12 Best Authors Like Nora Roberts: Top Feel-Good Romance Writers

If you are a fan of heart-warming romance novels, discover our guide with the best authors like Nora Roberts to pick your next novel.

Nora Roberts shines brightly in the world of contemporary literature in America. Her works have captivated the hearts and minds of romance and mystery readers around the globe for over four decades, building a loyal and dedicated fanbase. With over 500 million copies of her books sold worldwide, this bestselling author is a force to be reckoned with.

Known for her successful writing career, Roberts has earned a place on the New York Times bestselling list and created a body of work that includes over 225 short stories, novellas and novels. If you’re interested in more book recommendations, you’ll love our round-up of romance authors’ best-sellers.

1. Tracey Livesay

Tracey Livesay
Tracey Livesay is best known for her romance novel American Royalty

Tracey Livesay is a talented contemporary romance author who creates diverse and magnetic characters. With a background as a former criminal defense attorney and a passion for writing, Livesay brings a unique perspective to her novels.

With many successful novels under her belt, Livesay doesn’t regret leaving her law degree behind to chase her one true passion: writing. As featured in the Washington Post, CBS This Morning, and Entertainment Weekly, Livesay has succeeded incredibly with her novels, including American Royalty and The Duchess Effect.

“To sit at this table and sign a contract that would give her the control and freedom she’d been craving since Nana died when she was fourteen. When people she barely knew began deciding where she would live, what she would wear, and how she would act.”

Tracey Livesay, The Duchess Effect

Check out American Royalty on Amazon; click here.

2. Alyssa Cole, 1982 –

Alyssa Cole
Alyssa Cole is an American author known for her inclusive romance novels

Alyssa Cole is known for producing romance novels that cover a diverse array of topics. Some of her stories are set during the Civil War, while others are more contemporary. She also publishes science fiction romance novels, with one example, The AI Who Loved Me.

Even though the content in her books is significantly different than Roberts’s publications, she is similar in that she is an essential advocate for the romance genre as a whole. In particular, she advocates for romance writers, pushing them to include more characters of color to create an inclusive space for writers and readers alike.

“People bury the parts of history they don’t like, pave it over like African cemeteries beneath Manhattan skyscrapers.”

Alyssa Cole, When No One Is Watching

Check out When No One Is Watching on Amazon; click here.

3. Tessa Bailey

Tessa Bailey
Tessa Bailey is a number one New York Times bestselling author

Tessa Bailey is a dynamic contemporary romance author known for her sizzling chemistry and irresistible alpha heroes. Her novels often combine steamy romances with laugh-out-loud humor, making for some light-hearted escapism much welcomed by many readers. Bailey’s unique ability to balance intense emotional chemistry with thrilling storylines has made her an incredible author of romantic suspense novels.

“I’ll love you until my heart gives out. I’ll be your man for a thousand years. Longer if I’m allowed.”

Tessa Bailey, It Happened One Summer

Check out It Happened One Summerclick here.

4. Jasmine Guillory

Jasmine Guillory
Jasmine Guillory is a famous romance novelist known for her African-American protagonists

Jasmine Guillory is a new star in the romance category, and she has already published a handful of books that have established her as a force to be reckoned with. Widely considered an innovator in the genre, Guillory brings a unique perspective on various topics in her writing.

Guillory’s breakout novel The Wedding Date gained quick success for its heart-stopping romance and interracial representations. Subsequently, her novels The Proposal and Wedding Party resonate with her readers due to her authentic portrayal of love and female empowerment.

“Just because their standards are low does not mean that we should lower ours.”

Jasmine Guillory, The Wedding Date

Check out The Wedding Date on Amazon; click here.

5. Alisha Rai

Alisha Rai
Alisha Rai is a famous romance writer and advocate for inclusive writing

Alisha Rai is a new writer in contemporary romance who has already established herself as a talented writer with engaging narratives that blend sensuality and emotional depth. With a knack for creating stories that resonate with readers, her novels explore themes of power, identity, family and loss.

The Right Swipe is the first book in the Modern Love series, where two rival dating apps find themselves in a tense legal battle. As a successful CEO, Rhi has everything except the romance and love she yearns for. Readers follow Rhi’s journey as she searches for love, battles lust and steps into her own during this thrilling romance.

“Trust is the only reason the world ever functions as it should. Sometimes it works out and sometimes it doesn’t, and I know that uncertainty is scary, but that’s the only way you figure out who your closet people are.”

Alisha Rai, The Right Swipe

Check out The Right Swipe on Amazon; click here.

6. Rebekah Weatherspoon

Rebekah Weatherspoon
Book cover of Rafe: A Buff Male Nanny by Rebekah Weatherspoon

Weatherspoon’s characters are incredibly diverse, and her stories are a bit lighter than those by Roberts, but they are known for their goofy, light-hearted fun. For example, you might be interested in reading Rafe: A Buff Male Nanny. While the title alone is probably enough to pique your interest, it is a sweet book focusing on a working mother seeking to defy gender norms. Of course, the nanny does the same by caring for her children.

This book has plenty of cute, funny moments, but it is also a romance novel that you will enjoy. You might be interested in exploring more romance books, check out our round-up of authors like Colleen Hoover.

“Rafe might be qualified, but she was trying to raise two young, biracial Black girls and she’d be damned if she let someone who was a fan of walls and assault rifles and playing fast and loose with general human rights spend that kind of time around them.”

Rebekah Weatherspoon, Rafe: A Buff Male Nanny

Check out RAFE: A Buff Male Nanny on Amazon; click here.

7. Debbie Macomber

Debbie Macomber
Debbie Macomber is an incredibly successful romance author with many television adaptations of her novels

Debbie Macomber is one of the most experienced romance authors in the genre. She has more than 100 novels and is known for publishing small-town stories. Her bestselling series Cedar Grove and Blossom Street has made her a household name in modern America. 

Her stories often celebrate the simple joys of life and speak to the importance of kindness, making her a much-loved figure for women worldwide. With uplifting narratives and comforting tales of romance and family, there’s a reason why this cherished author is so loved by her fans.

“There was a certain comfort in denial. This fragile peace with her consciousness had to be maintained at all costs. Ignored and buried.”

Debbie Macomber, Morning Comes Softly

Check out Morning Comes Softly on Amazon; click here.

8. Jackie Lau

Jackie Lau
Jackie Lau is a modern romance writer who creates mesmerizing novels with a touch of humor

Perhaps you are looking for romance novels that are more tongue-in-cheek and imbued with a bit of humor. If so, you’ll love the witty romance books by Jackie Lau, the writer of a romance series that follows different numbers of the family, shining a light on their love lives. For example, you might want to explore Grumpy Fake Boyfriend, which focuses on dating drama.

“Somehow, it’s tender and romantic that he’s helping me put on my clothes, and it makes me want to take my shirt off again.”

Jackie Lau, The Ultimate Pi Day Party

Check out The Ultimate Pi Day Party in Love on Amazon; click here.

9. Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown
Sandra Brown is a bestselling romance and thriller author

Sandra Brown is known for publishing popular historical romance novels. She is an impressive storyteller, just like Roberts, and does a fantastic job weaving romance into a historical backdrop. One of her most popular books is titled Blind Tiger, which takes place in 1920 during prohibition.

With a career that spans several decades, Brown is celebrated for her romance suspense books, including The Witness, Envy and Deadline. Want to read more romance books? You might also enjoy our list of the best Catherine Cookson books.

“It takes far less courage to cling to the past than it does to face the future.”

Sandra Brown, Envy

Check out Envy on Amazon; click here.

10. Christina Lauren

Christina Lauren
Christina Lauren is an American author duo

Christina Lauren is the combined pseudonym for Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings. While her early works focused more on lust and passion than love, she has transitioned into more of a “slow burn” true romance writer, which feels very similar to Nora Roberts.

Her books now have depth, so you should check Christina Lauren if you want a thick plot with many moving parts. In particular, you should start with Dating You Hating You or Love and Other Words, which have tremendous drama and twists and turns.

“I never got to fall out of love. I just had to move on.”

Christina Lauren, Love and Other Words

Check out Love and Other Words on Amazon; click here.

11. Sarah Title 

Sarah Title
Sarah Title is a popular author with a passion for romance

Sarah Title is an author known for producing less explicit books than many of the other romance novels on this list, so if you need a heart-warming book with a happy ending, this is an excellent place to look.

Her books have a lot of small-town charm, and the setting plays a significant role in how the story unfolds. One of her most popular series is called Librarians in Love. It tells the story of a librarian whose face turns into a meme, making her one of the least datable people in the world. While it sounds like a sad beginning, the book is a delightful read. You might also be interested in our guide on authors like Robyn Carr.

“What was the point? These people might not even move in and then he would’ve wasted precious facial muscles forming a smile he did not mean.”

Sarah Title, Two Family Home

Check out Two Family Home on Amazon; click here.

12. Janet Evanovich

Janet Evanovich
Janet Evanovich is a contemporary romance and mystery writer

Janet Evanovich is a prolific author best known for her Stephanie Plum series, which features a sassy and resourceful bounty hunter. With twists and turns, Evanovich’s writing style perfectly blends fast-paced plots, romance and comedy.

Evanovich has sold an incredible 90 million copies of her books worldwide, setting her in place as one of the most successful romance writers ever. Her novels are a testament to the wonderful appeal of light-hearted storytelling and memorable character writing.

“I attributed the incidence to temporary insanity, and in my own defense, I’d like to say I haven’t run over anyone since.”

Janet Evanovich, One for the Money

Check out One for the Money on Amazon; click here.

FAQs About Authors Like Nora Roberts

What is considered Nora Roberts’s best book?

This is always subjective, but most people consider Nora Roberts’s best book, Midnight Bayou. This is a story that focuses on a romance that takes place in a Cajun town in Louisiana. It has a variety of twists and turns that keep everyone interested, and it is one of the top books that established Roberts as one of the best romance authors in the genre. 

How old is Nora Roberts?

Nora Roberts was born in 1950. She is 72 years old and has established herself as one of the most popular romance authors in the genre. She has also published more than 225 books during her prolific career. 

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best Agatha Christie books!

Author

  • Meet Rachael, the editor at Become a Writer Today. With years of experience in the field, she is passionate about language and dedicated to producing high-quality content that engages and informs readers. When she's not editing or writing, you can find her exploring the great outdoors, finding inspiration for her next project.

Tweet
Pin
Share
Share