26 Best Authors Like Colleen Hoover For Lovers of Romance

If you’re a fan of Colleen Hoover and are looking for your next great love, discover our guide of eight authors like Colleen Hoover to find your next great read.

American romance and young adult author Colleen Hoover has quite a following among readers. Her 2016 novel It Ends with Us remains a popular read today, and she has sold over 20 million books. She is unique among romance authors because she is a New York Times and Wall Street Journal best-selling author, but many of her books were self-published in the beginning.

Hoover has several Goodreads Choice Awards for her books, including Confess and It Ends with Us, and in 2022 she stands as the best-selling novelist in the United States, holding 10 of the New York Times bestselling novel spots. Other books by the prolific author include Finding Cinderella, Maybe Someday, Maybe Not, November 9, Too Late, All Your Perfects, and Slammed. 

In addition, hopeless, a book about a homeschooled girl who heads to public high school, sat on the New York Times bestseller list for three weeks, and it is the first self-published novel to land in this spot.

1. Christina Lauren

Best Authors Like Colleen Hoover: Christina Lauren
Christina Lauren via Wikimedia Commons, Public Domain

Christina Lauren is not one author but two. This pen name is the publication name for Christina Hobbs and Laura Billings, a pair of best friends who write books together. The duo has created 18 New York Times bestsellers in addition to their other young adult and adult fiction works.

The writing team is known for its contemporary romance novels and the Beautiful and Wild Seasons series. However, one of the top book recommendations from this dynamic duo is Love and Other Words, the story of the love affair between Macy Sorensen and Elliot Petropoulos. The book talks about the main characters, teenagers and now adults, and the reader is left to wonder if a first love can return to true love in adulthood.

“It never occurred to me that love could be anything other than all-consuming. Even as a child, I knew I never wanted anything less.”

Christina Lauren
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 07:41 pm GMT

2. Helen Hoang

Helen Hoang is an autistic author who wrote her famous novel, The Kiss Quotient, based on her experiences living life on the autism spectrum. She also wrote The Bride Test and The Heart Principle, and her books have been translated into many languages, including French and Russian.

While many of Hoang’s books have been widespread, The Kiss Quotient has gained rave reviews. This novel made the Amazon top 100 book list in 2018 and was called one of the 50 Notable Works of Fiction by The Washington Post that year as well. It tells of Stella Lane, an autistic woman who hires an escort to teach her the art of romance, only for romance to start developing between the two.

“If you can’t stand being with a woman who’s more successful than you, then leave her alone. She’s better off without you. If you actually love her, then know the value of that love and make it a promise. That is the only thing she needs from you.”

Helen Hoang
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 10:06 am GMT

3. Penelope Douglas

Penelope Douglas is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author with books in 19 languages. Several of her books are in a series, but she also writes stand-alone novels, including Misconduct, Punk 57, Tryst Six Venom, Credence, and Birthday Girl.

These books fit the romance novel category, but they could also be called psychological thrillers because they are a dark romance style. The Devil’s Night series is one of the popular groups of works by Penelope Douglas. The first book tells of one girl’s obsession with her boyfriend’s older brother, a terrifying young man that, for some reason, she can’t hate. If you like reading romance books, you might want to check out our round-up of the best dark romance books.

“They all built me in a way, but Michael began the foundation, laying brick after brick after brick and then tearing it all down to start over again. He lied to me, gave up on me, took from me, never believed me, and always—always—dug the knife deeper to chip away at me until I was nothing but bones.”

Penelope Douglas
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 09:36 am GMT

4. Mia Sheridan

Mia Sheridan is known for her steamy romance books about creating true love between two people who have a clear destiny to be with each other. This New York Times bestselling author lives with her husband and children in Cincinnati, and the city is the setting in many of her books.

One of Sheridan’s most famous works is Where the Blame Lies. This tells the story of a college student who is kidnapped and held in an abandoned warehouse for nearly a year. After the rescue, she is caught up in the search for another criminal that seems to operate the same as her kidnapper did, which creates a thrilling chase. Romance ensues as well between the victim and the police detective who is helping her.

“She thought of the ways in which humans could be filled with both terrible evil and such enduring love. Unspeakable violence and astonishing gentleness. Blame and grace. … Who is to blame? That was the question.”

Mia Sheridan
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/08/2024 08:11 am GMT

5. JoJo Moyes

Best Authors Like Colleen Hoover: JoJo Moyes
JoJo Moyes via Wikimedia Commons, Public Domain

JoJo Moyes is best known for her book Me Before You, but she has many romance novels. To date, the author has her books in 46 languages, and they have reached the top spot in 12 countries with 38 million copies sold worldwide. She lives in Essex and continues to produce new novels. Me Before You is her most famous work, and it was made into a film.

In total, the book has sold 14 million copies around the world. She published it in 2012, and the popular love story started a trilogy that includes Still Me and After You. Want to read more romance books? Discover our list of authors like Elin Hilderbrand.

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

Jojo Moyes
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 09:42 am GMT

6. Anna Todd

Anna Todd is an author and influencer who has always been an avid reader. She took her passion for reading and turned it into a career as a writer. Her books have been translated into 35 different languages, and she has risen to the top of the best sellers list in many different countries.

She started writing stories on her phone using the app Wattpad, quickly becoming the most-read series on the platform, which landed her a professional publishing gig. By far, her most famous works are her After series of novels. The first book, After, tells about a sweet girl named Tessa who runs into a cruel and disturbed young man at college, only to find herself drawn into his moody personality. Colleen Hoover fans will appreciate this romance’s dark side as they enter Tessa’s world.

“Just because he can’t love you the way you want him to doesn’t mean he doesn’t love you with everything he has.’ Liam says.”

Anna Todd
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 09:42 am GMT

7. Taylor Jenkins Reid

Taylor Jenkins Reid

Author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, Taylor Jenkins Reid, has grown in popularity among fans of the romance genre. Her books are popular enough to appear on the Best of Amazon and popular book reading lists like Reese’s Book Club and Read with Jenna. In addition, one of her books, Daisy Jones and the Six, is currently being made into an Amazon limited series.

In The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, Reid tells of a Hollywood starlet who hires a ghostwriter to help her write a biography. Through this writing partnership, the two women find their lives intersect in ways they never thought possible. As the title suggests, Hugo has had seven husbands, and much of the book is the heartbreaking tale of love and loss as she moves through each of these men. You might also be interested in our list of authors like Taylor Jenkins-Reid.

“People think that intimacy is about sex. But intimacy is about truth. When you realize you can tell someone your truth, when you can show yourself to them, when you stand in front of them bare and their response is ‘you’re safe with me’ – that’s intimacy.”

Taylor Jenkins Reid
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/08/2024 05:21 am GMT

8. Sally Thorne

Sally Thorne is an Australian romance author that weaves fantastical fictional worlds into her romance novels. When she is not writing, Thorne works drafting contracts and funding submissions, so, surprisingly, she is such a talented fiction writer. Though she currently only has a handful of books to her name, those books are doing well, and she shows promise of becoming the next great new romance author.

Her first novel, The Hating Game, launched a successful writing career and is now a movie about a workplace romance. This tells of the love/hate relationship between coworkers named Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman, who both work as executive assistants in a publishing company. However, when they reach a battle of wills, they discover that they might not hate each other. Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best books for teenagers!

“Books were, and always would be, something a little magic and something to respect.”

Sally Thorne
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 01:00 pm GMT

9. Rebekah Weatherspoon

Rebekah Weatherspoon writes romantic fiction for adults

Rebekah Weatherspoon is an award-winning American writer who pens adult fiction and specializes in romance. After years of being the relationship guru for her friends, she put pen to paper and now has more than 20 books under her belt. She caters to all romance lovers, and her work spans traditional romance, paranormal romance, and wholesome tales for young adults. 

Weatherspoon is arguably most well-known for her Cowboys Of California series, but the Fit trilogy and Vampire Soriety Sisters are also popular. 

“Being with him wouldn’t suddenly fix her whole life, but it would make it a hell of a lot better.”

Rebekah Weatherspoon, A Cowboy to Remember
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:25 pm GMT

10. Emily Henry

Emily Henry is a New York Times bestseller who writes uplifting romances

Emily Henry is a New York Times best-selling adult contemporary romance author. She’s a former technical writer who decided to put her writing chops to use when she found herself in need of a creative outlet. 

Henry’s books tend to veer on the dark side and are beloved for multi-faceted heroines, gush-worthy love interests, and endings that will put a smile on readers’ faces. 

She is best known for her book Beach Read, which is being adapted into a film.

“And that was the moment I realized: when the world felt dark and scary, love could whisk you off to go dancing; laughter could take some of the pain away; beauty could punch holes in your fear. I decided then that my life would be full of all three.”

Emily Henry, Beach Read
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/08/2024 08:56 pm GMT

11. Tarryn Fisher, 1983 –

Tarryn Fisher writes new adult, thriller, and romance

Tarryn Fisher is another New York Times and USA Today best-selling writer. She’s a prominent figure in the new adult space, which is seen as a bridge between YA (young adult) and the more mature themes in adult fiction. 

Somewhat unusually, Fisher writes across genres and combines both to offer a different kind of romance. She is listed as writing romance, thrillers, and young adult. 

Fisher penned the Never Never series with Colleen Hoover herself. Her most popular solo works are The Wives and The Wrong Family

“Life does not accommodate you, it shatters you. Love is mean, but it’s good. It keeps us alive.”

Tarryn Fisher, Thief
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:26 pm GMT

Check out our round-up of the best young adult books.

12. Abbi Glines, 1977 –

Abbi Glines is a New York Times best-seller who writes YA and new adult fiction

Abbi Glines is a novelist who has landed herself on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal best-seller lists. She writes both YA and new adult fiction. Given that Glines married her high school sweetheart, it’s clear she knows how to write about love having a fairytale romance herself.

Glines’ writing style can be intense and emotive but is always easy to read and engaging. Her work is perfect for readers who like a little spice in their romance.

The Fallen Too Far series is Glines’ most popular tale. It was initially intended to be a stand-alone novel but later became her Rosemary Beach series. 

“Everyone always says that love was enough. It wasn’t. Not when your soul has been shattered.”

Abbi Glines, Fallen Too Far
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:26 pm GMT

13. K.A. Tucker, 1978 –

K.A. Tucker has penned more than 30 romance and suspense books

K.A. Tucker is a hugely prolific romance and suspense writer with more than 30 books under her belt. The Canadian author is perfect for those who like their fiction more grounded in reality. Her plots and characters are relatable, but her stories remain full of surprises, ensuring readers are eager to discover what happens next. 

If that’s not enough, Tucker got a seal of approval from Hoover, who praised her book, The Simple Wild

“Our past isn’t who we are. I’m me and you’re you and that’s who we need to be.”

K.A. Tucker, Ten Tiny Breaths
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:31 pm GMT

14. Amy Harmon

Amy Harmon is a New York Times best-selling author with 20 books to choose from

Amy Harmon is a New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal best-selling author who has written over 20 books. It was her lifelong dream to become a writer. Harmon offers romances with diverse backdrops, including supernatural and historical drama. 

Her most popular work, Making Faces, tells the tale of love conquering trauma and grief between a war veteran and the girl back home. Another popular read is A Girl Called Samson, which focuses on Deborah, a young lady who disguises herself as a man and enlists in the Continental Army during America’s War of Independence.

“You act like beauty is the only thing that makes us worthy of love.”

Amy Harmon, Making Faces
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 06:16 am GMT

15. Emma Scott

Emma Scott is a USA Today and Wall Street Journal best-seller known for diverse romance reads

Emma Scott is a Wall Street Journal and USA Today best-selling author. She is a big hit among readers who prefer diverse character-driven romances, sweet love interests, and happy endings. These are true feel-good reads. 

Her award-winning MM love story, Someday, Someday, follows Max Kaufman as he tries to rebuild his life after being disowned as a teen. 

“Love, real love, wasn’t empty, grasping hands, or lies that felt like truths. And it wasn’t perfect or neat or always easy. It was a rising sun on a new day. It was endless possibility.”

Emma Scott, Rush

For similar themes, check out our list of the best gay romance novels

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:36 pm GMT

16. Brittainy Cherry

Brittainy Cherry is an Amazon best-seller who has published more than 20 novels

If you love slow burns and lots of angst, Brittainy Cherry is the author for you. Having penned her first novel at the tender age of 14, Cherry has nailed the art of telling a good love story. She has more than 20 books to her name and is an Amazon #1 best-selling author. 

Readers can choose between standalone novels like The Mixtape, a tale about a rockstar who finds love after losing his brother, or fall head over heels for a series, such as The L&S books, an enemies-to-lovers tale. 

“He was my golden, and I was his. Forever forever and always always.”

Brittainy Cherry, Loving Mr. Daniels
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:31 pm GMT

17. Jamie McGuire, 1978 –

Jamie McGuire is an award-winning romance and new adult fiction writer

Jamie McGuire is a New York Times best-selling author who is most recognized for the Beautiful Disaster series. In 2015, she became the first independent author to land a print deal with Wal-Mart. Since then, she has won iBooks’ 2016 Romance Novel of the Year and was awarded Romance Author of the Year in 2017.

She mostly focuses on new adult fiction and romance, although readers who enjoy dark science fiction, the paranormal, and a bit of a thrill will also love McGuire’s work. One of her most popular books is All The Lights, a story about first loves.

“One of these days you’re going to fall in love, son. Don’t settle for just anyone. Choose the girl that doesn’t come easy; the one you have to fight for, and then never stop fighting. Never.”

Jamie McGuire, Walking Disaster
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:32 pm GMT

18. L.J Shen

L.J. Shen is a USA Today best-selling contemporary romance author

L.J. Shen is a USA Today, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal best-selling author. She has almost 30 books to her name and pens contemporary romance, new adult, and YA fiction. 

Shen stands out for her audacious heroines and anti-heroes that readers love to hate. Her work is full of angst that keeps readers from putting the books down. She’s arguably best known for Vicious, the first book in an enemies-to-lovers series.

“Lust is when you want the person to make you feel good. Love is when you want to make the other person feel good.”

L.J. Shen, Vicious
Vicious
$14.99


We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 08:56 am GMT

19. Renée Carlino

Renée Carlino is a USA Today best-selling author who writes contemporary romance

Renée Carlino is a new adult and contemporary romance author. She is also a screenwriter. 

Carlino is popular thanks to her poetic, emotive writing style. Many readers consider her a rule breaker, noting they can never predict what will happen next. 

She is also beloved for her swoon-worthy romances. Her USA Today best-seller Wish You Were Here is set to be adapted for film.

“Poetry is just evidence of life. If your life is burning well, poetry is just the ash.”

Renée Carlino, Before We Were Strangers
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/08/2024 04:26 pm GMT

20. Jeneva Rose

Jeneva Rose is a New York Times best-selling writer who pens thrillers and romance

Jeneva Rose is a New York Times best-selling author who writes romance and thrillers. Her book, You Shouldn’t Have Come Here, was even praised by Hoover, who complimented Rose’s ability to shock readers with her plot twists. 

Rose is a jack of all trades. When penning romantic comedies like It’s A Date (Again), her writing style is witty and casual. In darker works such as Home Is Where the Bodies Are, she expertly sets an eerie mood, while The Perfect Marriage blurs the lines between these genres. Since the author promises to make her readers’ hearts race, you’ll either find yourself swooning or biting your nails, depending on which book you choose. 

“It burns, but a good type of burn, like the small fires we sometimes need in our lives to remind us that we are alive.”

Jeneva Rose, The Perfect Marriage
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:32 pm GMT

21. Julie Murphy, 1985 –

Julie Murphy
Julie Murphy is a New York Times best-selling author most recognized for writing the novel Dumplin’

Julie Murphy is a librarian-turned-author, so you could argue she knows what it takes to make a book great better than anyone else. Her New York Times best-selling novel, Dumplin’ was adapted into a movie on Netflix.

Murphy writes middle-grade, young-adult, and romantic adult fiction, so there’s something for everyone. Her adult rom-com If The Shoe Fits, a Cinderella re-telling, was even praised by Hoover. Murphy has a heartfelt yet witty writing style that will leave readers laughing and crying. 

“Then he left, and with him, he took the sun, the moon, the stars, and anything inside of me that might have been good.”

Julie Murphy, Side Effects May Vary
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:35 pm GMT

22. Carley Fortune, 1985 – 

Calrey Fortune is a journalist-turned-fiction-writer

Carley Fortune is a New York Times best-selling author and journalist most recognized for her debut novel Every Summer After, a coming-of-age romance. The Canadian author previously worked at Refinery29 Canada, The Globe & Mail, and Toronto Life before turning to fiction. 

Although she only has two books under her belt, with a third, This Summer Will Be Different, coming out in 2024, Fortune has already proven that her future is bright. Fortune’s second-chance romance trope and friends-to-lovers are prominent themes in her work. 

“Sometimes I felt sure he was—like there was an invisible, unbreakable string that ran between us, stretching vast distances and keeping us joined.”

Carley Fortune, Every Summer After
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/07/2024 11:36 pm GMT

23. S. C. Stephens

S.C. Stephens is a New York Times and USA Today best-seller who began as an independent author

S.C. Stephens is a USA Today and New York Times best-selling author. She first began self-publishing her stories on FictionPress and quickly gained a fanbase. Her first book, Thoughtless, was an instant hit due to its captivating love triangle.  

She considers herself a hopeless romantic, which shines through in her work. Readers who adore heated love stories won’t be able to put her books down. 

With that said, Stephen’s writing style is engaging and no-nonsense; she doesn’t waste words but can still move her readers. Her work is ideal for those who pick up fiction to escape from their everyday lives but don’t enjoy reading stories that are too lyrical. 

“Do you really think anyone in this world, compares to you in my eyes?”

S.C. Stephens, Thoughtless
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:32 pm GMT

24. N.D. Jones

N.D. Jones is a USA Today best-seller who writes romance and speculative fiction

Although much of USA Today best-seller N.D. Jones’s work is predominantly considered Black fantasy, it’s the deep love stories within them that will captivate Coleen Hoover fans. For example, the Forever Yours series, a supernatural, futuristic love triangle, and The Styles Of Love books, an office romance trilogy, are sure to draw readers in. 

Jones set out to create complex, captivating, and attractive African-American characters, and she certainly succeeded. For example, readers adored seeing the introverted Sky from The Perks Of Higher Ed, slowly come out of her shell as the book progressed. 

“You carry the weight of the preternatural world on those big shoulders of yours. But your heart is even bigger, and the burden you harbor there heavier.”

N.D. Jones, Of Fear and Faith
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 08:56 am GMT

If you like paranormal romances, you’ll love our round-up of authors like Quinn Blackbird

25. Jenny Han, 1980 –

Jenny Han
Jenny Han is the author of the acclaimed series, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

Jenny Han is a New York Times best-selling author of YA and children’s fiction. With a Master of Fine Arts in creative writing, Han knows how to craft a story expertly. 

She is best known for To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, and The Summer I Turned Pretty, which is about a love triangle. 

Teens, in particular, love Han’s work as she captures all the ups and downs that come with navigating adolescence, from first kisses to embarrassing moments. She uses her own life experiences to influence her craft; for example, her affection for love letters inspired To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. The result is romantic fiction that allows readers to see themselves in the characters. 

“Love is scary: it changes; it can go away. That’s the part of the risk. I don’t want to be scared anymore.”

Jenny Han, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:21 pm GMT

26. Claire Contreras

Claire Contreras is a New York Times best-selling author who pens suspense and romance books

Claire Contreras is a New York Times best-seller, beloved for her romance and suspense novels that are sure to impress Hoover fans. Contreras was born in the Dominican Republic but grew up in Miami.

She has an immersive and emotive writing style. With a psychology degree under her belt, she’s able to create captivating, fully-developed characters that feel real, as she understands human behavior better than most. Her romantic thriller series, Secret Society, is a big hit blending suspense with romance.

Contreras draws from her own experiences and background to influence her characters. For example, after noticing the positive reception to her Dominican character Camila in The Player, she allowed her heritage to influence more of her work. 

“Sometimes we let the first ones get away, but it teaches us to cherish the second ones that much more.”

Claire Contreras, Kaleidoscope Hearts
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 08:56 am GMT

Author

  • Nicole Harms has been writing professionally since 2006. She specializes in education content and real estate writing but enjoys a wide gamut of topics. Her goal is to connect with the reader in an engaging, but informative way. Her work has been featured on USA Today, and she ghostwrites for many high-profile companies. As a former teacher, she is passionate about both research and grammar, giving her clients the quality they demand in today's online marketing world.