14 Best Authors Like Sarah J. Maas: YA Fantasy Romance for Book Lovers

Discover our guide with best authors like Sarah J. Mass, who blend fantasy and fiction to create incredible young adult romances you’ll love from the first page.

In the captivating world of young adult fantasy romance, one author has stolen readers’ hearts worldwide: Sarah J. Mass. As one of the top best-selling YA fiction authors, Sarah J. Maas boasts an active and loyal fanbase.

Through skillful character development, Maas crafts compelling protagonists who are extraordinary yet relatable, drawing readers into their world and engrossed in their journey. The A Court of Thorns and Roses fantasy series is one of Maas’s most popular ya fantasy works, landing her a spot in the New York Times bestseller list. If you’re interested in this topic, you’ll love our round-up of authors like Amanda Quick!

Best Authors Like Sarah J. Maas Ranked

1. Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer Armentrout
Jennifer L. Armentrout is an American contemporary romance author

Step into a paranormal world filled with romance and fantastical beings. With a writing style that seamlessly blends romance, science fiction and fantasy, Armentrout’s novels have captivated readers worldwide. As well as becoming a successful author, Armentrout is committed to building a relationship with her readers by maintaining an active online presence. She often hosts virtual events, offering insights into her writing process and character development.

Some of her most popular works have been published under J. Lynn; one of her most popular series is titled From Blood and Ash. She has developed a significant following on social media to promote her novels and has a strong online fan base.

“Beautiful face. Beautiful body. Horrible attitude. It was the holy trinity of hot boys.”

Jennifer L. ArmentroutObsidian

Check out From Blood and Ash on Amazon; click here.

2. Kiersten White

Kiersten White
Kiersten White is a ya fantasy and fiction writer

Kiersten White is known for her imaginative storytelling, often featuring strong female leads that inspire young women worldwide. Her novels explore themes of empowerment, identity and coming-of-age. With works like the Paranomalcy series and And I Darken trilogy, White has built a loyal and dedicated following.

With creative world-building skills and memorable characters that readers relate to, White’s works are extremely popular in the YA community. She has covered topics ranging from fantasy to historical fiction and is listed among the best historical fiction authors.

“And I’d choose you; in a hundred lifetimes, in a hundred worlds, in any version of reality, I’d find you and I’d choose you.”

Kiersten White, The Chaos of Stars

Check out Mister Magic on Amazon; click here.

3. Susan Ee

Susan Ee
Susan Ee is a former lawyer turned ya fantasy and thriller author

Susan Ee has written several sinister tales that focus on dystopian landscapes. Ee’s novels are exciting, with incredibly complex storylines and intricate details. The book series that put her on the map is Penryn and The End of Days. This thrilling story focuses on a brave heroine who tries to save the world, but the writing is remarkably dark. Many of her works are focused on trauma, war, and the impact of violence.

“It is not the gentle kiss of a couple on a first date, nor is it the kiss of a man driven by simple lust. He kisses me with the desperation of a dying man who believes the magic of eternal life is in this kiss.”

Susan Ee, Angelfall

Check out Angelfall on Amazon; click here.

4. Nalini Singh

Nalini Singh
Nalini Singh is a New Zealand author of paranormal romance

Singh has made a significant mark in the paranormal romance genre with her bestselling YA novels. She has been publishing since the early 2000s, and one of her most popular series is called Guild Hunter.

Singh is best known for creating passionate love stories that tackle themes of racism, classism, and betrayal. Her works include fascinating characters, often humans, angels, and vampires fighting for love and power…(and loot!)

“They didn’t understand that she held his heart, held it so utterly that there was nothing he wouldn’t do, no line he wouldn’t cross to keep her safe.”

Nalini Singh, Archangel’s Kiss 

Check out Archangel’s Resurrection on Amazon; click here.

5. Julie Kagawa

Julie Kagawa
Julie Kagawa is best known for her The Iron Fey Series

Julie Kagawa is a popular fantasy author who has written various books featuring fairies, dragons, and mythological creatures. Many of her works draw from her Japanese roots, and her storytelling is exquisite.

Typically, her stories involve a strong female protagonist struggling to explore an entirely new world. One of her most famous series is The Iron Fey, which showcases her incredible storytelling abilities. If you’re interested in YA fiction, check out our round-up of best JK Rowling books.

“I wished that, for once, faery tales – real faery tales, not Disney fairy tales – would have a happy ending.”

Julie Kagawa, The Iron Queen

Check out The Iron King on Amazon; click here.

6. J. R. Ward

J. R. Ward
J. R. Ward is a pen name for Jessica Rowley Pell Bird Blakemore, used for publishing paranormal romance

J. R. Ward is most recognized for a series called Black Dagger Brotherhood. This thrilling paranormal romance includes vampire warriors competing with one another. So far, Ward has published more than 30 novels, and her work includes love, romance, and passion. Ward has created a dedicated fan base eager to immerse themselves in all of her novels due to her impressive world-building and character writing.

“I was dead until you found me, though I breathed. I was sightless, though I could see. And then you came…and I was awakened.”

J.R. Ward, Lover Awakened

Check out Darius on Amazon; click here.

7. Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon
Diana Gabaldon is best known for her Outlander series

Without including The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, generating a list of the best fantasy works is impossible. This popular series and TV show focuses on a nurse serving in the army during World War II who is suddenly transported back to 1743.

The story unfolds in a time of significant conflict, the Jacobite Risings, and includes many volatile characters. Blending fantasy and historical fiction well, Gabaldon’s novels were turned into a hit TV show. You might be interested in exploring more fantasy books, such as best books by Kristin Hannah.

“I can bear pain myself, he said softly, but I couldna bear yours. That would take more strength than I have.”

Diana Gabaldon, Outlander

Check out Outlander on Amazon; click here.

8. Sabaa Tahir

Sabaa Tahir
Sabaa Tahir is a popular American novelist and New York Times bestselling author

Sabaa Tahir is a new author who has taken the YA fantasy writing world by storm. Her novels’ main themes include romance, brave heroines and betrayal. One of her most successful works is An Ember in the Ashes, which focuses on freedom, rebellion, and war.

“Life is made of so many moments that mean nothing. Then one day, a single moment comes along to define every second that comes after. Such moments are tests of courage, of strength.”

Sabaa Tahir, An Ember in the Ashes

Check out A Sky Beyond the Storm on Amazon; click here.

9. Rae Carson

Rae Carson
Rae Carson is a popular American fantasy writer

Rae Carson is celebrated for her thrilling romantic series Fire and Thorns. Her novels often explore leadership, self-discovery and courage themes, making her a favorite amongst the YA fiction community. Beyond her fantasy world-building techniques, Carson is praised for her character development. Many of her novels feature protagonists who defy traditional gender roles and societal norms, inspiring young women worldwide to fight against oppression.

“I think sometimes when we find love we pretend it away, or ignore it, or tell ourselves we’re imagining it. Because it is the most painful kind of hope there is.”

Rae CarsonThe Bitter Kingdom

Check out The Girl of Fire and Thorns on Amazon; click here.

10. Mary E. Pearson

Mary E. Pearson
Mary E. Pearson is the author of A Room on Lorelei Street, which won the 2006 Golden Kite Award

Mary E. Pearson has a career spanning several decades as a successful fantasy and young adult writer. Her talents for crafting engaging and thought-provoking narratives in her stories have placed her among some of the best YA writers ever.

One of her most popular works is the Remnant Chronicles trilogy, which begins with The Kiss of Deception. The trilogy has intricate world-building, complex and relatable characters and heart-pounding romances.

“It can take years to mold a dream. It takes only a fraction of a second for it to be shattered.”

Mary E. Pearson, The Kiss of Deception

Check out The Remnant Chronicles on Amazon; click here.

11. Sherrilyn Kenyon

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Sherrilyn Kenyon is an American children’s writer and YA fiction author

Sherrilyn Kenyon is a name that is familiar to fans of fantasy works. Her books have sold tens of millions of copies across more than 100 countries, and she has a huge catalog of works to choose from. Her Dark-Hunter series has a mix of supernatural creatures, passionate romances and action-packed plots that keep readers turning page after page.

“Life isn’t finding shelter in the storm. It’s about learning to dance in the rain.”

Sherrilyn KenyonAcheron

Check out The Dark Hunters on Amazon; click here.

12. Kimberly Derting

Kimberly Derting
Kimberly Derting is a popular children’s book and fantasy author

Kimberly Derting’s works often include plenty of magic, conflict, and rebellion. Featuring strong female leads and dangerous villains, her character writing is impeccable, creating a protagonist that you’ll be rooting for from the first page.

Her novel, The Pledge, tells the story of a world where oppressive rulers create class structures. The classes spend time-fighting one another instead of focusing on the rulers who have imposed the situation; this gripping novel is a page-turner that fans of Maas will enjoy.

“The citizens of Ludania would finally be free, no longer forced into a class system that determined what language they could speak, what jobs they could do, or who they could be”

Kimberly Derting, The Pledge

13. Holly Black

Holly Black
Holly Black is a New York Times bestselling YA writer

Holly Black is an American writer best known for her spellbinding young adult fantasy novels. Her most famous novel, The Cruel Prince, is a thrilling fantasy tale that follows the life of twin sisters Jude and Taryn. The twins were kidnapped by their parent’s murderer and raised in the magical world of fairies under the rule of The Cruel Prince. This thrilling tale is renowned in young adult fiction and is a must-read for fantastical drama fans. Check out our guide on authors like Lucy Score.

“Power is much easier to acquire than it is to hold on to.”

Holly Black, The Wicked King

Check out The Cruel Prince on Amazon; click here.

14. Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare
Cassandra Clare is an immensely successful YA author

Casandra Clare is the pen-name of the famous author Judith Lewis. Cassandra’s bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments, is a worldwide phenomenon that follows the life of Clarrisa Fray, who discovers a group of Shadowhunters – mystical beings that protect the world of humans.

The Mortal Instruments series involves a dark fantasy world that intertwines paranormal and supernatural elements with all the excitement of young adult romance. Clare’s incredible world-building and supernatural creativity make for thought-provoking and addictive novels that her fans adore.

“‘There is no pretending,’ Jace said with absolute clarity. ‘I love you, and I will love you until I die, and if there is life after that, I’ll love you then.’”

Cassandra Clare, City of Glass

Check out The Mortal Instruments on Amazon; click here.

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best Agatha Christie books!

FAQs About The Best Authors Like Sarah J Maas

How many books has Sarah J Maas written?

Maas has written 19 books and has published regularly for over a decade. Twelve of these books are included in the Throne of Glass series. 

What is the Sarah J. Maas book series?

Maas has written three series so far, but only one is finished. Her series include Throne of Glass, A Court of Thorns and Roses, and Crescent City.

What should I read if I liked the Throne of Glass series?

Consider reading several books, such as An Ember in the Ashes (by Sabaa Tahir) and the Outlander series (by Diana Gabaldon).

Author

  • Meet Rachael, the editor at Become a Writer Today. With years of experience in the field, she is passionate about language and dedicated to producing high-quality content that engages and informs readers. When she's not editing or writing, you can find her exploring the great outdoors, finding inspiration for her next project.