12 Best Authors Like Nora Roberts

If you are a fan of Nora Roberts’s romance novels, discover our guide with the best authors like Nora Roberts to pick your next novel.

Nora Roberts is a prolific author who has written over 225 romance novels. With many of the top romance authors’ best sellers, she has captivated audiences worldwide. She has also written extensively under various pseudonyms, including J. D. Robb, Sarah Hardesty, and Jill March. She has even been inducted into the Romance Writers of America Hall of Fame. She is one of the most popular romance authors in the world, but there are several other romance authors whose works you should read if you are a fan of Nora Roberts. 

1. Tracey Livesay

Best Authors Like Nora Roberts: Tracey Livesay
If you love a love story with a strong-willed main character, you will like the books by Tracey Livesay

Even though every author has their unique style, Tracey Livesay is known for writing stories that have a similar vibe to Roberts’s stories. In particular, the main character in both stories is known for having vital career goals, driven personalities, and a burning desire to have it all.

If you love a love story with a strong-willed main character, you will like the books by Tracey Livesay. If you are looking for a jaw-dropping story with which to start, you may want to check Along Came Love, a story about an accidental pregnancy and the trials and tribulations that follow. 

Along Came Love
  • Livesay, Tracey (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 384 Pages - 11/29/2016 (Publication Date) - Avon Impulse (Publisher)

2. Alyssa Cole

Alyssa Cole is a romance author who is known for producing romance novels that cover a diverse array of topics. Some of her stories are set during the Civil War, while others are more contemporary. Now, she is also publishing science fiction romance novels, with one example, The AI Who Loved Me.

Even though the content in her books is significantly different than Roberts’s publications, she is similar in that she is an essential advocate for the romance genre as a whole. In particular, she advocates for romance writers, pushing them to include more characters of color to endear them to a broader audience.

The A.I. Who Loved Me
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Cole, Alyssa (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 159 Pages - 06/03/2020 (Publication Date)

3. Tessa Bailey

If you are a fan of Nora Roberts’s more suspenseful romance novels, you may want to check out Tessa Bailey. Bailey is one of the most versatile contemporary romance authors, and she has published a wide variety of love stories using different writing prompts romance. Her works are known for having several twists and turns before they get to the end, and they cover a handful of topics. If you are looking for a suspenseful romance novel you should check Protecting What’s His.

Protecting What's His (A Line of Duty Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Bailey, Tessa (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 252 Pages - 02/25/2013 (Publication Date) - Entangled: Brazen (Publisher)

4. Jasmine Guillory

Jasmine Guillory is one of the newer writers in this category, and she has already published a handful of books that have established her as a force to be reckoned with. She is also widely considered to be an innovator in the genre because of the unique perspective that she has on a variety of topics. So far, she tends to focus on weddings, creating many exciting drama opportunities. You might want to start with Bride Quartet, arguably the most popular book she has published.

The Bride Quartet Series, Books 1 Thru 4: Vision in White / Bed of Roses / Savor the Moment / Happy Ever After
  • Roberts, Nora (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 11/26/1990 (Publication Date) - Brilliance Audio (Publisher)

5. Alisha Rai

Best Authors Like Nora Roberts: Alisha Rai

Alisha Rai is known for publishing books that have more sex in them than Nora Roberts, but there are still some romantic undertones that are reminiscent of Nora Roberts.

For example, one of Rai’s most popular books is The Right Swipe, a direct allusion to a dating app. Of course, the main character is the creator of a dating app. She runs into someone she is interested in, but it turns out that person is the creator of a rival dating app. In doing so, Rai sets the scene for a fantastic story full of drama that any fan of Nora Roberts will enjoy.

Sale
The Right Swipe: A Novel
  • Rai, Alisha (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 400 Pages - 08/06/2019 (Publication Date) - Avon (Publisher)

6. Rebekah Weatherspoon

Weatherspoon is another romance author who is known for publishing romance stories that could potentially fit into a variety of categories. Her characters are incredibly diverse, and her stories are a bit lighter than those by Roberts, but they are known for their goofy, lighthearted fun.

For example, you might be interested in reading Rafe: A Buff Male Nanny. While the title alone is probably enough to pique your interest, it is a sweet book that focuses on a working mother who seeks to defy gender norms. Of course, the nanny does the same by caring for her children. This book has plenty of cute, funny moments, but it is also a romance novel that you will enjoy.

RAFE: A Buff Male Nanny (Loose Ends Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Weatherspoon, Rebekah (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 259 Pages - 09/26/2018 (Publication Date) - Rebekah Weatherspoon Presents (Publisher)

7. Debbie Macomber

Debbie Macomber is one of the most experienced romance authors in the genre. She has more than 100 novels and is known for publishing small-town stories. While it might sound a bit lackluster, her talent is unparalleled, and she uses myriad ingredients to spice up her stories, making them relatable to just about everyone. The endings are usually a surprise, and some of her most famous works have even been adopted into Hallmark movies.

8. Jackie Lau

Perhaps you are looking for romance novels that are more tongue-in-cheek and imbued with a bit of humor. If so, you may want to read some books by Jackie Lau, the writer of a romance series that follows different numbers of the family, shining a light on their love lives. For example, you might want to explore Grumpy Fake Boyfriend, which focuses on dating drama.

Grumpy Fake Boyfriend (Kwan Sisters Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Lau, Jackie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 194 Pages - 05/22/2018 (Publication Date) - Jackie Lau Books (Publisher)

9. Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown is known for publishing popular historical romance novels. She is an impressive storyteller, just like Roberts, and does a fantastic job weaving romance into a historical backdrop. One of her most popular books is titled Blind Tiger, which takes place in 1920 during prohibition. A cowboy runs into an attractive woman that he becomes smitten with, creating a romantic, historical adventure that involves alcohol, fleeing from the law, and the early 20th century in the United States.

Sale
Blind Tiger
  • Hardcover Book
  • Brown, Sandra (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 512 Pages - 08/03/2021 (Publication Date) - Grand Central Publishing (Publisher)

10. Christina Lauren

Best Authors Like Nora Roberts: Christina Lauren
Her books now have depth to them, so if you are interested in a thick plot with many moving parts, you should check Christina Lauren

Christina Lauren has published works under the pseudonym Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings. While her early works focused more on lust and passion than love, she has transitioned into more of a “slow burn” true romance writer, which feels very similar to Nora Roberts.

Her books now have depth to them, so if you are interested in a thick plot with many moving parts, you should check Christina Lauren. In particular, you might want to start with Dating You Hating You, which has a tremendous amount of drama and some twists and turns.

Sale
Dating You / Hating You
  • Lauren, Christina (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 368 Pages - 06/06/2017 (Publication Date) - Gallery Books (Publisher)

11. Sarah Title 

Sarah Title is an author known for producing less explicit books than many of the other romance novels on this list, so if you need a heartwarming book with a happy ending, this is an excellent place to look.

Her books have a lot of small-town charm, and the setting plays a significant role in how the story unfolds. One of her most popular series is called Librarians in Love. It tells the story of a librarian whose face turns into a meme, making her one of the least datable people in the world. While it sounds like a sad beginning, the book is a delightful read.

Librarians in Love
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Title , Sarah (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)

12. Janet Evanovich

Most people have lost something important to them, and Janet Evanovich is the author of The Recovery Agent. This story focuses on someone who specializes in recovering those specific treasures. The main character can get them back, whether they are stolen heirlooms or something else. This suspenseful adventure has a fair bit of romance and drama, mainly when she runs into her ex-husband. Now, her ex-husband is getting in the way of her job, which sets the stage for a romantic adventure that fans of Nora Roberts will love.

The Recovery Agent: A Novel (Gabriela Rose Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Evanovich, Janet (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 314 Pages - 03/22/2022 (Publication Date) - Atria Books (Publisher)

FAQs About Authors Like Nora Roberts

What is considered Nora Roberts’s best book?

This is always subjective, but most people consider Nora Roberts’s best book Midnight Bayou. This is a story that focuses on a romance that takes place in a Cajun town in Louisiana. It has a variety of twists and turns that keep everyone interested, and it is one of the top books that established Roberts as one of the best romance authors in the genre. 

How old is Nora Roberts?

Nora Roberts was born in 1950. She is 72 years old and has established herself as one of the most popular romance authors in the genre. She has also published more than 225 books during her prolific career. 

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best Agatha Christie books!

Join over 15,000 writers today

Get a FREE book of writing prompts and learn how to make more money from your writing.

Powered by ConvertKit