10 Best Authors Like Olivia Hayle Who Explore Empires of Passion and Power

Discover our list of authors like Olivia Hayle, who write about strong and powerful alpha males who crumble at the hands of beautiful protagonists.

The romance novel is a genre that has captured the attention of millions of readers worldwide. In this niche, there are many sub-categories, but none perhaps so popular as stories where a debonair and successful man is the goal of a beautiful and deriving woman who knows how to handle such a stallion. Olivia Hayle writes this style of romance novel with seeming ease, to the utter delight of her fans.

Olivia Hayle’s romance novels each share a unique feature that makes them stand out from other books in the same genre. While other romance books may have a leading man who plays the love interest, the leading men in Olivia Hayle’s books are wealthy, handsome, and desired by all women. Only the lucky protagonist in Hayle’s novels is smart enough and beautiful enough to tame these modern-day buccaneers’ wild hearts and minds.

Suppose you’re one of the hundreds of thousands of fans of Olivia Hayle. In that case, you’ll swoon for the best romance authors in our guide.

Best Authors Like Olivia Hayle Ranked

1. Melissa Foster

The Trouble With Whiskey
Book cover of The Trouble With Whiskey

Melissa Foster’s bibliography reads like an epic tome. With 164 books on Goodreads (and counting), Foster is a prolific writer who writes as fast as some people run. Her list of published romance novels includes both standalone and series, so there is something for everyone among her more than 10 million books sold. Her work has appeared on all the bestseller lists that matter, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today. She’s also been named as Amazon’s Author of the Month.

It’s hard to choose just one of Melissa Foster’s books, but one of her most recent and popular novels is The Trouble With Whiskey. After a dare goes wrong, when one of three best friends perishes, the remaining two are left to figure out how their relationship will play out. After watching from afar while the beautiful Billie lives a life that’s not for her, Devlin Whiskey decides to rope in the woman he’s secretly loved (and lusted after) since he was an adolescent.

“Her eyes narrowed, her chest rising with her heavy breaths, brushing against him.”

Melissa Foster, The Trouble With Whiskey
The Trouble with Whiskey: Dare Whiskey (The Whiskeys: Dark Knights at Redemption Ranch Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Foster, Melissa (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 422 Pages - 07/20/2022 (Publication Date) - World Literary Press (Publisher)

2. Crystal Kaswell, 1989 –

Sing Your Heart Out
Book cover of Sing Your Heart Out

Born in Newport Beach, CA, Crystal Kaswell is a screenwriter and novelist. She’s also a big fan of music, a side of her that she expresses in many of her books. Her work includes several series, such as the Inked Heart series, the Sinful Serenade series, and the Dangerous Noise series. She’s also the author of some standalone novels, including Broken.

Crystal Kaswell’s novel, Sing Your Heart Out follows the emotional journey of a tattooed rock star named Sin and a cautious lawyer named Iris. Sin is a renowned vocalist who has battled addiction. At the same time, Iris, a recent law school graduate, is tasked with negotiating his record contract.

A chance encounter leads to an unexpected romance, but Iris’s past experiences make her reluctant to dive headfirst into the chaotic world of rock ‘n’ roll. Amidst the glitz and grime of the music industry, they both discover that love can be as turbulent and captivating as a heartrending melody. If you liked this round-up of romance novels, you might also like our guide on the best erotic novels.

“You’re drowning in something. You don’t have to tell me what it is, but I’m not going to watch without throwing a life vest.”

Crystal Kaswell, Sing Your Heart Out
Sing Your Heart Out (Sinful Serenade)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Kaswell, Crystal (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 346 Pages - 10/05/2015 (Publication Date)

3. Layla Hagen

Falling for the CEO
Book cover of Falling for the CEO

Layla Hagen began her love affair with books when she was just nine years old. Describing herself as a contemporary romance author, Layla Hagen is still as passionate about books, reading, and writing as she was when she was a young girl. As a USA Today bestselling author, Hagen happily writes series novels and standalone books that offer a great way for new readers to get introduced to Hagen’s enigmatic writing style.

Falling for the CEO by Layla Hagen is a single-dad romance novel. The handsome billionaire juggles single-parenthood with running a successful company and finds that he’s losing the battle at home. A new neighbor catches his eye (and his heart), and he soon begins to envision a new future for himself as a family man with Penny as his new wife.

“Suddenly, I keep making up excuses to invite her over.”

Layla Hagen, Falling for the CEO
Falling For The CEO: A Single Dad Romance (The Whitley Brothers)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Hagen, Layla (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 280 Pages - 06/14/2023 (Publication Date)

4. M.S. Parker

Chasing Perfection
Book cover of Chasing Perfection book bundle

M.S. Parker, first name Mary, is a USA Today bestselling author. Life in Las Vegas now, surrounded by her writing materials, is markedly different from her childhood, when she dreamed of becoming a dancer, actor, or author. Her erotic romances have tickled the imaginations of hundreds of thousands of readers who quickly devour Parker’s new releases the instant they become available.

Chasing Perfection, the first in a series by M. S. Parker, is a gripping narrative of an ambitious woman, Devyn, who finds herself working for the charismatic billionaire Kerrick. Kerrick is as alluring as he is intimidating, but Devyn, determined to make a name for herself, refuses to fall into his seductive trap. However, when a scandal from Kerrick’s past surfaces, Devyn is torn between her ambition and her growing feelings for her enigmatic boss. 

“I know what I want and I won’t settle for less. I’m always chasing perfection.”

M. S. Parker, Chasing Perfection
Chasing Perfection (Club Prive: Krissy's story)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Parker, M. S. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 550 Pages - 12/06/2015 (Publication Date) - Belmonte Publishing, LLC (Publisher)

5. Ava Miles

The Chocolate Garden
Book cover of The Chocolate Garden

A world traveler, Ava Miles has immersed herself in many different cultures, including the United States, Ireland, and France. Intensely interested in people, Miles brings a depth of character to her stories that is uncommon in romantic novels. Miles worked for years as a chef, and she still finds time to indulge in her love of cooking in between writing bestselling books.

Ava Miles’ The Chocolate Garden explores the life of chocolatier Tammy Hollins, passionate about creating decadent delights. However, when she uncovers a secret recipe left by her deceased grandmother, she unwittingly embarks on a sweet journey of love and self-discovery. A chance encounter with the charming John Parker brings additional flavor to her life, challenging her beliefs and causing her heart to flutter. In the idyllic setting of her chocolate garden, love, and chocolate blend seamlessly to create a heartwarming tale.

“Dreams are just visions we haven’t experienced yet. Doesn’t make them any less real.”

Ava Miles, The Chocolate Garden
The Chocolate Garden (Dare River Book 2)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Miles, Ava (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 444 Pages - 08/11/2014 (Publication Date) - Ava Miles, Inc. (Publisher)

6. Max Monroe

Tapping the Billionaire
Book cover of Tapping the Billionaire

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Max Monroe is a writing duo of two best friends, Max and Monroe, who found their way onto the page. They’ve written 40 books so far, including several book series’ involving billionaires. Oozing with positivity, this writing team shows no signs of stopping, which is a good thing for their many fans.

In Max Monroe’s Tapping the Billionaire, readers follow the humorous and romantic journey of Kline Brooks, a billionaire with a heart of gold, and Georgia Cummings, a sassy marketing manager. Their professional paths cross, sparking undeniable chemistry both attempt to dismiss. Amidst amusing mishaps, playful banter, and heart-tugging moments, they gradually realize the inevitable – falling for each other.

“My heart in your hands and you in my arms, that’s all I’ll ever need.”

Max Monroe, Tapping the Billionaire
Tapping the Billionaire: Billionaire Bad Boys (#1) (Billionaire Bad Boys Series)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Monroe, Max (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 377 Pages - 04/24/2016 (Publication Date) - Max Monroe LLC (Publisher)

7. Nadia Lee, 1992

The Billionaire's Claim Obsession
Book cover of The Billionaire’s Claim: Obsession

A former management consultant, Nadia Lee, decided to let her hair down and write romance novels for a living. She currently lives in Japan but has traveled the world and lived in four countries. As a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, Lee has accumulated hundreds of thousands of fans who can’t get enough of her steamy novels, including standalone books and series installments.

Nadia Lee’s The Billionaire’s Claim: Obsession is the riveting tale of Elizabeth, a jewelry designer, and Dominic, a billionaire hotelier. After a chance encounter at a charity event, Dominic becomes intrigued by the enigmatic Elizabeth. He decides to pursue her, unbeknownst to her past intertwined with his. As their relationship unfolds, secrets come to the surface, threatening their blooming romance.

“Sudden heat lances through me. I suck in a breath, as though the fresh air could cool the flame.”

Nadia Lee, The Billionaire’s Claim: Obsession
The Billionaire's Claim: Obsession
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Lee, Nadia (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 330 Pages - 04/22/2018 (Publication Date) - Four Isles Press (Publisher)

8. Nicole Snow

Accidental Knight
Book cover of Accidental Knight

A former executive, Nicole Snow, discovered a passion for writing steamy novels in between board meetings and during lunch breaks. Her daydreaming paid off big time when she released her Grizzlies MC series in 2014, and she’s now a USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. Her books are known for their alpha males, suspense, and hot love scenes. So far, she has more than a million books sold, and she’s staying up late to keep readers satisfied with more.

Nicole Snow’s Accidental Knight is a heartstopping story of a woman promised to a man through an archaic will by her grandfather and forced to live under the so-called protection of a handsome and brooding stranger. Eventually, the man finds his way to her heart; an unexpected turn of events that has her doing cartwheels and rollercoaster spins in the best (and worst) way.

“A shield is only as good as the person holding it. That’s the thing about them.”

Nicole Snow, Accidental Knight
Accidental Knight: A Marriage Mistake Romance (Marriage Mistake Series Book 4)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Snow, Nicole (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 394 Pages - 05/27/2019 (Publication Date) - Ice Lips Press (Publisher)

9. Julia Kent

Shopping for a Billionaire
Book cover of Shopping for a Billionaire

With over two million books sold, USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Julia Kent has made a name for herself in the romance book genre. Her work has been translated into three languages besides English, and she’s been a published author only since 2013. In addition to the romance novels she writes under her name, she uses two pen names to differentiate her work in other genres.

Julia Kent’s Shopping for a Billionaire presents Shannon, a mystery shopper, and Declan, the billionaire heir to a large chain of stores. Their worlds collide in a hilarious encounter in a men’s restroom. Declan is captivated by Shannon’s quirkiness and wit, while Shannon, oblivious to Declan’s wealth, is taken in by his charm.

The book is a delightful rom-com filled with humorous misadventures and witty dialogue. You might be interested in exploring romance prompts, check out our round-up of top writing prompts for romance.

“I gasp. I want so much more. The movement pulls my shirt out completely from my waistband and I wiggle, primed for him.”

Julia Kent, Shopping for a Billionaire

No products found.

10. Michelle Heard

The Ocean Between Us
Book cover of The Ocean Between Us

Originally from South Africa, Michelle Heard has bridged the ocean from her homeland to the rest of the world with her romance novels that resonate with so many readers. Her work has earned spots on the Amazon Bestselling romance author list and the bestseller lists of USA Today and the Wall Street Journal. As a former banker, Heard hasn’t looked back since she put down her rubber stamps and picked up her pen.

Michelle Heard’s The Ocean Between Us captures the enchanting love story of Emma, a dedicated nurse, and Aiden, a Navy SEAL. Despite their starkly different lives – Emma’s revolving around the hospital and Aiden’s at sea – fate brings them together. Events test their relationship, pushing them to their limits while unveiling their deepest vulnerabilities. The book explores the power of love against the backdrop of duty and distance.

“How do you return to a cage once you’ve tasted freedom?”

Michelle Heard, The Ocean Between Us
The Ocean Between Us (A Southern Heroes Novel Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Heard, Michelle (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 434 Pages - 09/16/2018 (Publication Date) - MA Heard (Publisher)

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the top romance author best sellers!

Author

  • Kate has been writing since she was 10 years old, tapping away on an old typewriter in her childhood bedroom. Today, Kate is a seasoned freelance writer with over 10 years of experience writing for print and online media. She’s an avid reader and believes in the power of words to transport readers to new worlds, and inspire and nurture creativity. Kate is also a published author and is currently working on her next project.