Wiggs, 1958 – Present

In 1993, Susan Wiggs received the RITA Award for her romance novel Lord of the Night. It tells the story of a justice servant who falls in love with a mysterious woman. 

Wiggs’ Fireside book also made it to the #1 New York Times bestseller list. She wrote 69 books about romance, contemporary women, and historical romance. 

“You’ll never be happy with what you want until you can be happy with what you’ve got.”

Susan Wiggs, The Lost and Found Bookshop

No products found.

6. Linda Lael Miller, 1949 – Present 

Linda Lael Miller’s romantic thrillers in historical settings demonstrate her literary craft and earned her the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007. She is constantly a New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author with 100 published books, including Logan and That Forever Feeling & Security Blanket.

“Everything worth doing involves risk.”

Linda Lael Miller, The Creed Legacy

No products found.

7. Dorothea Benton Frank, 1951 – 2019

Dorothea Benton Frank authored 20 books following her debut on Sullivan’s Island, a contemporary romance about a woman with a troubled family and her adventure toward the truth. She also wrote Queen Bee, a novel with a detailed account of a woman’s journey to find herself and her purpose. 

“The people you love never leave you.”

Dorothea Benton Frank, Sullivan’s Island
Sale
[Sullivan's Island: A Lowcountry Tale (Lowcountry Tales (Paperback))] [Author: Frank, Dorothea Benton] [January, 2004]
  • Dorothea Benton Frank (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 01/01/2004 (Publication Date) - Berkley Books (Publisher)

8. Sherryl Woods, 1944 – Present

Sherryl Woods started writing romance novels in 1982 and has published over 100 books. Hallmark Channel adapted her Chesapeake Shores series for a television movie series. Most of Woods’ romantic novels are based on real stories because she wants her characters to connect with her readers. Among her famous storylines are The Sweet Magnolias and Second Chance at Love.

“Listen, even if you don’t want to hear.”

Sherryl Woods, Home in Carolina
Home in Carolina (A Sweet Magnolias Novel Book 5)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Woods, Sherryl (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 361 Pages - 06/28/2016 (Publication Date) - MIRA (Publisher)

9. Denise Hunter, 1968 – Present

Denise Hunter writes heartwarming stories with characters that are easy to fall in love with. She is an international bestselling author with 45 novels, three of which were turned into Hallmark movies. If you love Macomber’s Cedar Cove series, you’ll find interest in Hunter’s famous books Bookshop by the Sea and Barefoot Summer.

“Sometimes we have to find the courage to take off our shoes and feel it all. Even the bad stuff.”

Denise Hunter, Barefoot Summer
Barefoot Summer: Chapel Hill, Book 1
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Denise Hunter (Author) - Julie Lyles Carr (Narrator)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 07/01/2014 (Publication Date) - Thomas Nelson (Publisher)

10. Robyn Carr, 1951 – Present

Robyn Carr’s Virgin River is among the Harpercollins 200 Iconic Books in 200 years and is now a Netflix Original Series. She is a RITA Awardee who authored 60 novels, with 11 bestsellers in New York Times. Her Sullivan’s Crossing series is also aired by CTV and Crave as an original TV drama production. 

“And my heart hasn’t beat the same since she walked into town.”

Robyn Carr, Virgin River
Virgin River (A Virgin River Novel, Book 1)
  • Carr (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 432 Pages - 11/14/2019 (Publication Date) - Mills & Boon (Publisher)

11. Jude Deveraux, 1947- Present 

Jude Deveraux at the Buenos Aires Book Fair in Argentina, 2016

Jude Deveraux’s more than 40 novels about historical romance have sold over 60 million copies worldwide. Her The Scent of Jasmine and Moonlight in the Morning are among her top seller books. They are also the #4 and #6 of her Edilean series. The storyline follows a girl torn between whether the man she loves is her salvation or her ultimate mistake. 

“My soul will find yours.”

Jude Deveraux, A Knight in Shining Armor

No products found.

12. Nora Roberts, 1950 – Present

Nora Roberts
Nora Roberts in 2007

Nora Roberts published over 200 novels, including Hideaway, Come Sundown, and Legacy. She also authored In Death under the pen name of J.D. Robb, a murder romance series about the seductive and passionate power of love. Her book Naked in Death debuts Roberts’ entry into New York Times bestselling novels. 

“Some things in life are out of your control. You can make it a party or a tragedy.”

Nora Roberts, Vision in White

No products found.

13. Barbara Delinsky, 1945 – Present

Barbara Delinsky wrote over 20 New York Bestselling novels published in 28 languages. She is well-known for her book, The Real Thing, about two strangers who meet on an island trying to find solitude. Delinsky uses other pen names (Bonnie Drake and Billie Douglass) for her more steamy books.

“People don’t cry because they’re weak. They cry because they’ve been strong for too long.”

Barbara Delinsky, Before and Again

No products found.

14. Christine Rimmer, Unknown – Present 

Christine Rimmer is a recipient of the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award, with over 90 contemporary romance novels for Harlequin. Her The Bravos of Valentine Bay revealed the 10th book, The Last One Home, as a bold yet moving commitment to writing books about romance and family reunions. You might also enjoy these authors like Mary Kay Andrews and authors like Kate Quinn.

“…he would do just about anything for his constituents. But a bachelor auction? No way he would agree to be a prize in one of those. Being raffled off to the highest bidder was beneath his dignity.”

Christine Rimmer, The Lawman’s Convenient Bride

No products found.

15. Eileen Goudge, 1950 – Present

Eileen Goudge is the author behind the Garden of Lies, a story of two girls from different worlds falling for the same man. Goudge draws her ideas for her novels from life experiences, whether in divorces, bad exes, births, or death. She blends mystery and romance captivatingly, making her a New York Times Bestselling Author. Looking for something else? Check out our round-up of the best Icelandic authors!

“There was nothing left to say. He was walking away, taking with him everything she had ever wanted.”

Eileen Goudge, Garden of Lies
Garden of Lies
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Goudge, Eileen (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 759 Pages - 11/29/2011 (Publication Date) - Open Road Media (Publisher)

Author

  • Maria Caballero is a freelance writer who has been writing since high school. She believes that to be a writer doesn't only refer to excellent syntax and semantics but also knowing how to weave words together to communicate to any reader effectively.