10 Authors Like Amanda Quick: Dive Into Your Next Favorite Romance Novel

Discover our guide with the best authors like Amanda Quick, and pick up your next favorite novel today!

Amanda Quick, one of the many pen names of author Jayne Ann Krentz, is revered in the historical genre for creating idyllic stories and characters in historical suspense thrillers in both real and fantasy worlds. Quick’s most beloved books include The Bride Wore White, The Lady Has a Past, and When She Dreams. 

With nearly 30 novels in this genre, Amanda Quick continues to grow in popularity as her novels are page-turners that always leave readers wanting more. Amanda Quick has significantly influenced the romance genre and has undoubtedly left her mark on the literary world with her passion for romance novels and masterful storytelling. You might also be interested in our list of authors like Olivia Hayle.

Best Authors Like Amanda Quick Ranked

1. Johanna Lindsey, 1952 – 2019

Johanna Lindsey was a very talented author, with many of her historical romance novels reaching the New York Times bestseller list throughout her career as an author. Lindsey began writing purely by accident and became one of her genre’s most iconic writers. Throughout her career, her books have sold nearly 60 million copies, with fan favorites including A Loving Scoundrel, Love Me Forever, and The Heir. Her novels tell stories of betrayal, passion, hardship, and true love set against a fascinating historical time period that many readers admire. 

Johanna passed away in 2019 from lung cancer, and the entire romance community mourns the loss of one of the pioneers of the romance genre. Her ideas were fruitful, her imagery was incredible, and her storylines were one-of-a-kind. Although she is gone, she inspires readers and writers to push the envelope on what they believe is possible. 

“What is a friend if not someone you feel close to, someone you like being with, someone you can confide in and share pleasure with. -Jeremy Malory”

Johanna Lindsey, A Loving Scoundrel
A Loving Scoundrel: A Malory Novel (Malory-Anderson Family Book 7)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Lindsey, Johanna (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 464 Pages - 04/27/2004 (Publication Date) - Pocket Books (Publisher)

2. Mackenzi Lee

Mackenzi Lee
Mackenzi Lee wearing sunglasses and smiling away from the camera

Mackenzi Lee is an American author who specializes in young adult fiction. Her debut novel, This Monstrous Thing, won several awards, while her second novel, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, reached the New York Times bestseller’s list and was an ABA bestseller. Through her writing, Mackenzi explores human sexuality paired with humor, mystery, magic, and love. 

Mackenzi was listed on the Forbes Media List of 30 under 30 and is currently working with Marvel on various fan-favorite origin stories for TV, including Loki, Gamora, and Nebula. Mackenzi seeks to explore historical fiction to reveal the details of her characters in new ways. She has a fresh, modern take on history that will encourage many young readers to explore a genre they may have otherwise avoided. 

“Perhaps we all said the right things at the wrong time; perhaps we couldn’t help it. Perhaps words became too heavy to haul, and the moment we let them loose was always the wrong one, but they needed to be free.”

Mackenzi Lee, This Monstrous Thing
The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy (Montague Siblings Book 2)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Lee, Mackenzi (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 453 Pages - 10/02/2018 (Publication Date) - Katherine Tegen Books (Publisher)

3. Renee Ahdieh, 1983 –

Renee Ahdieh
Photo of author Renee Ahdieh

Renee Ahdieh is an American-Korean author with book titles on the New York Times and the USA Today bestselling lists. Readers love her stories for their memorable characters and rich visual elements. Renee’s popular novels include Flame in the Mist, The Rose and the Dagger, and The Damned. 

In her novels, Renee creates beautiful stories of love, relationship challenges, forbidden friendships, and dark secrets that can change a person’s life forever. She finds the inspiration for her stories from random conversations she has with people at coffee shops, song lyrics, and the stories she hears about people near and far. 

“I believe the stars align so souls can find one another. Whether they are meant to be souls in love or souls in life remains to be seen.”

Renee Ahdieh, Flame in the Mist
Flame in the Mist
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Ahdieh, Renée (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 413 Pages - 05/16/2017 (Publication Date) - Nancy Paulsen Books (Publisher)

4. Susanna Clarke, 1959 – 

Susanna Clarke
Photo of author Susanna Clarke

Susanna Clarke is an English historical author with many awards under her belt. Her debut novel, Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norell is a Hugo-award-winning book that explores the relationship between two magicians at the turn of the 19th century. Susanna’s other notable titles include Piranesi, The Ladies of Grace Adieu, and many other fantasy and alternate-history short stories. 

Susanna excels at storytelling and historical research; her roles at various publishing agencies likely helped her hone those skills to become an exceptional historical writer. Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell was the Time’s Best Novel of the Year in 2006, one of Susanna’s proudest accomplishments in her career. 

There is nothing in the world so easy to explain as failure – it is, after all, what everybody does all the time.”

Susanna Clarke, Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norell
Piranesi
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Clarke, Susanna (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 246 Pages - 09/15/2020 (Publication Date) - Bloomsbury Publishing (Publisher)

5. Kristin Cashore, 1976 – 

Kristin Cashore
Kristin Cashore at the Texas Book Festival in 2012

Best known for her breakout novel Graceling, Kristin Cashore is a best-selling and award-winning historical romance author from Pennsylvania. Her most recent works include Seasparrow, Jane Unlimited, and Winterkeep. The Graceling realm has bewitched readers with its compelling storytelling, character development, and magical visuals. 

The Graceling series has sold over 1.5 million copies and has been translated into 33 languages. Kristin credits her creativity and curiosity about the world to living across the globe; she’s spent time in London, New York, and many other exciting cities worldwide. Kristin Cashore is untraditional in many ways; she writes her novels by hand before typing them up for the world to read. 

“After that, everything hurt so much that I knew I must be dying. It’s ridiculous, how many times you can you think you’re dying and you’re not. It makes me wonder what dying actually feels like.”

Kristin Cashore, Seasparrow
Graceling: Graceling Realm, Book 1
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Kristin Cashore (Author) - Xanthe Elbrick (Narrator)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 01/10/2023 (Publication Date) - HarperAudio (Publisher)

6. Ted Dekker, 1962 – 

Ted Dekker is an international bestselling author of over 40 romance and fictional novels in the young adult and fiction genres. His books have sold over 15 million copies worldwide. Ted grew up with cannibals in Indonesia, and this unique lifestyle gave him an openness to different cultures and lifestyles. In doing so, his passion for writing was born, and he’s been able to create magical fantasy worlds for his fans to enjoy. 

Ted’s most noteworthy novels include the, And They Found Dragons series, The Dream Traveler’s Quest, and the Millie Maven trilogy. Two of his fiction novels, House and Thr3e, have been made into movies. Ted Dekker’s daughter, Rachelle Dekker, is also an author and has collaborated on many of his novels and short stories. 

“Living is about clucking your tongue and enjoying the sound. -Slater”

Ted Dekker, Thr3e
Sale
The Dream Traveler's Quest (4-Book Collection)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • Scripturo (Publisher)

7. Jennifer A. Nielsen, 1971 – 

Jennifer A. Nielsen
Photo of author Jennifer A. Nielsen speaking

Jennifer A. Nielsen is an American award-winning young adult fiction writer. She grew up in Utah and wrote her first novel at age 11. Her most notable literary works include Mark of the Thief, A Night Divided, and Underworld Chronicles. Since a young age, Nielsen has had a passion for creating wild tales of adventure, romance, good triumphing over evil, and love conquering all. 

From goblins to demons and every mythical creature in between, Nielsen’s fans are enthralled by her novels’ wit, detail, and fantastic imagery that leaves no stone unturned. Her most recent novel, The Warrior’s Curse, redefines what young adult fantasy fiction will look like in the coming years. 

“…have to defeat him and take his magic, just as he has taken it from others.” I shrank beneath his gaze.”

Jennifer A. Nielsen, Mark of the Thief
The Underworld Chronicles: Books 1 - 3
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Nielsen, Jennifer (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 421 Pages - 02/01/2019 (Publication Date) - Sourcebooks Young Readers (Publisher)

8. A.S. Byatt, 1938 – 

A.S. Byatt
A.S. Byatt smiling at the camera

A.S. Byatt is an English critic, novelist, and short story writer and frequently describes being influenced by the likes of Emily Dickinson, T.S. Eliot, and Tennyson. Her most popular historical fantasy novel is Possession, a tale of two young students discovering the relationship between two Victorian poets from centuries earlier. Other popular novels include Babel Tower, The Virgin in the Garden, and A Whistling Woman. 

Throughout her impressive career, A.S. Byatt has suffered the loss of her young son and shares often through lectures and speaking occasions how the grief impacted her writing and how she views the world. In her writing, Byatt strives to combine realism with fantasy inspired by romantic Victorian literature. You may also enjoy these authors like Sylvia Day.

“No mere human can stand in a fire and not be consumed.”

A.S. Byatt, Possession
Babel Tower (Vintage International)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Byatt, A. S. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 641 Pages - 04/18/2012 (Publication Date) - Vintage (Publisher)

9. Heidi Heilig

Heidi Heilig’s debut novel, The Girl From Everywhere, tells the story of a 19th-century Hawaiian girl who is the daughter of a time traveler. This novel launched Heidi’s career, and she’s written many enchanting novels since then. Heidi’s style encapsulates mystery, time travel, paranormal activities, and romance. 

Her other novels, like Muse of Fire and The Ship Beyond Time, embody the same magical storytelling and visual elements. In addition to her novels, Heidi has written the storylines and lyrics for various musicals and shows. Heidi holds an MFA from New York University in musical theatre.

“After all, you can only hold one person tight if you’re holding on with both hands.” – 

Heidi Heilig, The Girl from Everywhere
The Ship Beyond Time (Girl from Everywhere Book 2)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Heilig, Heidi (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 469 Pages - 02/28/2017 (Publication Date) - Greenwillow Books (Publisher)

10. Megan Bannen 

Megan Bannen is an American author of adult and young adult fantasy. Her novel, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy, is set in a world of magic and demigods and explores many unique themes that are original to the fantasy genre. Megan also wrote The Bird and the Blade and Soulswift, two epic tales of fantasy and magic with young romance and adventure sprinkled in. 

Megan finds her best writing when in a pinch; whether avoiding household chores or at her child’s track meet, she can put pen to paper and let her imagination run wild. She finds her best ideas and thoughts come at the most inopportune times, and she must adapt to meet them where they are. You like might also like these authors like Ali Hazelwood and authors like Sasha Byrne.

“I guess you’re still alive, then,” she said flatly. “I am. Try to contain your joy.” –

 Megan Bannen, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy
The Bird and the Blade
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Bannen, Megan (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 418 Pages - 06/05/2018 (Publication Date) - Balzer + Bray (Publisher)

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best Serbian authors!

Author

  • Meet Rachael, the editor at Become a Writer Today. With years of experience in the field, she is passionate about language and dedicated to producing high-quality content that engages and informs readers. When she's not editing or writing, you can find her exploring the great outdoors, finding inspiration for her next project.