8 Best Authors Like Colleen Hoover For Lovers of Romance

If you’re a fan of Colleen Hoover and are looking for your next great love, discover our guide of eight authors like Colleen Hoover to find your next great read.

American romance and young adult author Colleen Hoover has quite a following among readers. Her 2016 novel It Ends with Us remains a popular read today, and she has sold over 20 million books. She is unique among romance authors because she is a New York Times and Wall Street Journal best-selling author, but many of her books were self-published in the beginning.

Hoover has several Goodreads Choice Awards for her books, including Confess and It Ends with Us, and in 2022 she stands as the best-selling novelist in the United States, holding 10 of the New York Times bestselling novel spots. Other books by the prolific author include Finding Cinderella, Maybe Someday, Maybe Not, November 9, Too Late, All Your Perfects, and Slammed. 

In addition, hopeless, a book about a homeschooled girl who heads to public high school, sat on the New York Times bestseller list for three weeks, and it is the first self-published novel to land in this spot.

1. Christina Lauren

Best Authors Like Colleen Hoover: Christina Lauren
Larry D. Moore, CC BY-SA 4.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Christina Lauren is not one author but two. This pen name is the publication name for Christina Hobbs and Laura Billings, a pair of best friends who write books together. The duo has created 18 New York Times bestsellers in addition to their other young adult and adult fiction works.

The writing team is known for its contemporary romance novels and the Beautiful and Wild Seasons series. However, one of the top book recommendations from this dynamic duo is Love and Other Words, the story of the love affair between Macy Sorensen and Elliot Petropoulos. The book talks about the main characters, teenagers and now adults, and the reader is left to wonder if a first love can return to true love in adulthood.

“It never occurred to me that love could be anything other than all-consuming. Even as a child, I knew I never wanted anything less.”

Christina Lauren
Sale
Love and Other Words
  • Lauren, Christina (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 432 Pages - 04/10/2018 (Publication Date) - Gallery Books (Publisher)

2. Helen Hoang

Helen Hoang is an autistic author who wrote her famous novel, The Kiss Quotient, based on her experiences living life on the autism spectrum. She also wrote The Bride Test and The Heart Principle, and her books have been translated into many languages, including French and Russian.

While many of Hoang’s books have been widespread, The Kiss Quotient has gained rave reviews. This novel made the Amazon top 100 book list in 2018 and was called one of the 50 Notable Works of Fiction by The Washington Post that year as well. It tells of Stella Lane, an autistic woman who hires an escort to teach her the art of romance, only for romance to start developing between the two.

“If you can’t stand being with a woman who’s more successful than you, then leave her alone. She’s better off without you. If you actually love her, then know the value of that love and make it a promise. That is the only thing she needs from you.”

Helen Hoang
The Kiss Quotient
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Hoang, Helen (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 333 Pages - 06/05/2018 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

3. Penelope Douglas

Penelope Douglas is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author with books in 19 languages. Several of her books are in a series, but she also writes stand-alone novels, including Misconduct, Punk 57, Tryst Six Venom, Credence, and Birthday Girl.

These books fit the romance novel category, but they could also be called psychological thrillers because they are a dark romance style. The Devil’s Night series is one of the popular groups of works by Penelope Douglas. The first book tells of one girl’s obsession with her boyfriend’s older brother, a terrifying young man that, for some reason, she can’t hate.

“They all built me in a way, but Michael began the foundation, laying brick after brick after brick and then tearing it all down to start over again. He lied to me, gave up on me, took from me, never believed me, and always—always—dug the knife deeper to chip away at me until I was nothing but bones.”

Penelope Douglas
Sale
Birthday Girl
  • Douglas, Penelope (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 405 Pages - 04/16/2018 (Publication Date) - CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (Publisher)

4. Mia Sheridan

Mia Sheridan is known for her steamy romance books about creating true love between two people who have a clear destiny to be with each other. This New York Times bestselling author lives with her husband and children in Cincinnati, and the city is the setting in many of her books.

One of Sheridan’s most famous works is Where the Blame Lies. This tells the story of a college student who is kidnapped and held in an abandoned warehouse for nearly a year. After the rescue, she is caught up in the search for another criminal that seems to operate the same as her kidnapper did, which creates a thrilling chase. Romance ensues as well between the victim and the police detective who is helping her.

“She thought of the ways in which humans could be filled with both terrible evil and such enduring love. Unspeakable violence and astonishing gentleness. Blame and grace. … Who is to blame? That was the question.”

Mia Sheridan
Where the Blame Lies
  • Sheridan, Mia (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 426 Pages - 09/13/2019 (Publication Date) - Independently published (Publisher)

5. JoJo Moyes

Best Authors Like Colleen Hoover: JoJo Moyes
Amrei-Marie, CC BY-SA 4.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

JoJo Moyes is best known for her book Me Before You, but she has many romance novels. To date, the author has her books in 46 languages, and they have reached the top spot in 12 countries with 38 million copies sold worldwide. She lives in Essex and continues to produce new novels. Me Before You is her most famous work, and it was made into a film. In total, the book has sold 14 million copies around the world. She published it in 2012, and the popular love story started a trilogy that includes Still Me and After You.

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

Jojo Moyes
Me Before You: A Novel (Me Before You Trilogy Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Moyes, Jojo (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 376 Pages - 12/31/2012 (Publication Date) - Penguin Books (Publisher)

6. Anna Todd

Anna Todd is an author and influencer who has always been an avid reader. She took her passion for reading and turned it into a career as a writer. Her books have been translated into 35 different languages, and she has risen to the top of the best sellers list in many different countries.

She started writing stories on her phone using the app Wattpad, quickly becoming the most-read series on the platform, which landed her a professional publishing gig. By far, her most famous works are her After series of novels. The first book, After, tells about a sweet girl named Tessa who runs into a cruel and disturbed young man at college, only to find herself drawn into his moody personality. Colleen Hoover fans will appreciate this romance’s dark side as they enter Tessa’s world.

“Just because he can’t love you the way you want him to doesn’t mean he doesn’t love you with everything he has.’ Liam says.”

Anna Todd
Sale
After (1) (The After Series)
  • After (The After Series) Paperback – October 21, 2014
  • Todd, Anna (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 592 Pages - 10/21/2014 (Publication Date) - Gallery Books (Publisher)

7. Taylor Jenkins Reid

Author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, Taylor Jenkins Reid, has grown in popularity among fans of the romance genre. Her books are popular enough to appear on the Best of Amazon and popular book reading lists like Reese’s Book Club and Read with Jenna. In addition, one of her books, Daisy Jones and the Six, is currently being made into an Amazon limited series.

In The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, Reid tells of a Hollywood starlet who hires a ghostwriter to help her write a biography. Through this writing partnership, the two women find their lives intersect in ways they never thought possible. As the title suggests, Hugo has had seven husbands, and much of the book is the heartbreaking tale of love and loss as she moves through each of these men.

“People think that intimacy is about sex. But intimacy is about truth. When you realize you can tell someone your truth, when you can show yourself to them, when you stand in front of them bare and their response is ‘you’re safe with me’ – that’s intimacy.”

Taylor Jenkins Reid
Sale
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo: A Novel
  • In an easy language
  • Reading books is a kind of enjoyment
  • Best to gift to a book lover
  • Reid, Taylor Jenkins (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)

8. Sally Thorne

Sally Thorne is an Australian romance author that weaves fantastical fictional worlds into her romance novels. When she is not writing, Thorne works drafting contracts and funding submissions, so, surprisingly, she is such a talented fiction writer. Though she currently only has a handful of books to her name, those books are doing well, and she shows promise of becoming the next great new romance author.

Her first novel, The Hating Game, launched a successful writing career and is now a movie about a workplace romance. This tells of the love/hate relationship between coworkers named Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman, who both work as executive assistants in a publishing company. However, when they reach a battle of wills, they discover that they might not hate each other.

“Books were, and always would be, something a little magic and something to respect.”

Sally Thorne
Sale
The Hating Game: A Novel
  • William Morrow & Co
  • Ideal for a bookworm
  • Comes in Good condition
  • Thorne, Sally (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best books for teenagers!

Join over 15,000 writers today

Get a FREE book of writing prompts and learn how to make more money from your writing.

Powered by ConvertKit