18 Best Authors Like Susan Elizabeth Phillips Who Will Keep You Turning the Pages

Discover our list of heartwarming romance and laugh-out-loud humor with these authors like Susan Elizabeth Phillips’s irresistible charm and wit.

Romantic comedies have long been a staple in literature, offering readers a delightful escape into enchanting tales of love, laughter, and happily-ever-afters. These stories expertly blend humor and romance, allowing readers to fall in love with the characters and the author’s unique voice. The appeal of the rom-com genre is in its ability to elicit a wide range of emotions, and these authors succeed in delivering.

Award-winning author Susan Elizabeth Phillips has truly mastered the art of the romantic comedy novel. Her most popular titles include It Had to Be You, Match Me If You Can, and Natural Born Charmer. This list of authors like Catherine Cookson and Susan Elizabeth Phillips will introduce you to more talented writers who share her irresistible charm, ensuring your love affair with rom-com literature continues to flourish.

Best Authors Like Susan Elizabeth Phillips

1. Julie James, 1974 –

Julie James
Book cover of The Thing About Love

Chicago native Julie James was a practicing attorney before turning her passion for writing into a full-time career. Interestingly, while clerking for the U.S. Court of Appeals, she was a professional writer, having sold two of her screenplays as options to producers in Hollywood. After the second screenplay was optioned, James opted to quit law and pursue a writing career.

Her gamble paid off, and several of James’ books, including The Thing About Love, have appeared on bestselling lists such as Booklist’s Top 10 Romance of the Year, the American Library Association’s Reading List for Top Genre Novels, and others.

“So she cracked open the case file and settled in at the table with her glass of screw-it-I’m-officially-a-divorcée-wine as she began to take notes.”

Julie James, The Thing About Love
The Thing About Love
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • James, Julie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 380 Pages - 04/18/2017 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

2. Rachel Gibson, 1961 –

Rachel Gibson
Simply Irresistible book cover image

American author Rachel Gibson is known for her witty contemporary romance novels that feature quirky characters who exist in what can only be described as quirky settings. Her engaging characters and writing style quickly propelled her to the New York Times bestseller list, the USA Today bestseller list, and many others. 

One of Gibson’s most beloved novels is Simply Irresistible, the first book in her Chinooks Hockey Team series. The story revolves around Georgeanne Howard, who flees her wedding and finds herself sharing a ride with hockey star John Kowalsky. Their one-night stand leads to unexpected consequences, and seven years later, they meet again under very different circumstances.

“He must have had one hell of a good time last night. He just wished he could remember.”

Rachel Gibson, Simply Irresistible
Simply Irresistible (Chinooks Hockey Team Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Gibson, Rachel (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 324 Pages - 03/20/2012 (Publication Date) - Avon (Publisher)

3. Lisa Kleypas, 1964 –

Lisa Kleypas
Dream Lake book cover image

Hailing from Temple, TX, Lisa Kleypas was a Miss America pageant contestant in Atlantic City in 1986. The bestselling author of contemporary romance books and historical romance novels, Keyplas began her foray into writing during her years attending Wellesley College. Just two months later, Kleypas successfully sold her first book at the age of 21.

Dream Lake is set in the fictional town of Friday Harbor and tells the story of a woman innkeeper who has decided that love has passed her by. Enter Alex Nolan, who has not only given up on love but also decided he doesn’t believe in love. This book distinguishes between romance and fantasy with a supernatural twist that delights readers.

“The ghost wasn’t certain how long he had been at the house.”

Lisa Kleypas, Dream Lake
Dream Lake: A Friday Harbor Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Kleypas, Lisa (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 385 Pages - 08/07/2012 (Publication Date) - St. Martin's Griffin (Publisher)

4. Jennifer Crusie, 1949 –

Jennifer Crusie
Bet Me book cover image

Jennifer Crusie is the pen name of Jennifer Smith, who has made a name for herself with her engaging and witty contemporary romance stories. Crusie’s accolades include winning the esteemed Rita Award from the Romance Writers of America for her novel Bet Me. She also won the same award for her book, Getting Rid of Bradley

Bet Me is a romantic comedy about Minerva Dobbs, who encounters notorious heartbreaker Calvin Morrisey after being dumped by her boyfriend. The two make a bet that sets the stage for a humorous and heartwarming love story.

“Once upon a time, Minerva Dobbs thought as she stood in the middle of a loud yuppie bar, the world was full of good men.”

Jennifer Crusie, Bet Me
Bet Me
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Crusie, Jennifer (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 432 Pages - 04/01/2007 (Publication Date) - St. Martin's Press (Publisher)

5. Kristen Proby, 1974 – 

Kristen Proby
Forever With Me book cover image

Kristen Proby is a successful author with a diverse background who has published over 40 novels. Before her prolific writing career, Proby worked as a professional photographer, a massage therapist, a medical biller, and even a registrar in a hospital emergency room. Proby eventually found her passion as a contemporary romance author and has been featured on the USA Today and New York Times bestseller lists.

Forever with Me, a part of Proby’s popular With Me in Seattle series, is a fan favorite. This heartwarming love story follows Dominic Salvatore, a successful winemaker, and Alecia Holden, a wedding planner, as they navigate their undeniable chemistry and emotional connection.

“I can hear Italy in his voice. His body is tight with yearning, but he’s holding himself steady, waiting for my decision. Every muscle is pulled tight. He’s trembling.”

Kristen Proby, Forever with Me
Forever With Me: A Forced Proximity, Grumpy/Sunshine Romance (With Me In Seattle Book 8)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Proby, Kristen (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 262 Pages - 12/02/2014 (Publication Date) - Ampersand Publishing, Inc. (Publisher)

6. Susan Andersen, 1950 –

Susan Andersen
The Ballad of Hattie Taylor book cover image

A Seattle native, at the age of 30, Susan Andersen finally felt that she had enough of life under her belt to write a book that others might enjoy. Her intuition was correct; at 39, HarperCollins published her first book, Shadow Dance. Since that first success, Andersen’s work has found its way onto the New York Times bestseller list on more than one occasion.

One of Andersen’s more recent books, The Ballad of Hattie Taylor, has already racked up many positive reviews. The story is a romance in a Western setting in turn-of-the-century Oregon, where a young woman named Hattie must fight for her feminine rights without somehow losing out on something she also holds of value, the love of Jake Andersen.

“Keep your sonovabitchin’ hands to yourself, mister,” a young and irate voice instructed him. The man lunged again, his upper torso momentarily disappearing into the car’s doorway. He reappeared with a wild-haired, wild-eyed, spitting, struggling moppet in his grasp.”

Susan Andersen, The Ballad of Hattie Taylor
The Ballad of Hattie Taylor
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Andersen, Susan (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 398 Pages - 01/05/2021 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

7. Denise Grover Swank, 1972 –

Denise Grover Swank
One Paris Summer book cover image

Born in Kansas City, MO, and widely traveled, Grover Swank finally returned to her roots and lived happily near her hometown with her family. Her extensive world experiences have helped to color the characters in her books, which have appeared numerous times on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists. Swank’s stories run from urban fantasy to young adult, romantic suspense, mystery, and straight romance.

One Paris Summer, a captivating novel by Swank, follows the story of Sophie Brooks, a young woman sent to Paris to spend the summer with her estranged father. Throughout her stay, Sophie bonds with a charming and talented young man named Mathieu. The novel’s detailed descriptions of Parisian life and the characters’ emotional journeys make it a memorable and enchanting read.

“Sometimes the hardest person to forgive is ourselves.”

Denise Grover Swank, One Paris Summer
One Paris Summer
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Swank, Denise Grover (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 346 Pages - 06/07/2016 (Publication Date) - Blink (Publisher)

8. Susan Hatler, 1986 –

Susan Hatler
The Second Chance Inn book cover image

Growing up around farm animals without living on a farm, Susan Hatler’s childhood included lots of writing. Since elementary school, she’s written poetry, stories, and journal entries about her life. After a series of actual jobs with paychecks, Hatler decided to try her hand at full-time writing, and it panned out well for the USA Today and New York Times bestselling author. 

In her novel, The Second Chance Inn, Landis takes readers on a journey to the small town of Blue Moon Bay, where Wendy has bad memories of being abandoned as a baby. But love blossoms in the most unexpected places, and Wendy quickly finds many opportunities to make new memories with a handsome millionaire named Max.

“He was hot -smoking hot and he started walking toward me.”

Susan Hatler, The Second Chance Inn
The Second Chance Inn: A Sweet Small Town Romance (Blue Moon Bay Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Hatler, Susan (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 208 Pages - 09/03/2015 (Publication Date) - Hatco Publishing (Publisher)

9. Christina Lauren

Christina Lauren
Lauren Billings and Christina Hobbs at the New Romance Festival in Paris

The dynamic writing duo Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings, known collectively as Christina Lauren, have captured readers’ hearts with their emotionally charged and steamy novels. Both authors started as fan fiction writers online before joining forces to create unforgettable love stories that landed them on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists.

Their novel Beautiful Bastard follows the intense relationship between Chloe Mills, a hardworking intern, and Bennett Ryan, her demanding and arrogant boss. As the two navigate their undeniable attraction, they face challenges that test their boundaries.

“You realize early in life that beauty is only skin-deep, and ugly goes straight to the bone.”

Christina Lauren, Beautiful Bastard
Beautiful Bastard (The Beautiful Series Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Lauren, Christina (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 318 Pages - 02/12/2013 (Publication Date) - Gallery Books (Publisher)

10. Meghan Quinn, 1982 –

Meghan Quinn
Right Man, Right Time book cover image

Witty humor, relatable characters, and emotional depth characterize Meghan Quinn’s work. Quinn’s stories often focus on the importance of friendship and the power of love, making them resonate with readers worldwide. Her books consistently land at the top of Amazon’s and USA Today bestseller lists. Right Man, Right Time, one of Quinn’s new book bestsellers, is a steamy, standalone novel about an age-gapped couple who engage in a raucous and humorous tug and pull before falling hopelessly, madly in love. 

“Did you just try to use some alpha-hero voice on me?”

Meghan Quinn, Right Man, Right Time
Right Man, Right Time
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Quinn, Meghan (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 442 Pages - 03/07/2023 (Publication Date) - Hot-Lanta Publishing LLC (Publisher)

11. Kathleen E. Woodiwiss, 1939 – 2007

Kathleen E. Woodiwiss
Black and white photo of Kathleen Woodiwiss outside

A pioneer in the historical romance genre, Kathleen E. Woodiwiss’s work is known for its rich storytelling, vivid settings, and complex characters. She began her prolific career in the late 1960s and paved the way for future historical romance writers.

The Flame and the Flower, Woodiwiss’s debut novel, tells the captivating story of Heather Simmons and Captain Brandon Birmingham. Set in 18th-century England, this sweeping romance follows the couple’s tumultuous relationship as they overcome adversity, betrayal, and societal expectations.

“The clothes he wore bespoke of elegant taste, but his mincing manner did little to enhance a masculine mien.”

Kathleen E. Woodiwiss, The Flame and the Flower
The Flame and the Flower (Birmingham Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Woodiwiss, Kathleen E. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 512 Pages - 03/17/2009 (Publication Date) - HarperCollins e-books (Publisher)

12. Taylor Jenkins Reid, 1983 –

Taylor Jenkins Reid
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo book cover image

Before launching her writing career, Taylor Jenkins Reid worked in the entertainment industry as a casting agent, an experience that often influences her novels. Reid’s work is known for its thought-provoking themes, authentic characters, and engaging narrative style. Her novels have garnered critical acclaim and have appeared on the New York Times bestseller list.

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, Reid’s critically acclaimed novel, follows the life of a reclusive Hollywood icon as she recounts her tumultuous and glamorous life to a young journalist. The novel explores themes of love, ambition, and the price of fame, showcasing Reid’s talent for creating emotionally resonant stories. You might also be interested in our list of authors like Taylor Jenkins-Reid.

“You have to find a job that makes your heart feel big instead of one that makes it feel small.”

Taylor Jenkins Reid, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo: A Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Reid, Taylor Jenkins (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 398 Pages - 06/13/2017 (Publication Date) - Washington Square Press (Publisher)

13. Nicole Ellis, 1968 –

Nicole Ellis
The Inn at Walla Bay book cover image

After a lackluster career as a tax accountant, Nicole Ellis of Washington State finally unleashed her inner author to write over a dozen cozy mysteries and sweet romance novels. Her unbridled interest in creating stories with fanciful backdrops in the Pacific Northwest has made her a fan favorite. She is beloved for writing about charming towns, friendly faces, and characters with big hearts.

In her novel The Inn at Willa Bay, Ellis tells the stories of several women. Meg is a woman who has returned to her hometown to care for her ill mother. After a surprising recovery, Meg contemplates a return to her life as a successful chef in the big city. There’s Cassie, struggling as a single mother to make ends meet; Zoe, whose life is in shambles after she’s passed up for a well-earned promotion; and several more likable characters. 

“It’s gorgeous,” the bride-to-be said breathily as she spun around in slow circles. This is like being in a secret garden.”

Nicole Ellis, The Inn at Walla Bay
The Inn at Willa Bay: A Willa Bay Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Ellis, Nicole (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 250 Pages - 03/09/2020 (Publication Date) - Leaping Rabbit Press (Publisher)

14. Maggie Osborne, 1941 –

Maggie Osborne
Silver Lining book cover image

Maggie Osborne, a versatile writer with a talent for historical romance, is known for her strong heroines and vivid storytelling. Osborne has been praised for her ability to create intricate plots and richly detailed settings, transporting readers to different times and places with her words. She is a former President of Romance Writers of America.

Silver Lining, one of Osborne’s most celebrated novels, follows the story of Low Down, a tough and resourceful woman who embarks on a journey. Along the way, she meets Max McCord, a man haunted by his past. Their relationship deepens as they venture through the rugged landscape of the Old West. Osborne’s immersive storytelling and unforgettable characters make Silver Lining a compelling and timeless read.

“A long sigh of resignation skittered down the mountainside like an ill wind.”

Maggie Osborne, Silver Lining
Silver Lining: A Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Osborne, Maggie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 353 Pages - 02/04/2009 (Publication Date) - Ivy Books (Publisher)

15. Katherine Allred, 1963 –

Katherine Allred
The Sweet Gum Tree book cover image

Born in Arkansas, Katherine Allred is a member of Romance Writers of America. Very much a family person, Allred studied journalism in college before embarking on her prolific writing career that spans over 18 years. Allred’s stories are known for their well-developed characters, engaging plots, and emotional depth.

The Sweet Gum Tree tells the story of Alix French and Nick Anderson, childhood friends reunited years after life has taken them on different paths. As they navigate their newfound connection and the secrets of their past, Allred takes readers on an emotional journey filled with love, heartache, and redemption. Her evocative writing makes The Sweet Gum Tree a poignant and unforgettable read.

“As with most small town southerners, respectability was as much a part of my DNA as was my hair and eye color.”

Katherine Allred, The Sweet Gum Tree
The Sweet Gum Tree
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Allred, Katherine (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 318 Pages - 07/24/2017 (Publication Date)

16. Natasha Anders, 1983 –

Natasha Anders
The Unwanted Wife book cover image

Natasha Anders made a splash with her first book and has become a finalist for the esteemed Romance Writers of America RITA Award. Living and writing in her native Cape Town, South Africa, Anders no doubt draws upon her nine years of experience in Japan working as an associate teacher of English.

In her debut novel, The Unwanted Wife, Anders tells the heartbreaking story of Theresa and Sandro, a married couple on the verge of divorce. Before her cold and uncaring husband consents to the divorce, he demands that Theresa give him a son.

“With those five words, he killed the afterglow, destroyed the intimacy of the moment, and relegated the act into nothing more than a biological imperative.”

Natasha Anders, The Unwanted Wife
The Unwanted Wife
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Anders, Natasha (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 247 Pages - 03/25/2014 (Publication Date) - Montlake Romance (Publisher)

17. Nicole Jacquelyn, 1972 –

Nicole Jacquelyn
Craving Constellations book cover image

Nicole Jacquelyn turned her early passion for writing into a career after college graduation. She has a broad fan base that eagerly awaits every new installment of Jacquelyn’s many book series. Craving Constellations, the first book in Jacquelyn’s popular Aces series, tells the story of Brenna and Dragon, two people with troubled pasts who attempt to find solace with each other. Jam-packed with graphic sex scenes and adult themes, this is a heavy-hitting story for adults only.

Looking for more? Check out these authors like Tom Robbins.

“My husband strangely never asked to meet my pop.”

Nicole Jacquelyn, Craving Constellations
Craving Constellations (The Aces Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Jacquelyn, Nicole (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 305 Pages - 08/27/2013 (Publication Date)

18. Mary Jo Putney, 1987 –

Mary Jo Putney
The Diabolical Baron book cover image

Born and raised in New York, Mary Jo Putney enjoyed a successful career as a designer. Putney became a professional writer when her first completed manuscript earned her a three-book contract with Signet Publishing company.

Her debut novel, The Diabolical Baron, has stood the test of time and is still popular today. Putney’s books have consistently ranked on bestseller lists like Publishers Weekly, USA Today and the New York Times. She often writes under the pen name of M.J. Putney. You might also be interested in our list of authors like Sophie Kinsella.

“Jason’s mouth crooked cynically. “I’m sure any young lady will find it easy to fall in love with my title and fortune even if my person fails to please.”

Mary Jo Putney, The Diabolical Baron
The Diabolical Baron: A Putney Classic Romance (Putney Classic Romances Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Putney, Mary Jo (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 300 Pages - 06/17/2020 (Publication Date)

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best authors like Eloisa James!

Author

  • Kate has been writing since she was 10 years old, tapping away on an old typewriter in her childhood bedroom. Today, Kate is a seasoned freelance writer with over 10 years of experience writing for print and online media. She’s an avid reader and believes in the power of words to transport readers to new worlds, and inspire and nurture creativity. Kate is also a published author and is currently working on her next project.