9 Best Authors Like Elin Hilderbrand: Find Your Next Holiday Novel

If you’re heading out on vacation and are looking for fun and want a book to read while you travel, check out our guide with 9 authors like Elin Hilderbrand.

Elin Hilderbrand has been called “The Queen of the Beach Read,” she is known for her short and sweet novels that have a splash of romance. Born in 1969, the author is quite prolific, with over 30 novels to her name, and fans appreciate that they can finish one of her short novels over a beach vacation. 

One of the romance author’s best sellers includes The Hotel Nantucket, which tells the story of the rehabilitation of a historic hotel. Set on Nantucket, which the author knows personally, this vibrant story includes the hotel’s haunting and unsolved murder. Readers who love Hilderbrand’s work and want additional romantic authors to add to their reading list can check out these authors like Elin Hilderbrand.

1. Nancy Thayer

New York Times bestselling author Nancy Thayer writes romance novels that take place on Nantucket, often in the summer. Because her setting and style are similar to Elin Hilderbrand, she tops the list of similar authors. Her debut novel, Stepping, came out in 1980. Since then, she has written a total of 31 books. Thayer was born in 1943 and lives in Nantucket with her family.

“Lonely and bored. And wasted and unhappy. I feel trapped in these small, low-ceilinged gray rooms.”

Nancy Thayer
Sale
Stepping
  • Hardcover Book
  • Thayer, Nancy (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 346 Pages - 11/27/1980 (Publication Date) - Doubleday (Publisher)

2. Emily Griffin

Another New York Times Bestselling Author known for her beach vacation reads, Emily Griffin has been called a “Modern-day Jane Austen.” Her first book, Something Borrowed, was an instant sensation, and nine additional of her novels ended up on the bestseller list. The first book tells the story of someone who gets drunk and has a one-night stand with her best friend’s fiance, a situation that leaves everyone in disarray. Giffin has sold over 12 million copies of her books worldwide, and her first novel became a movie in 2011. Griffin was born in 1972 and resided in Atlanta.

“But I have learned that you make your own happiness, that part of going for what you want means losing something else. And when the stakes are high, the losses can be that much greater.”

Emily Giffin
Sale
Something Borrowed: A Novel
  • Emily Giffin (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 352 Pages - 04/01/2005 (Publication Date) - St. Martin's Griffin (Publisher)

3. Jennifer Weiner

Best Authors Like Elin Hilderbrand: Jennifer Weiner
Rodrigo Fernández, CC BY-SA 4.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

With 11 million copies of her books in print, Jennifer Weiner is well-known among fans of the best romance authors. Her second novel, In Her Shoes, became a major motion picture. Her work can also be found in well-known newspapers and magazines. Weiner uses her social media platforms to speak about women’s interests and body-positivity topics when she is not writing. 

“Hell is an Eagles game where the bleachers are always freezing, the team is always losing, and my family is insane”

Jennifer Weiner
Sale
In Her Shoes: A Novel
  • Weiner, Jennifer (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 448 Pages - 07/08/2003 (Publication Date) - Washington Square Press (Publisher)

4. Dorothea Benton Frank

Dorothea Benton Frank has 20 bestselling novels set in South Carolina’s Low Country. She was born in South Carolina in 1951 and died in 2019. It made it to the New York Times bestseller list and was republished over 25 times with over 1 million copies in print. Her first book, Sullivan’s Island: A Low Country Tale, was published in 1999.

“Makes you grow up quick. Hard work makes you strong. I work hard every day; that’s where I get my strength. That and knowing who I am.”

Dorothea Benton Frank
Sale
Sullivan's Island (Lowcountry Tales)
  • Frank, Dorothea Benton (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 464 Pages - 01/06/2004 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

5. Mary Kay Andrews

Best Authors Like Elin Hilderbrand: Mary Kay Andrews
Slowking4, GFDL 1.2 http://www.gnu.org/licenses/old-licenses/fdl-1.2.html, via Wikimedia Commons

Mary Kay Andrews is the pen name of Kathy Hogan Trocheck. She was born in 1954 and author of 26 beach-themed romances, including Sunset Beach and The High Tide Club. She published her first novel, Every Crooked Nanny, in 1992, and Hissy Fit was her first New York Times bestseller. She has a home on Tybee Island, where she draws some inspiration for her writings.

“Enough! Enough parties. Enough presents. Enough luncheons and teas, enough sappy wedding showers, enough family and friends oohing and aahing over the perfect couple.”

Mary Kay Andrews
Sale
Every Crooked Nanny (Callahan Garrity, 1)
  • Andrews, Mary Kay (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 320 Pages - 03/26/2013 (Publication Date) - Harper Paperbacks (Publisher)

6. Jane Green

Jane Green has 18 New York Times bestsellers in her list of 21 novels. This Connecticut resident is now the head of Emerald Audio, a podcast network for audio dramas based on popular novels. She has over 10 million books in print in over 25 languages. She was born in 1968 in London, England, and published her first book, Straight Talking, in 1996.

“That’s how it is with relationships, it’s a part of life, and all the great love songs and poems and films have been written by people who were standing where I was that morning as Simon shut the door. Doesn’t make it any easier though.”

Jane Green
Sale
Straight Talking: A Novel
  • Fiction
  • Humor
  • Green, Jane (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 320 Pages - 09/23/2003 (Publication Date) - Crown (Publisher)

7. Kristin Hannah

Award-winning author Kristin Hannah has several bestsellers under her name. The Nightingale is one of those, and it has been written in 43 languages. It was an Amazon best book of the year and a People’s Choice Award winner from Goodreads. Its audiobook version won the Audiobook of the Year Award. Hannah got her professional start in the law field before becoming a writer. She was born in 1960 and resided in Washington state.

“If I have learned anything in this long life of mine, it is this: in love we find out who we want to be; in war we find out who we are.”

Kristin Hannah
Sale
The Nightingale: A Novel
  • Hannah, Kristin (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 608 Pages - 04/25/2017 (Publication Date) - St. Martin's Griffin (Publisher)

8. Barbara Delinsky

Barbara Delinsky writes beach-themed romance novels, and 23 of them have been New York Times bestsellers. She writes about emotional crises that most readers can relate to. Her first book, The Passionate Touch, was published in 1981 under the penname Bonnie Drake. She also published under the penname Billie Douglass before embracing her real name in 1984. Her 1997 novel A Woman’s Place became a Lifetime television movie. Delinsky was born in 1945 and lives in Massachusetts.

“It frightened me to hear despair, made me angry, too, because Connie Grant didn’t deserve to be dying at sixty-three. She had fought long and hard for a better life, fought even harder when things wouldn’t come easy.”

Barabara Delinsky
Sale
A Woman's Place: A Novel
  • Delinsky, Barbara (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 384 Pages - 12/30/2008 (Publication Date) - William Morrow Paperbacks (Publisher)

9. Karen White

Karen White rounds out this list of the authors like Elin Hilderbrand. She has 31 books to her name, including the Tradd Street Series, and almost 2 million books in print. This best-selling author has many books set in the South and wears intrigue, romance, and family drama into each plot. Her new novel, The Shop on Royal Street, hit bookshelves in 2022. She was born in 1964 and currently resides in Atlanta and northwest Florida.

“Just goes to show that if it has tires or testicles, it’s bound to cause you trouble.”

Karen White
Sale
The Shop on Royal Street (A Royal Street Novel)
  • Hardcover Book
  • White, Karen (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 384 Pages - 03/29/2022 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

FAQs on Authors Like Elin Hilderbrand

What is considered Elin Hilderbrand’s best book?

Based on the number of votes on Goodreads, the historical fiction romance Summer of ‘69 is the best Elin Hilderbrand book. Based on scores alone, 28 Summers is the top book.

What are some of Elin Hilderbrand’s other popular books?

Other popular books by Elin Hilderbrand include:
Barefoot
A Summer Affair
Silver Girl
The Identicals
Winters in Paradise

What is the average rating of Elin Hilderbrand’s books on Goodreads?

Elin Hilderbrand’s body of work has an average rating of 3.95. This score includes over 1.6 ratings across 60 distinct works from the prolific author.

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of authors like Nora Roberts!

Join over 15,000 writers today

Get a FREE book of writing prompts and learn how to make more money from your writing.

Powered by ConvertKit