10 Best Authors Like Robin Hobb to Take You on a Fantastic Journey

Discover our guide to the best authors like Robin Hobb. Their books are must-reads for a fantastical, epic journey through mythical worlds.

Robin Hobb and Megan Lindholm are two pen names for the same author: Margaret Astrid Lindholm Ogden. This fantasy writer is known best for her Realm of the Elderlings Series, written under the Robin Hobb name. This book comprises 16 books divided into five series, including Tawny Man Trilogy, the Rain Wild Chronicles, the Liveship Traders Trilogy, the Farseer Trilogy, and the Fitz the Fool Trilogy. These epic fantasies started with Assassin’s Apprentice in 1995 and ended with Assassin’s Fate in 2017

Lindholm-Ogden was born in 1952 in California, but at age ten, she moved to Fairbanks, Alaska. As her town grew quickly, she disliked urbanization, which encroached on her beloved nature trails. As a child, she had a wolf-dog which eventually became a wolf character in her books. She attempted to study at the University of Denver but dropped out to get married and moved to Hawaii for a while before returning to Kodiak in Alaska. Her husband, Fred Ogden, was a mariner, and she spent a lot of time at sea, which helped her write the Liveship Traders books.

This award-winning writer started writing for children’s magazines but has now mastered flawless writing for all the parts of a book. She eventually switched from children’s writing to writing fantasy stories, and in 1983 published her first novel, Harpy’s Flight, as Megan Lindholm.

Not long after that, she published Wizard of the Pigeons, the precursor of the urban fantasy genre. In 2021, she received the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement for her body of work. If you like her books, consider checking out these authors who also write about the fantasy world.

Best Authors Like Robin Hobb

1. George R. R. Martin, 1948-present

Author George R.R. Martin

George R.R. Martin, who sometimes goes by the acronym GRRM, was born in New Jersey. After his family lost their wealth due to the Great Depression, Martin had to find a way to make money as a young person. As a child, he started writing and selling monster stories to other neighborhood children, which sparked his love for writing. Martin graduated from Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism with a B.S. in Journalism in 1970. At that time, he began selling science fiction short stories.

The writer spent a short time teaching at Clarke University, but in 1977 retired from teaching to write full-time. He has several awards, including Hugo Awards for six works and Locus Awards for several. He is most famous for the A Song of Ice and Fire series of fantasy novels, which started with the 1996 book A Game of Thrones. These books inspired games and the HBO television series of the same name.

“Some old wounds never truly heal, and bleed again at the slightest word.”

George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones
Sale
A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)
  • Used Book in Good Condition
  • Martin, George R. R. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 704 Pages - 05/28/2002 (Publication Date) - Bantam (Publisher)

2. Robert Jordan, 1948-2007

Author Robert Jordan

Robert Jordan is the pen name for author James Oliver Rigney. This epic fantasy writer is best known for The Wheel of Time series, which includes 14 books and a prequel that takes a group of heroes on a quest against enemy soldiers and the undead. The first book, The Eye of the World, was published in 1990. Jordan died in 2007 before he completed the books, but he told his family his plot ideas. Author Brandon Sanderson completed the final three books to finish out the saga. Jordan also wrote some stories in the Conan the Barbarian series.

“I will hate the man you choose because he isn’t me, and love him if he makes you smile.”

Robert Jordan, The Eye of the World
Sale
The Eye of the World: Book One of The Wheel of Time (Wheel of Time, 1)
  • Hardcover Book
  • Jordan, Robert (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 784 Pages - 10/06/2020 (Publication Date) - Tor Books (Publisher)

3. J.R.R. Tolkien, 1892-1973

Author J.R.R. Tolkien

Few names are quite as synonymous with the epic fantasy as J.R.R. Tolkien. It could be said that this early 1900s British author created the genre with The Lord of the Rings trilogy and The Hobbit. These high fantasy books follow the story of Middle-earth and dwarves, hobbits and wizards that go on an epic quest to protect it. The Lord of the Rings, originally published in 1954, is one of the world’s best-selling books, with over 150 million copies sold.

Tolkien was employed as a professor and wrote his fantasy books as a pastime. He developed an Elvish language that he wove into his books. The Lord of the Rings was not originally a trilogy. Still, modern versions have been published in three parts: The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and The Return of the King.

“All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.”

J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings
Sale
The Lord of the Rings 3-Book Paperback Box Set
  • Tolkien, J.R.R. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 1536 Pages - 11/03/2020 (Publication Date) - Clarion Books (Publisher)

4. Terry Goodkind, 1948-2020

Author Terry Goodkind

Terry Goodkind is an American writer known for The Sword of Truth epic fantasy series and the suspense novel, The Law of Nines. With over 26 million copies in 20 languages, The Sword of Truth is a very successful modern series. In 2008, it was adapted into a TV series called Legend of the Seeker. Goodkind was born in Nebraska and did poorly in school due to dyslexia. He turned to writing by publishing his first book, Wizard’s First Rule, in 1994. The series has 12 books; only two have been on the New York Times bestseller list.

“People are stupid. They will believe a lie because they want to believe it’s true, or because they are afraid it might be true.”

Terry Goodkind, Wizard’s First Rule
Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth, Book 1) (Sword of Truth, 1)
  • Goodkind, Terry (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 848 Pages - 07/15/1995 (Publication Date) - Tor Books (Publisher)

5. Patrick Rothfuss, 1973-present

Author Patrick Rothfuss

Patrick Rothfuss was born in Wisconsin and attended Wisconsin University and Washington State University. While in college, he wrote for the campus newspaper and created a popular parody column. In 2002 he won the Writers of the Future for his short story “The Road to Levneshir,” an excerpt from the novel he would later publish called The Wise Man’s Fear. His Kingkiller Chronicle series, starting with The Name of the Wind in 2007 and ending with The Slow Regard of Silent Things in 2014, fits the epic fantasy genre. It also earned him Publisher’s Weekly’s Best Books of the Year accolade and the Quill Award in 2007.

“It’s like everyone tells a story about themselves inside their own head. Always. All the time. That story makes you what you are. We build ourselves out of that story.”

Patrick Rothfuss, The Name of the Wind
Sale
The Name of the Wind
  • Used Book in Good Condition
  • Rothfuss, Patrick (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 736 Pages - 04/01/2008 (Publication Date) - DAW (Publisher)

6. Joe Abercrombie, 1974-present

Author Joe Abercrombie

Best known for his First Law TrilogyJoe Abercrombie is a modern fantasy author originally from England. As a child, Abercrombie went to a boring all-boys school and started drawing maps of mythical places. This eventually led to the creation of his epic The First Law trilogy. He published his first book, The Blade Itself, in 2004. The sequels of they Are Hanged, and Argument of Kings were published in 2007 and 2008. Ambercrombie’s standalone novel, Red Country, was on the New York Times bestseller list in 2012. Books by this new author are known for having an edgy and humorous take on the fantasy novel.

“Once you’ve got a task to do, it’s better to do it than live with the fear of it.”

Joe Abercrombie, The Blade Itself
Blade Itself
  • Hardcover Book
  • English (Publication Language)
  • GARDNERS VI BOOKS AMS006 (Publisher)

7. Guy Gavriel Kay, 1954-present

Author Guy Gavriel Kay

Guy Gavriel Kay is a Canadian fantasy author known for The Fionavar Tapestry. Kay got his start in literature when Christopher Tolkien chose him to edit his late father’s unpublished writings, which became The Silmarillion. After the editing job, Kay studied law at the University of Toronto and started writing for a Canadian radio broadcast. The Summer Treewhich he published in 1984, was his first fantasy and the first book in The Fionavar Tapestry. Since publishing his first book, he has published ten standalone books and The Sarantine Mosaic set of two books.

“We salvage what we can, what truly matters to us, even at the gates of despair.”

Guy Gavriel Kay, The Summer Tree
Sale
The Summer Tree (Fionavar Tapestry)
  • Kay, Guy Gavriel (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 383 Pages - 04/01/2001 (Publication Date) - Ace (Publisher)

8. Tad Williams, 1957-present

Author Tad Williams

Tad Williams is an internationally best-selling author of fantasy novels who is originally from California. Williams writes fantasy and science fiction novels, including the Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn, Otherland, and Shadowmarch series. He also wrote some standalone novels. Before launching his literary career, Williams worked several odd jobs, including food service, DJ work, and newspaper delivery. When Williams wrote his first manuscript, Tailchaser’s Song, the publishers weren’t looking at it. He fabricated a story about needing a copy back because he lost his original. This worked to get them to take a look. The book was published in 1985, launching his successful literary career.

“But our own selves are like pearls, created by layer after layer of present laid over past until the original thing is completely hidden.”

Tad Williams, Tailchaser’s Song
Sale
Tailchaser's Song
  • Williams, Tad (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 400 Pages - 12/01/2000 (Publication Date) - DAW (Publisher)

9. Scott Lynch, 1977-present

Author Scott Lynch

Born in Minnesota, Scott Lynch lived in both Wisconsin and Massachusetts. In 2006 he published The Lies of Locke Lamora, his first novel, followed by Red Seas Under Red Skies a year later. These books with their equals were the Gentleman Bastard Sequence series, an epic fantasy that follows a young professional thief and con artist in a dystopian world. In 2008, Lynch won the British Fantasy Awards for Best Newcomer. Lynch is working on a new anthology, The Book of Magic.

“There’s no freedom quite like the freedom of being constantly underestimated.”

Scott Lynch, The Lies of Locke Lamora
The Lies of Locke Lamora (The Gentleman Bastard Sequence)
  • Used Book in Good Condition
  • Lynch, Scott (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 736 Pages - 06/26/2007 (Publication Date) - Del Rey (Publisher)

10. Brent Weeks

Author Brent Weeks at a speaking event

Born in Montana in 1977, Brent Weeks is one of the younger writers on this list. Before launching his writing career, he attended Hillsdale College, graduating in 2000 with an English degree. He has two complete series, the Night Angel Trilogy, and the Lightbringer Series. The Night Angel Trilogy, published in 2008, has been printed in over 14 languages with a million copies in print, which is quite successful for a relatively new series. His 2012 book The Blinding Knife, the second book in the Lightbringer series, won the Reddit Stabby and Gemmell awards. Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best Danish authors!

“If you are not free to say no, your yes is meaningless.”

Brent Weeks, The Blinding Knife

If you liked this post, you might also be interested in our list of the best Bildungsroman authors.

Sale
The Blinding Knife (Lightbringer, 2)
  • Used Book in Good Condition
  • Weeks, Brent (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 704 Pages - 08/27/2013 (Publication Date) - Orbit (Publisher)

  • Nicole Harms has been writing professionally since 2006. She specializes in education content and real estate writing but enjoys a wide gamut of topics. Her goal is to connect with the reader in an engaging, but informative way. Her work has been featured on USA Today, and she ghostwrites for many high-profile companies. As a former teacher, she is passionate about both research and grammar, giving her clients the quality they demand in today's online marketing world.

Tweet
Pin
Share
Share