10 Best Authors Like Rina Kent Who Unveil the Shadows of Dark Romance

Discover the works of authors like Rina Kent, who masterfully weave tales of love, obsession, and danger.

Dark romance is a genre that delves into the darker aspects of love. It explores danger, passion, and intrigue themes, often featuring morally ambiguous characters, drama, and obsession. This genre is defined by plots where love is a powerful and dangerous force capable of destruction and salvation.

Rina Kent is an influential author in the world of dark romance. With titles such as Deviant KingBlack Knight, and Twisted Kingdom, she has collected a loyal fan base and widespread acclaim. With this list of authors like Rina Kent, you will discover new worlds of passion and dark desires that will leave you breathless until the very last page.

Best Authors Like Rina Kent Ranked

1. Ana Huang

Ana Huang
Twisted Love book cover image

Ana Huang is a renowned dark romance author who has made her mark in the genre, blending contemporary romance with darker elements to captivate her readers. She has garnered a dedicated following, and her work has been consistently well-received on Amazon and Goodreads. Ana’s knack for crafting complex, multi-layered relationships makes her a go-to author for fans of dark romance.

One of her standout novels is Twisted Love, a hot, forbidden romance that pushes the boundaries of trust and loyalty. In this steamy novel, Huang tells the story of Alex, who is tasked with looking over his best friend’s sister. Far from being her guardian angel, Alex wants to possess her with a steaming passion that he finds harder and harder to control.

“I’m not a ‘fill-in’ anything,” Alex said icily. “Don’t do anything stupid, and we’ll be fine.”

Ana Huang, Twisted Love

2. Sophie Lark

Sophie Lark
Brutal Prince book cover image

Sophie Lark is a gifted dark romance author who has made a name in this twisted and passionate genre. Her work has been praised for its gripping narratives, rich character development, and evocative settings. Sophie has earned a dedicated following on platforms like Goodreads and Amazon. Her books have been lauded for their ability to immerse readers in her characters’ passionate and suspenseful worlds.

One of her standout novels, Brutal Prince, is the first book in the Brutal Birthright series. This dark and enthralling mafia romance follows the story of Callum, a powerful and feared mobster, and his complex relationship with Alda, the woman who unwittingly becomes entangled in his dangerous world. As their lives intersect, Callum struggles to tame the independent Alda. The struggle for dominance between these two characters drives the narrative forward to the breaking point.

“Let your plans be dark and impenetrable as night, and when you move, fall like a thunderbolt.”

Sophie Lark, Brutal Prince

3. Penelope Douglas

Corrupt book cover image

Penelope Douglas is a USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and New York Times bestselling author. Her books have been widely translated, and her fan base grows daily. Douglass is known for her dark and edgy romance novels that take readers on a rollercoaster of emotions. Her unique ability to create flawed, realistic characters and intense relationships has earned her a devoted following and critical acclaim.

In her novel Corrupt, Penelope introduces readers to a world of bad boys and anti-heroes in this dark high school bully romance. The story follows Erika, a young woman who gets entangled with Michael, the leader of a group known as The Four. As the line between love and hate blurs, Erika is drawn into their twisted games and must confront the darkness within herself. Penelope’s masterful storytelling and raw emotion make this book a must-read for those who enjoy dark, passionate romances. If you like Rina Kent, you might also enjoy our round-up of the best Debbie Macomber books.

“The closer you got to anything beautiful, the less beautiful it became. Allure was in the mystery, not the appearance.”

Penelope Douglas, Corrupt

4. L.J. Shen

L.J. Shen
Vicious book cover image

L.J. Shen is a prominent romance author known for her contemporary romance novels with a dark and sensual edge. Her books have appeared on numerous bestseller lists, such as the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and the Washington Post. Shen’s work has been distributed to a whopping 20 countries so far. L.J. is celebrated for her unique ability to weave intricate plots, unforgettable characters, and heart-wrenching emotions into her stories, making her a popular choice for readers seeking an intense and passionate read.

Shen’s novel Vicious explores the complexities of love and obsession. The story follows Emilia, a young woman drawn to her childhood tormentor, Vicious, a wealthy, powerful, and ruthless man. As their paths cross again years later, Emilia discovers that beneath Vicious’s cold exterior lies a wounded soul seeking redemption. L.J. Shen skillfully crafts a tale of passion, revenge, and redemption, making Vicious a must-read for dark, contemporary romance fans.

“Lust is when you want the person to make you feel good. Love is when you want to make the other person feel good.”

L.J. Shen, Vicious

5. Cora Reilly

Cora Reilly
Bound by Honor book cover image

Cora Reilly is an accomplished author known for her dark and gritty mafia romance novels. Her work has been highly praised on Amazon and Goodreads. She has garnered a dedicated following of fans who appreciate her attention to detail and skillful world-building. Cora’s stories delve into the lives of powerful mobsters and the women who dare to love them, exploring themes of power, loyalty, and the boundaries of love.

Bound by Honor, the first book in her Born in Blood Mafia Chronicles series, introduces readers to a world of danger and desire. Aria, the daughter of a mafia boss, is forced into an arranged marriage with Luca, a fearsome and respected mobster. Aria and Luca’s relationship evolves from duty and obligation to an all-consuming passion as they navigate the treacherous world of organized crime. This enthralling story will captivate fans of dark romance and mafia-themed tales.

“When I claim your body I want you writhing beneath me in pleasure and not fear.”

Cora Reilly, Bound by Honor

6. Shantel Tessier

Shantel Tessier
Code of Silence book cover image

Shantel Tessier writes dark and intense romance novels. She’s a Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestselling author with a talent for creating captivating stories with strong, complex characters that keep readers on edge. Her work has been well-received by fans and critics alike, earning her recognition on Amazon and Goodreads as a go-to author for those seeking emotionally charged romances with dangerous elements.

Code of Silence, the first book in her Dark Kingdom series, tells the gripping story of a young woman destined to become a mafia wife. This intense, suspenseful romance expertly combines elements of danger, passion, and intrigue, making it an unforgettable read for fans of dark romance.

“I lied to her. It’s easy to feed someone lies when you know they’re starving.”

Shantel Tessier, Code of Silence

7. S. Massery

S. Massery
Devious Obsession book cover image

S. Massery is an up-and-coming romance author known for her twisted stories and morally-deficient characters. Her writing has been praised for its emotional intensity. Hailing from Massachusetts, this young writer is already making a splash in dark romance.

In her dark bully novel Devious Obsession, S. Massey introduces readers to the world of dysfunctional love. The triggering tale weaves the worst character traits through a storyline that promises not to disappoint fans of the darkest romance stories.

“Getting high is a summer luxury. During the school year? Absolutely not.”

S. Massery, Devious Obsession

8. Meghan March

Meghan March
Book cover of Deal with the Devil

An ex-corporate lawyer, Meghan March is an unusual dark romance author. Her novels have landed on bestseller lists such as USA Today, the New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal. March’s ability to create intricate plotlines and multifaceted characters has made her a popular choice for readers seeking a thrilling and passionate read.

In one of her popular books, Deal with the Devil, Meghan introduces readers to the dangerous world of power, secrets, and desire. The story follows a woman who has become the unwilling target of Jericho Forge, a ruthless and enigmatic man who will stop at nothing to get what he wants. Jericho finds her carnal instincts can’t be controlled as their paths collide. The two become entangled in a steamy and risky love affair.

“It’s like someone unleashed the Kraken,” I whisper as he moves toward me, his dick bouncing from side to side with each step.”

Meghan March, Deal with the Devil

9. S.L. Scott

S. Massery
Best I Ever Had book cover image

S.L. Scott is a prolific romance author known for her dark and emotional love stories. Her work has received critical acclaim and well-received by readers on Goodreads and Amazon, as evidenced by many of her books appearing on the New York Times and USA Today bestselling books lists. S.L. Scott’s knack for crafting compelling narratives and unforgettable characters keeps readers returning for more.

Her novel Best I Ever Had is a standalone book that is part alluring and part forbidden. With a past that won’t let go and a man named Cooper who refuses to loosen his grip, the protagonist cannot help but sink into a love affair that satisfies her deepest, aching needs. This dark, thrilling romance explores the depths of love and the lengths one will go to protect it, even when it hurts so good. This suspenseful tale will captivate fans of intense, dark romance stories.

“I don’t deserve you, but my soul is tied to yours. You’re my savior, and I’m your curse. This is what we are together. Each other’s destiny.”

S.L. Scott, Best I Ever Had

10. Jeannine Colette

Meghan March
Naughty Neighbor book cover image

Jeannine Colette enjoys injecting humor into her dark romance books like many other dark romance authors. Her standalone books have earned her a broad fan base, who eat up her books like candy on a pillow. Colette’s background as a producer at not one but two major television networks is also unusual for dark romance writers. Still, her desire to spend more time at home with her children has turned into a very successful career writing in the dark romance genre.

In her neighbors to lovers book Naughty Neighbor, Colette tells the tale of a seemingly innocent romance writer who falls into the clasps of her irresistible new neighbor. His sultry looks compel her into his bed, where she experiences the sensations that play out on the pages of her next novel. This unique romance questions what it means to be a good neighbor. You might also be interested in our list of authors like Tessa Dare.

“Why do you deny this feeling?” His lips nip the lobe of my ear.

Jeannine Colette, Naughty Neighbor

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best authors like HP Lovecraft!

Join over 15,000 writers today

Get a FREE book of writing prompts and learn how to make more money from your writing.

Powered by ConvertKit

Author

  • Kate has been writing since she was 10 years old, tapping away on an old typewriter in her childhood bedroom. Today, Kate is a seasoned freelance writer with over 10 years of experience writing for print and online media. She’s an avid reader and believes in the power of words to transport readers to new worlds, and inspire and nurture creativity. Kate is also a published author and is currently working on her next project.