22 Best Authors Like Christine Feehan To Add Your Reading List

Are you a fan of paranormal romance and urban fantasy series? Check out our guide with the top authors like Christine Feehan.

Bestselling author Christine Feehan is the writer behind hugely popular novels, including Leopard’s Scar, Shadow Rider, and the Sea Haven and Ghostwalker series. Feehan specializes in fast-paced, frequently steamy paranormal fantasy and romance tales and has over one hundred published titles. If you love this author’s fiction, you might also be interested in the best Anthony Horowitz books!

Here Are The Best Authors Like Christine Feehan

1. Kresley Cole, 1980 –

Looking for your next fix of Christine Feehan-style paranormal romance? New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole, author of novels including Munro, The Warlord Wants Forever, and The Player could be the answer. Cole writes romance and erotica books for adults and thrilling adventure stories for young adults.

“When she scooped up her clothes, opened his door, then snapped her fingers for a guard down the hall, Wroth watched like a bystander.”

Kresley Cole, The Warlord Wants Forever
The Warlord Wants Forever (Immortals After Dark Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Cole, Kresley (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 154 Pages - 09/25/2017 (Publication Date) - Pocket Star (Publisher)

2. J.R. Ward, 1969 –

Ward’s paranormal series Black Dagger Brotherhood is the recipient of the Goodreads Choice Award – and could just be your next perfect steamy binge read! The first installment in the series, Dark Lover, introduces readers to a fascinating cast of characters, including the enigmatic and tormented hero, Wrath.

“You’ve won the evolutionary lottery: You’re a vampire. Let’s go to Disneyland!”

J.R. Ward, Dark Lover
Sale
Dark Lover: The First Novel of the Black Dagger Brotherhood
  • Ward, J.R. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 432 Pages - 02/19/2014 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

3. Sherrilyn Kenyon, 1965 –

Sherrilyn Kenyon
A photo of Sherrilyn Kenyon with a neutral expression

Fans of Christine Feehan will love the dark urban fantasy and paranormal romance novels and novellas of Sherrilyn Kenyon. This author is best known for the series Dark Hunter, which includes Acheron. This eagerly-anticipated volume tells the title character’s backstory, who was born a god but cursed into the body of a human mortal.

“Life isn’t finding shelter in the storm. It’s about learning to dance in the rain.”

Sherrilyn Kenyon, Acheron
Acheron (Dark-Hunter, Book 12)
  • Kenyon, Sherrilyn (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 816 Pages - 03/31/2009 (Publication Date) - St. Martin's Paperbacks (Publisher)

4. Gena Showalter, 1975 –

The New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter is the pen behind books including Ruthless, Seduce the Darkness, and The Immortal. She writes across various genres, including urban fantasy, paranormal romance, and exciting young adult thrillers. Showalter also created the popular Jane Ladling Mystery series, which she co-writes with Jill Monroe.

“I don’t hate you. I just don’t like that you exist.”

Gena Showalter, Seduce the Darkness
Sale
Seduce the Darkness (Alien Huntress, Book 4)
  • Showalter, Gena (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 416 Pages - 06/30/2009 (Publication Date) - Pocket Star (Publisher)

5. Lara Adrian, 1966 –

If you love paranormal romance, you must read Kiss of Midnight, the first book in the bestselling Midnight Breed collection by Lara Adrian. The Breed is half other-worldly, half-human, and its members have lived peacefully among men and women for centuries. But, the beginnings of a blood war are only beginning.

“You just promised me eternity, you know.”

Lara Adrian, Kiss of Midnight
Kiss of Midnight: A Midnight Breed Novel (The Midnight Breed Series Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Adrian, Lara (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 434 Pages - 05/01/2007 (Publication Date) - Dell (Publisher)

6. Laurell K. Hamilton, 1963 –

Laurell K. Hamilton has published over forty books reflecting her love of ghost stories, monster movies, folklore, and mythology. Check out the bestselling Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series if you’re looking for an author like Christine Feehan: number eight in the series, Blue Moon, concerns Anita’s former lover, who’s behind bars…and is a werewolf.

“Love sucks. Sometimes it feels good. Sometimes it’s just another way to bleed.”

Laurell K. Hamilton, Blue Moon
Blue Moon (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Book 8)
  • Hamilton, Laurell K. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 432 Pages - 09/24/2002 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

7. Lynsay Sands, 1997 –

Lynsay Sands writes historical and paranormal romance books with a hefty dose of added erotica, like Love Bites, a rip-roaring tale with plenty of heat! New releases from this author include Immortal Rising and The Chase. For Sands, writing is about allowing her readers to escape the stress and cares of their daily lives and enter an exciting new world.

“Time is not the great teacher. Experience is.”

Lynsay Sands, Love Bites
Sale
Love Bites: An Argeneau Novel (An Argeneau Novel, 2)
  • Sands, Lynsay (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 368 Pages - 04/11/2023 (Publication Date) - Avon (Publisher)

8. Nalini Singh, 1977 –

Nalini Singh
An image of Nalini Singh smiling and wearing a bright pink blazer

Add Nalini Singh to your authors to the checkout list if you’re interested in finding your next dark series of books. Slave to Sensation was listed in Oprah Magazine’s ‘The 27 Greatest Romance Novels to Read in Your Lifetime’ list. Singh’s Guild Hunter series invites readers into an epic, seductive, and dangerous world of angels and vampires.

“They didn’t understand that she held his heart, held it so utterly that there was nothing he wouldn’t do, no line he wouldn’t cross to keep her safe.”

Nalini Singh, Archangel’s Kiss
Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, Book 2)
  • Singh, Nalini (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 352 Pages - 02/02/2010 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

9. Nora Roberts, 1950 –

Nora Roberts
A photo of Nora Roberts smiling at the camera

Nora Roberts was the first author inducted into the Romance Writers of America Hall of Fame. Her contemporary romance novels have been translated into twenty-five languages and frequently top bestseller lists. The first book in The Dragonheart Legacy trilogy, The Awakening introduces readers to teenage warrior Keegan, responsible for protecting the Fey. Roberts’ new book, Identity, will be released in 2023.

“You start with earth and good intentions.”

Nora Roberts, The Awakening
The Awakening: The Dragon Heart Legacy, Book 1
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Roberts, Nora (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 452 Pages - 11/24/2020 (Publication Date) - St. Martin's Press (Publisher)

10. Karen Marie Moning, 1964 –

Karen Marie Moning
A photo of Karen Marie Moning looking at the camera with her head resting on her hands

Fans of fantasy and science fiction romance stories will adore Karen Marie Moning’s novels and novellas. The Fever series is a great place to start for those new to this author. Darkfever, the first book in the series, fuses Celtic mythology with contemporary thrills for a fast-paced, edge-of-your-seat read from the first page to the final sentence.

“It’s often only in the lies we refuse to speak that any truth can be heard at all.”

Karen Marie Moning, Darkfever
Darkfever (Fever Series, Book 1)
  • Moning, Karen Marie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 384 Pages - 08/28/2007 (Publication Date) - Dell (Publisher)

11. Larissa Ione, 1982 –

Larissa Ione is the USA Today and New York Times bestselling author of many steamy paranormal and contemporary romance stories, including Desire Unchained. Her latest novella, Bond of Passion, forms part of the Demonica series: expect sensuality, adventure, and plenty of dark humor!

“You can’t truly hate someone you’ve loved. You can only hurt.”

Larissa Ione, Desire Unchained
Desire Unchained: A Demonica Novel (Demonica, 2)
  • Ione, Larissa (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 416 Pages - 12/16/2014 (Publication Date) - Grand Central Publishing (Publisher)

12. Maggie Shayne, 1962 –

The recipient of numerous awards, including the Reviewer’s Choice accolade and the Romance Writers of America Award, Maggie Shayne pens paranormal romance novels, such as Night’s Edge and Edge of Twilight. Her new book, Fatal Phantasm, came out in January 2023: curl up and enjoy this story of a group of friends who head to a mansion on a private island for the weekend and get more than they bargained for.

“Look, I’m not a demon here. I don’t eat babies or kick puppies.”

Maggie Shayne, Night’s Edge
Night's Edge
  • New
  • Mint Condition
  • Dispatch same day for order received before 12 noon
  • Guaranteed packaging
  • No quibbles returns

13. Stacia Stark, unknown

If you enjoyed Christine Feehan’s Drake Sisters series, you’ll love the six books comprising the paranormal urban fantasy Deals with Demons collection by author Stacia Stark. Inner Demons, released in 2021, features unforgettable characters, including werewolves, mages, witches, and the fae folk.

“I’ve got places to go and people to harass.”

Stacia Stark, Inner Demon
Inner Demons: A Paranormal Urban Fantasy Romance (Deals with Demons Book 3)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Stark, Stacia (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 394 Pages - 11/19/2021 (Publication Date) - Stacia Stark (Publisher)

14. Kym Grosso, unknown

Those looking for raunchy paranormal short stories and longer reads will relish curling up with Kym Grosso’s Immortals of New Orleans and Club Altura series, which are made up of full-length novels and novellas. Kade’s Dark Embrace is a great place to start if you’re new to this author: a quick-fire page-turner with a sexy alpha vampire read, fans of Christine Feehan will be in their element!

“Early tattooing was thought to have mystical protection, to be a talisman of sorts worn on the skin.”

Kym Grosso, Kade’s Dark Embrace

No products found.

15. Vivian Arend, 1965 –

Sometimes, only a romance featuring werewolves has enough bite to hit the spot! Wolf Flight by Vivan Arend could be your next favorite full-moon read. This standalone, feel-good paranormal romance story is packed with bad-tempered alphas, secret omegas, and werewolves strutting their stuff on the dancefloor!

“Someday the bad guys would realize monologues were a bad thing.”

Vivan Arend, Wolf Flight
Wolf Flight: Granite Lake Wolves #2 (Northern Lights Shifters)
  • Arend, Vivian (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 148 Pages - 10/05/2021 (Publication Date) - Arend Publishing Inc. (Publisher)

16. Roxie Ray, unknown

Roxie Ray is the pen name of a group of writer friends who love creating science fiction, alien romance, and paranormal romance books, such as The Alien Jailer’s Mate, Daddy Biker Bear, and Black Claw Dragons series. The friends enjoy talking about and reading the genre as much as they create their own steamy stories!

“You can poke a bear all you want, but be careful poking at the mama bear.”

Roxie Ray, Daddy Biker Bear
Daddy Biker Bear: A Bear Shifter Romance (Bears Of Forest Heights)
  • Ray, Roxie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 512 Pages - 08/04/2021 (Publication Date) - Independently published (Publisher)

17. Jessica LaFlamme, unknown

For readers who’ve finished Christine Feehan’s Dark Prince series and are looking for a similarly epic romantic adventure, Jessica LaFlamme’s The Clara Clarke Chronicles could fit the bill perfectly. Set in a parallel dimension of London, within a matriarchal society, Clara is on a mission to find a lost town and must overcome threats from her present and past to succeed in her quest.

“My name is Clara Clarke and I’m a paranormal investigator in Londinium.”

Jessica LaFlamme, Destiny
Destiny: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Romance (The Clara Clarke Chronicles Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Laflamme, Jessica (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 52 Pages - 07/24/2018 (Publication Date)

18. Jeaniene Frost, 1974 –

Jeaniene Frost
A photo of Jeaniene Forst at a book signing, smiling at the camera

A New York Times and Amazon bestselling author, Jeaniene Frost, writes vampire stories with plenty of heat! Her new book, Both Feet in the Grave, will be released in April 2023 – it continues the story of sexy alpha vampire Bones, who readers first encountered in the USA Today bestseller, The Other Half of the Grave.

“Randy’s scent, gaze, and pulse all indicated truthfulness, yet Bones hadn’t survived for over two hundred years by being too trusting.”

Jeaniene Frost, Both Feet in the Grave
Both Feet in the Grave: A Night Huntress Novel
  • Frost, Jeaniene (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 346 Pages - 04/18/2023 (Publication Date) - Independently published (Publisher)

19. Frankie Rose, 1979 –

If you’re searching for a young adult paranormal romance, look no further than Sovereign Hope by Frankie Rose. In the story, Farley Hope’s destiny is to defeat the Reavers: terrifying beings who steal the souls of the living. Be warned: this book is addictive, and you may need to finish it in one sitting!

“Fate must hate her. He was far too good-looking to be someone she had just crashed into.”

Frankie Rose, Sovereign Hope

No products found.

20. Suzanne Wright, unknown

In the mood for a juicy shapeshifter romance? Then bump Suzanne Wright’s The Phoenix Pack collection to the top of your reading pile for sweet and steamy escapism. The first book in the series, Feral Sinsfocuses on female wolf shifter Taryn, who is determined to resist the charms of alpha male wolf shifter Trey. Eventually, the pair enter into an uneasy alliance…

“Oh no, honey, I’m an angel, I swear. The horns are only there to hold up the halo.”

Suzanne Wright, Feral Sins
Sale
Feral Sins (The Phoenix Pack, 1)
  • Wright, Suzanne (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 428 Pages - 02/19/2013 (Publication Date) - Montlake Romance (Publisher)

21. Ilona Andrews, unknown

Ilona Andrews is the pen name of a husband and wife writing duo. Together, they’ve created the bestselling Kate Daniels urban fantasy series, which includes the novel Magic Bleeds and the rustic romantic fantasy collection, The Edge. The couple lives in Texas with their two kids and numerous cats and dogs.

“I can’t give you the white picket fence, and if I did, you’d set it on fire.”

Magic Bleeds, Ilona Andrews

No products found.

22. Richelle Mead, 1976 –

Richelle Mead
A photo of Richelle Mead smiling at the camera

Richelle Mead writes books for both young adults and teens, and her three series, Georgina Kincaid, Dark Swan, and Vampire Academy, have all featured on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists. At college, Richelle studied folklore and religion, and these influences add richness and depth to her stories of love, friendship, betrayal, and triumph against the odds. If you’re looking for more recommendations, check out the best authors like Nora Roberts!

“You can’t force love, I realized. It’s there or it isn’t.”

Richelle Mead, Frostbite

  • Melanie Smith is a freelance content and creative writer from Gloucestershire, UK, where she lives with her daughter, long-suffering partner, and cat, The Magical Mr. Bobo. Her blog posts and articles feature regularly in magazines and websites around the world.

Tweet
Pin
Share
Share