15 Best Authors Like Quinn Blackbird Who Weave Tales of Fae and Dark Paranormal Romance

Discover our guide to the best authors like Quinn Blackbird who spin gripping tales of fae and other supernatural creatures.

If you’re enchanted by Quinn Blackbird’s captivating storytelling and the fascinating world of fae, you’ll appreciate this list of authors like Quinn Blackbird. These authors breathe life into the fae, evoking fantastical images of enchanted woods, opulent palaces, and ominous dimensions that defy reality. Fae characters come in diverse forms, ranging from playful mischief-makers to formidable rulers, and their motives can be challenging to discern.

In the world of dark paranormal romance, danger lurks around every corner. From Machiavellian politics to wrathful spirits and age-old curses, the stakes are always high, and failure can lead to dire consequences. Yet, amid the peril and shadows, there is hope and love as mortals and fae are irresistibly drawn to each other by an intense attraction that transcends all reason. What is fan fiction? Find out in our guide!

Best Authors Like Quinn Blackbird Ranked

1. Karen Marie Moning, 1984 –

Karen Marie Moning
Photo of Karen Marie Morning sitting on a white leather couch

Karen Marie Moning, an American author, is renowned for her enthralling romance novels, notably the Fever series. Hailing from Cincinnati, Ohio, Moning pursued a degree at Purdue University before embarking on her writing journey. Set in Dublin, Ireland, her Fever series weaves the tale of MacKayla Lane, an indomitable protagonist, amidst a world of fae and supernatural beings.

With books such as DarkfeverBloodfever, and Feverborn, the series captivates readers with its elaborate world-building, suspenseful narrative, and passionate romance. Moning’s work has received numerous accolades and has been translated into various languages, solidifying her status as a beloved author in romance and fantasy. You might also be interested in our list of authors like Tijan.

“There are really only two positions one can take toward anything in life: hope or fear. Hope strengthens, fear kills.”

Karen Marie Morning, Darkfever
Darkfever: Fever Series Book 1
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Moning, Karen Marie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 382 Pages - 10/31/2006 (Publication Date) - Delacorte Press (Publisher)

2. Holly Black, 1971 –

Holly Black
Closeup photo of Holly Black standing against a wall

Holly Black, an American author, has captivated readers worldwide with her vivid storytelling and intricate worlds. She has gained considerable recognition for her highly acclaimed Folk of the Air series, with The Cruel Prince being book one. The series is set in an enchanting world of faeries and intrigue, where a mortal girl becomes entangled in the political machinations of the fae realm. Black’s intricate plots and captivating characters shine similarly in the magical Spiderwick Chronicles. Her enthusiasm for folklore, mythology, and the supernatural has imbued her work with a captivating aura.

“I want to win. I do not yearn to be their equal. In my heart, I yearn to best them.”

Holly Black, The Cruel Prince
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Black, Holly (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 385 Pages - 01/02/2018 (Publication Date) - Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (Publisher)

3. Sarah J. Maas, 1986 –

Sarah J. Maas is the best-selling author of the Throne of Glass trilogy and the author of the Crescent City series. Her works have been translated into 37 languages and have sold over 12 million copies worldwide. Sarah lives in Philadelphia with her family, though she is originally from New York. Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses features a world of fae and is known for its steamy romance and action-packed plot. Her breakout series, Throne of Glass, began as a wildly popular online sensation before evolving into a bestselling seven-book saga.

“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thrones and Roses
A Court of Thorns and Roses
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Maas, Sarah J. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 439 Pages - 05/05/2015 (Publication Date) - Bloomsbury Publishing (Publisher)

4. Kresley Cole, 1976 –

Born in 1976 in Florida, Kresley Cole is a prolific American author celebrated for her gripping paranormal romance and young adult novels. She achieved widespread acclaim with her Immortals After Dark series, which expertly combines steamy romance with supernatural lore. In particular, The Warlord Wants Forever is a favorite with readers. Cole’s unique blend of humor, adventure, and passion has garnered a dedicated fan base. Additionally, her Arcana Chronicles series features a post-apocalyptic world, tarot-based mythology, and an enthralling love triangle. With a master’s degree in English, Cole’s talent for storytelling and world-building has firmly established her as a prominent figure in romance and fantasy.

“The gold chain she’d worn around her waist for millennia now felt heavy on her.”

Kresley Cole, The Warlord Wants Forever
The Warlord Wants Forever (Immortals After Dark Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Cole, Kresley (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 154 Pages - 09/25/2017 (Publication Date) - Pocket Star (Publisher)

5. J.R. Ward, 1969 –

J.R. Ward, whose real name is Jessica Bird, is a renowned American author born in 1969, best known for her captivating paranormal romance novels. She gained widespread recognition with her Black Dagger Brotherhood series, which expertly weaves together the worlds of vampires, romance, and action, as with Lover Arisen. Writing under her pseudonym, J.R. Ward, she has cultivated a loyal following with her unforgettable characters and gripping storytelling. In addition to her paranormal works, Ward has written contemporary romance novels under her real name, Jessica Bird. 

“I have to save two people tonight. I have to…. sacrifice something to save them. And after this, it’s all going to be different. For me. For… you.”

J.R. Ward, Lover Arisen
Lover Arisen (The Black Dagger Brotherhood series Book 20)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Ward, J.R. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 429 Pages - 04/05/2022 (Publication Date) - Gallery Books (Publisher)

6. Gena Showalter, 1975 –

Gena Showalter, an American author, has captivated readers with her spellbinding Everlife novels, including Firstlife. In Firstlife, protagonist Tenley Ten Lockwood faces a life-altering decision between joining one of two afterlife realms, Troika or Myriad. As she grapples with her choice, Ten becomes entangled in a dangerous power struggle between the two realms while uncovering secrets about her past and destiny. Showalter’s Fae-centered masterpieces showcase her ability to weave complex characters, rich mythology, and gripping plots, cementing her status as a prominent figure in the paranormal romance genre. 

“If you failed to read my dossier, Nanne, I’m happy to bring you up to date on the highlights.”

Gena Showalter, Firstlife
Firstlife (The Everlife Novels Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Showalter, Gena (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 475 Pages - 02/23/2016 (Publication Date) - Harlequin Teen (Publisher)

7. Patricia Briggs, 1965 –

Patricia Briggs has carved a unique niche in urban fantasy and paranormal fiction. The book in her gripping Mercy Thompson series, such as Soul Taken, featuring a resourceful shapeshifting protagonist, has captured the attention of readers around the globe. Briggs intertwines elements of mystery, supernatural beings, and captivating romance within her novels, resulting in immersive storytelling. In addition to the Alpha and Omega series, her portfolio of work demonstrates her exceptional ability to craft vivid, relatable characters and enthralling worlds.

“This frail cloth, a gift to the person he had once been, was his touchstone, a reminder that once he had been whole.”

Patricia Briggs, Soul Taken
Soul Taken (Mercy Thompson Book 13)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Briggs, Patricia (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 398 Pages - 08/23/2022 (Publication Date) - Ace (Publisher)

8. Jennifer L. Armentrout, 1980

Jennifer L. Armentrout
Photo of Jennifer L. Armentrout signing copies of her book

Jennifer L. Armentrout is highly regarded for her contributions to the young adult and adult fantasy genres. Her Covenant series, a tale of gods, mortals, and forbidden romance, showcases her innate talent for imaginative storytelling. Armentrout has successfully captivated readers with the Lux series through her vivid portrayal of alien encounters and star-crossed love. In Obsidian, Katy Swartz finds herself entwined in the dangerous world of the Luxen, an alien race with extraordinary powers, after moving to a small town and becoming neighbors with the enigmatic and attractive Daemon Black.

“Beautiful face. Beautiful body. Horrible attitude. It was the holy trinity of hot boys.”

Jennifer L. Armentrout, Obsidian
Obsidian (A Lux Novel Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Armentrout, Jennifer L. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 294 Pages - 05/08/2012 (Publication Date) - Entangled: Teen (Publisher)

9. Sherrilyn Kenyon, 1965 –

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Photo of Sherrilyn Kenyon with sunglasses on her head

Sherrilyn Kenyon is well-known for her captivating fae novels. Her Dark-Hunter series, a blend of mythology and paranormal romance, showcases Kenyon’s talent for creating enchanting worlds inhabited by alluring Fae characters. Her stories, exemplified in Night Embrace, weave elements of mystique, adventure, and passion, demonstrating her skill in crafting unforgettable narratives. Kenyon’s ability to transport her readers to realms where the lines between human and fae are blurred has earned her a devoted following.

“The bitter agony that welled inside him was crippling.”

Sherrilyn Kenyon, Night Embrace
Night Embrace (Dark-Hunter Novels Book 2)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Kenyon, Sherrilyn (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 420 Pages - 04/01/2010 (Publication Date) - St. Martin's Press (Publisher)

10. Nalini Singh, 1977 –

Nalini Singh
Photo of Nailing Singh wearing a fuchsia blazer

Nalini Singh, a New Zealand author, has enthralled readers with her mesmerizing fae novels. Her Guild Hunter series, an enticing fusion of paranormal romance and urban fantasy, showcases Singh’s expertise in crafting intricate storylines centered around compelling fae characters. A great example of this is Archangel’s Resurrection. Her work interweaves elements of mystery, magic, and passion, transporting readers to captivating realms where fae and humans coexist. Nalini Singh’s vivid imagination and engaging narrative style have garnered her a loyal following.

“Oh, he’d been kind to Lijuan, had told her that she was too young and that perhaps after another seven thousand years, they could come together.”

Nailing Singh, Archangel’s Resurrection
Archangel's Resurrection (A Guild Hunter Novel Book 15)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Singh, Nalini (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 396 Pages - 10/25/2022 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

11. Keri Arthur, 1967 –

Keri Arthur
Candid photo of Keri Author seated in front of a window

An accomplished Australian author, Keri Arthur has captured readers’ imaginations with her fae novels. Her Riley Jenson Guardian series, with Full Moon Rising as the first book, is a fusion of urban fantasy and paranormal romance, highlighting Arthur’s talent for crafting intricate plots and captivating fae characters. Set in a world where supernatural beings coexist with humans, her work skillfully blends elements of mystery, adventure, and passion. Keri Arthur’s vivid storytelling and engaging narrative style have cemented her position as a prominent figure in fae-focused fantasy literature.

“Normally, darkness didn’t worry me. I am a creature of the moon and the night, after all, and well used to roaming the streets at ungodly hours.”

Keri Arthur, Full Moon Rising
Full Moon Rising (Riley Jensen, Guardian, Book 1): A Riley Jenson Guardian Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Arthur, Keri (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 416 Pages - 01/31/2006 (Publication Date) - Bantam (Publisher)

12. Julie Kagawa, 1982 –

Julie Kagawa
Photo of Julie Kagawa seated and wearing a black t-shirt

Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series begins with The Iron King, a fascinating blend of fantasy and romance, and showcases Kagawa’s prowess in crafting enchanting worlds inhabited by fae creatures. Her work combines adventure, magic, and intrigue, transporting readers to realms where the lines between humans and fae are masterfully blurred. Julie Kagawa’s vivid imagination, engaging characters, and immersive narrative style have garnered her a dedicated following, solidifying her status as a leading voice in fae-focused fantasy literature. 

“On my sixth birthday, my father took me to the park, one of my favorite places to go at that time.”

Julie Kagawa, The Iron King
The Iron King Special Edition (The Iron Fey Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Kagawa, Julie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 420 Pages - 05/05/2020 (Publication Date) - Inkyard Press (Publisher)

13. Laura Thalassa, 1978 –

Laura Thalassa’s Bargainer series, which starts with Rhapsodic, is a compelling fusion of paranormal romance and urban fantasy, highlighting Thalassa’s proficiency in developing complex narratives and intriguing fae characters. Her work transports readers to enchanting realms brimming with adventure, passion, and mystery. Laura Thalassa’s talent for crafting relatable characters has earned her a devoted audience, solidifying her reputation as an emerging force in fae-centric fantasy literature.

“I stare down at my hands, feeling like Lady Macbeth.”

Laura Thalassa, Rhapsodic
Rhapsodic (The Bargainer Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Thalassa, Laura (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 402 Pages - 09/06/2022 (Publication Date) - Bloom Books (Publisher)

14. Amelia Hutchins, 1970 –

A gifted American author, Amelia Hutchins has enthralled readers with her captivating fae novels, such as Escaping Destiny. Her Fae Chronicles series, an enticing blend of paranormal romance and urban fantasy, highlights Hutchins’ talent for crafting spellbinding plots and alluring fae characters. Her work artfully interweaves elements of magic, adventure, and intrigue in a world where supernatural beings intertwine with human existence. Amelia Hutchins’ novels continue to enchant, offering readers a magical escape into the supernatural.

“Liam, my brother, had been captured, tortured, and broken by the same man who stood before me now.”

Amelia Hutchins, Escaping Destiny
Escaping Destiny (The Fae Chronicles Book 3)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Hutchins, Amelia (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 363 Pages - 02/15/2014 (Publication Date) - Amelia Hutchins (Publisher)

15. Emma Hamm, 1980 –

Emma Hamm is an American author who has enchanted readers with her mesmerizing fae novels. Her Otherworld series, including Veins of Magic, is an enthralling blend of urban fantasy and paranormal romance that showcases Hamm’s skill in crafting complex plots and captivating fae characters. Set in a world where magical beings intertwine with human existence, her work masterfully interweaves adventure, passion, and intrigue elements.

Emma Hamm’s vivid imagination, engaging narrative style, and ability to create relatable characters have made her a rising talent in fae-focused fantasy literature. Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best Danish authors!

“Once upon a time, a rose fell in love with a stag.”

Emma Hamm, Veins of Magic
Veins of Magic: A Beauty and the Beast Retelling (The Otherworld Book 2)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Hamm, Emma (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 368 Pages - 12/19/2017 (Publication Date) - Emma Hamm (Publisher)
Tweet
Pin
Share
Share