14 Best Authors Like Sarah J Maas for Fans of Fantasy Novels

If you loved the Throne of Glass series and enjoy fantasy fiction, discover our guide with the best authors like Sarah J Maas to find your next favorite novel.

Most people interested in fantasy novels are familiar with Sarah J. Maas. She is well known for books such as A Court of Thorns and Roses and has published more than a dozen books since 2012. Her stories create intricate fantasy worlds featuring strong female leads and gripping plots, making it hard to put her books down. If you are a fan of her work, keep reading to learn about more authors you will love.

1. Jennifer L. Armentrout

Best Authors Like Sarah J Maas: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Rhododendrites, CC BY-SA 4.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Jennifer L. Armentrout has been publishing since 2011 and has written over 50 books. Her work typically includes paranormal themes, young adult romance, and fantasy novels. Some of her works have been published under the name J. Lynn; one of her most popular series is titled From Blood and Ash. She has developed a significant following on social media to promote her novels and has a strong online fan base.

Sale
From Blood and Ash (Blood And Ash Series)
  • Armentrout, Jennifer L. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 627 Pages - 03/30/2020 (Publication Date) - Blue Box Press (Publisher)

2. Kiersten White

Kiersten White’s work is associated with strong female leads. White has been publishing books since 2010. She has covered topics ranging from fantasy to historical fiction and is listed among the best historical fiction authors. One of White’s most famous works is called The Conqueror’s Saga, which focuses on the Dracula legend, told from a slightly different perspective. Her books tend to include complicated multi-national politics.

Conquerors' Pride (The Conquerors Saga, Book One)
  • Zahn, Timothy (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 416 Pages - 08/01/1994 (Publication Date) - Spectra (Publisher)

3. Susan Ee

Susan Ee has written several scinister tales that focus on dystopian landscapes. Ee’s novels are exciting to read, with incredibly complex storylines and intricate details. The book series that put her on the map is Penryn and The End of Days. It focuses on a brave heroine who tries to save the world, but the writing is remarkably dark. Many of her works are focused on trauma, war, and the impact of violence on people.

Sale
End of Days (Penryn & the End of Days)
  • Ee, Susan (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 331 Pages - 05/12/2015 (Publication Date) - Skyscape (Publisher)

4. Nalini Singh

Nalini Singh is an author whose work Sarah J Maas has mentioned enjoying more than once. Typically, Singh’s work focuses on paranormal romance. She has been publishing since the early 2000s, and one of her most popular series is called Guild Hunter. Her works include humans, angels, and vampires fighting for love, power, and loot. Anyone interested in stories involving multiple races competing with one another will enjoy this author’s work.

Guild Hunter
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Singh, Nalini (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)

5. Julie Kagawa

Julie Kagawa is a famous fantasy author who has written a wide variety of books centred on fairies, dragons, and mythology. Many of her works draw from her Japanese roots, and her storytelling is exquisite. Typically, her stories involve a strong female lead struggling to explore an entirely new world. One of her most famous stories is called The Iron Fey, which is a great place to start if you are a fan of Sarah J Maas.

The Iron Fey
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Kagawa, Julie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)

6. J. R. Ward

J. R. Ward is most recognised for a series called Black Dagger Brotherhood. This thrilling paranormal romance includes vampire warriors competing with one another. So far, Ward has published more than 30 novels, and her work includes love, romance, and passion.

Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Ward, J.R. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 490 Pages - 09/06/2005 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

7. Diana Gabaldon

Best Authors Like Sarah J Maas: Diana Gabaldon
Gage Skidmore from Peoria, AZ, United States of America, CC BY-SA 2.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Without including The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, it is impossible to generate a list of the best fantasy works. This series focuses on a nurse serving in the army during World War II who is suddenly transported back to 1743. The story unfolds in a time of significant conflict, the Jacobite Risings, and includes many volatile characters. The series blends fantasy and historical fiction well and has been made into a hit TV show.

Sale
The Jacobite Rising of 1715 and the Murray Family: Brothers in Arms
  • Hardcover Book
  • Anderson, Rosalind (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 192 Pages - 04/26/2020 (Publication Date) - Pen and Sword History (Publisher)

8. Sabaa Tahir

Sabaa Tahir is a new author with a tremendous amount of potential. Her novels’ main themes include romance, creative fantasy worlds, brave heroines, and gripping plot-lines. One of her most successful works is called An Ember in the Ashes, which focuses on freedom, rebellion, and war.

Sale
An Ember in the Ashes
  • Tahir, Sabaa (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 480 Pages - 02/09/2016 (Publication Date) - Razorbill (Publisher)

9. Rae Carson

Rae Carson is another author whose works are similar to those written by Maas. While some of her works, such as Walk on Earth, a Stranger, take place in the past, there are some exciting crossovers that you might enjoy. The story focuses on a strong female lead who finds herself in a challenging situation. She has to use her instincts to stay alive. Even though it takes place during the factual American Gold Rush, there are still elements of fantasy and romance.

Walk on Earth a Stranger (Gold Seer Trilogy, 1)
  • Carson, Rae (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 464 Pages - 09/06/2016 (Publication Date) - Greenwillow Books (Publisher)

10. Mary E. Pearson

If you are looking for a shorter fantasy book, consider checking out The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson. The first book of this series is around 500 pages long and is an exciting story focusing on assassins, kingdoms, princesses, and epic battles. The character construction in Pearson’s novels is unparalleled, and you will feel like you know the characters personally as friends by the end.

Sale
The Kiss of Deception: The Remnant Chronicles, Book One
  • Hardcover Book
  • Pearson, Mary E. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 496 Pages - 07/08/2014 (Publication Date) - Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) (Publisher)

11. Sherrilyn Kenyon

Best Authors Like Sarah J Maas: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Gage Skidmore, CC BY-SA 3.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Sherrilyn Kenyon is a name that is familiar to fans of fantasy works. Her books have sold tens of millions of copies across more than 100 countries, and she has a huge catalog of works from which to choose. Some of her books are similar to Maas’s, while others are remarkably different. If you are looking for a solid place to start, consider Dark Hunters, one of her most popular series.

The Dark-Hunters, Books 1-3: (Night Pleasures, Night Embrace, Dance with the Devil) (Dark-Hunter Collection Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Kenyon, Sherrilyn (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 1166 Pages - 11/26/2013 (Publication Date) - St. Martin's Paperbacks (Publisher)

12. Kimberly Derting

Kimberly Derting’s works focus on magic, conflict, and resistance groups, where a strong female lead always tries to outsmart dangerous foes. Her novel, The Pledge, tells the story of a world where oppressive rulers create class structures. The classes spend time fighting one another instead of focusing on the rulers who have imposed the situation; this gripping novel is a page-turner that fans of Maas will enjoy.

Sale
The Pledge (The Pledge Trilogy)
  • Hardcover Book
  • Derting, Kimberly (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 336 Pages - 11/15/2011 (Publication Date) - Margaret K. McElderry Books (Publisher)

13. Holly Black

Holly Black is an American writer best known for her spellbinding young adult fantasy novels. Her most famous novel, The Cruel Prince, is a thrilling fantasy tale that follows the life of twin sisters Jude and Taryn, kidnapped by their parent’s murderer and raised in the magical world of fairies under the rule of The Cruel Prince. This thrilling tale is renowned in young adult fiction and is a must-read for fantastical drama fans.

The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 01/01/2018 (Publication Date) - Generic (Publisher)

14. Cassandra Clare

Casandra Clare is the pen-name of the famous author Judith Lewis. Cassandra’s bestselling series The Mortal Instruments is a worldwide phenomenon that follows the life of Clarrisa Fray, who discovers a group of Shadowhunters who are mystical beings that protect the world of humans. This series involves a dark fantasy world that intertwines paranormal and supernatural elements with all the excitement of young adult romance.

Sale
Cassandra Clare Set 7 Books Collection Mortal Instruments Series
  • City of Bones By Cassandra Clare - 1406307629 9781406307627
  • City of Ashes By Cassandra Clare - 1406307637 9781406307634
  • City of Glass By Cassandra Clare - 1406307645 9781406307641
  • City of Fallen Angels By Cassandra Clare - 1406330337 9781406330335
  • City of Lost Souls By Cassandra Clare - 1406337609 9781406337600

FAQs About The Best Authors Like Sarah J Maas

How many books has Sarah J Maas written?

Maas has written 19 books and has been publishing regularly for over a decade. Twelve of these books are included in the Throne of Glass series. 

What is the Sarah J Maas book series?

Maas has written three series so far, but only one is finished. Her series include Throne of Glass, A Court of Thorns and Roses, and Crescent City. 

What should I read if I liked the Throne of Glass series?

Consider reading several books, such as An Ember in the Ashes (by Sabaa Tahir) and The Outlander Series (by Diana Gabaldon).

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best Agatha Christie books!

Join over 15,000 writers today

Get a FREE book of writing prompts and learn how to make more money from your writing.

Powered by ConvertKit