10 Best Authors Like Tijan for Fans of Paranormal Romance, New Adult, and Romantic Suspense Novels

Looking for authors like Tijan? Check out our round-up of the best writers and books of new adult, paranormal romance, or romantic suspense novels.

Tijan is well-known and loved for the versatility of her fiction: she writes extremely widely within the romance genre, covering the new adult, paranormal, steamy, and suspense subgenres – and more. The author’s hugely popular, best-selling Fallen Crest High and Kings of New York series are great examples of her diversity and unpredictability, two of the things that make Tijan so adored by her legions of fans. If you’re a fan of Tijam, check out the best dark romance books!

Best Authors Like Tijan Ranked

1. Kristen Ashley, 1968 –

Kristen Ashley
Photo of Kristen Ashley, 2018

USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Kristen Ashley has penned over seventy-five books which have sold over three million copies and are available in fourteen languages worldwide. Two of Ashley’s novels, The Will and Three Wishes, have been adapted into films. Known for her paranormal romance, erotica, and fantasy romance novels, Ashley is a ‘must check out’ author for any Tijan fan. 

The Girl in the Mist, the first title in the Misted Pines series, is a great place to start. Ashley began her writing career by working on her stories in the evenings when she returned from her job in the medical field, writing twenty-five novels over fifteen years. After struggling to find an agent or publisher, Ashley turned to self-publishing and has never looked back.

“I hate the word commitment used about a relationship. It’s inaccurate. You’re with someone because you want to be with someone. A relationship is not a diet or a contract with an employer or a goal to be attained. It’s based, or it should be based, solely on feeling, intuition, attraction.”

Kristen Ashley, The Girl in the Mist

2. Jamie McGuire, 1978 –

Jamie McGuire writes in the new adult genre and is best known for her bestselling novel Beautiful Disaster. The book tells the story of Abby Abernathy, who is about to start her first year at college and is desperate to leave the past behind. Things don’t go to plan, however, when she collides with college bad boy Travis Maddox; the pair make a wager that could change their lives forever. 

Before becoming a full-time author, McGuire worked as a radiographer; she now lives in Jenks, Oklahoma, with her three children. In 2020, she announced an intention to run as a Republican candidate for the Oklahoma House of Representatives (in house district 69), but residency requirements resulted in disqualification from the race. If you’re searching for more romantic suspense novels to add to your reading list, check out our guide on the best authors like Toni Anderson!

“It’s dangerous to need someone that much. You’re trying to save him, and he’s hoping you can. You two are a disaster.”

Jamie McGuire, Beautiful Disaster

3. Colleen Hoover, 1979 –

Colleen Hoover
Photo of Colleen Hoover, 2002

Fans of Tijan’s Fallen Crest High series will relish Slammed by Colleen Hoover, which perfectly captures the tumultuousness, magic, and angst of first love. The tale’s young protagonists, Layken and Will, share an unlikely bond: poetry. But will this be enough to defeat the fate that seems to be conspiring to keep them apart?

Her debut novel, Slammed, put Hoover on the map when published in 2012. Since then, she’s published a string of bestsellers, including Hopeless and It Ends with Us – the latter portrays domestic violence, and Hoover has spoken about how the story was influenced by her own experiences of witnessing domestic violence as a child. In 2022 Hoover was named by Time Magazine as one of the 100 Most Influential People in the World – she’s now racked up book sales totaling over twenty million.

“All I ever feel like doing is sleeping. I guess because it doesn’t hurt as bad when you’re asleep.”

Colleen Hoover, Slammed

4. Jessica Sorensen, Active 2011 –

Best-selling American novelist Jessica Sorensen is widely credited for a resurgence of the new adult fiction genre. She is the author of books including The Opposite of Ordinary and The Secret of Ella and Micha. The latter tells the story of Ella, who creates a new persona for herself when she heads to college. The problem is that Micha knows everything there is to know about her, including her darkest secrets, and he’s determined to get – and win – back the old version of Ella. 

Sorensen is also the author behind the epic fantasy series Darkness Falls and Fallen Star. Her most recent novel, Enchanted Chaos, is available now. Sorenson lives in the mountains of Wyoming and enjoys relaxing with her family and reading when she’s not busy writing.

“He knows what I’m about to say–he always does. He is my best friend, my soulmate. In a perfect world, full of roses and sunshine we’d be together, but this is full of broken.”

Jessica Sorensen, The Secret of Ella and Micha

5. Deborah Harkness, 1965 –

Deborah Harkness
Photo of Deborah Harkness at the US National Book Festival, 2018

Deborah Harkness writes novels in the paranormal and fantasy romance genre. She is best known for titles including A Discovery of Witches and its sequels comprising the All Souls Trilogy. The epic tale follows Diana Bishop, an Oxford scholar descended from witches. The appearance of a mysterious book in the university’s Bodleian Library preempts a chain of events that leads Bishop to Matthew Clairmont, a vampire geneticist. 

In the real world, Harkness is highly respected as a historian of medicine and science, and she’s studied the occult, magic, and alchemy, a knowledge that profoundly informs her stories. As a professor of history at the University of Southern California, Harkness teaches classes in the history of science and European history. A Discovery of Witches was recently adapted into an eight-episode television show, with Harkness as executive producer.

If you enjoyed this round-up of the best authors like Tijan, you might also like our list of romantic suspense authors in our guide to the best authors like Fern Michaels. Or you can use the search bar at the top right of the page to search for the best authors.

“‘Normal’ is a bedtime story—a fable—that humans tell themselves to feel better when faced with overwhelming evidence that most of what’s happening around them is not ‘normal’ at all.’”

Deborah Harkness, A Discovery of Witches

6. Rebecca Donovan, Active 2012 –

Author Rebecca Donovan writes in the new adult fiction genre. Before becoming a full-time author, Donovan worked in event planning; after initially self-publishing her work, she signed a publishing deal with Penguin in 2012 for the UK rights to her million-copy selling series, Breathing, and in 2013 signed with the Amazon imprint Skyscape Publishing. 

If you’ve not read this author before, the first title in the Breathing collection is an excellent place to start. Reason to Breathe introduces readers to protagonist Emma Thomas, who is desperately trying to disguise from others the profound difficulties she’s experiencing at home. Check out our round-up of authors like Sandra Brown.

“I couldn’t believe I let him see me like this, unable to fend for myself. I fumed in disgust at my vulnerability. I didn’t want Evan to think I needed protecting. I pulled back my torment and let the numb blanket envelop me, pushing away the stirred memories, the noise of the crowd, and the trembling that still lay beneath the surface.”

Rebecca Donovan, Reason to Breathe

7. Sylvia Day, 1973 –

Sylvia Day
Photo of Sylvia Day at a writers’ conference, 2015

Romantic and paranormal suspense novelist Sylvia Day is the mind behind the hugely successful Crossfire series, with over thirteen million English language copies in print worldwide. The first book in the series, Bared to You, spent sixty-seven weeks on USA Today’s bestseller list. Day has received many accolades in recognition of her work, including the Goodreads Choice Award and the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award, and was named an Amazon Best Book of the Year Award.

“I’ve always seen you, angel. From the moment you found me, I’ve seen nothing but you.”

Sylvia Day, Bared to You

8. Penelope Douglas, Active 2014 –

Those who enjoy the unpredictable plots and intricately drawn characters of a Tijan novel will want to discover the books of Penelope Douglas. Writing widely within the new adult and contemporary romance genres, with a bit of erotica thrown in now and then for good measure, 

Douglas says she loves nothing more than writing outside of her comfort zone. Need a recommendation to get started? Try Bully, the first book in the Fall Away series. A Goodreads Choice Award nominee, this novel explores the blurred boundary between love and hate and is fast-paced, thought-provoking, and utterly unputdownable. You might also be interested in our list of authors like Tessa Dare.

“We can be confused about what is good for us but not about what we truly want.”

Penelope Douglas, Bully

9. Devney Perry, Active 2014 –

USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Amazon bestselling author Devney Perry writes contemporary romance novels. Most of her books are set in her beloved home state of Montana, where Perry was born and raised. If you’re looking for books to get your teeth into, this author is a great choice: with nearly fifty novels and novellas to her name, your reading list will be sorted for months to come. 

Begin the journey with Steel King, the first title in Perry’s Clifton Forge series, and prepare for romantic suspense as small-town journalist Bryce Ryan decides to investigate a murder. All signs seem to point to the members of the local motorcycle club, but not everything is as it seems.

“We hadn’t made a commitment. We hadn’t made promises. Except as I stood and watched her leave, I realized that no other woman would kiss me again. Bryce was it for me. The one.”

Devney Perry, Steel King

10. Tillie Cole, Active 2013 –

Tillie Cole hails from Teesside in the north of England and now lives in Calgary, Alberta, with her husband. An avid reader for many years, Cole finally decided to have a go at writing a romance herself – and the rest is history! 

A Thousand Boy Kisses, published in 2016, is the perfect introduction to this author. The story focuses on former childhood friends who meet once more as teenagers – it’s a tear-jerking young adult tale that’ll keep readers engrossed from the very first sentence to the last line. And if it ends too soon? There’s always A Wish for Us, A Veil of Vines, the Sweet Home series, and many more. Check out these authors like Tessa Bailey and authors like Christine Feehan.

“I’ll give you a thousand kisses, Poppymin. All of them. No one will kiss you ever, but me.”

Tillie Cole, A Thousand Boy Kisses

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of authors like Amanda Quick!

Author

  • Melanie Smith is a freelance content and creative writer from Gloucestershire, UK, where she lives with her daughter, long-suffering partner, and cat, The Magical Mr. Bobo. Her blog posts and articles feature regularly in magazines and websites around the world.