15 Must-Read Authors Like Eloisa James Who Capture the Magic of Historical Romance Novels

Are you looking for authors like Eloisa James? Check out other authors who write emotional and heart-touching historical romance novels through our guide.

Eloisa James is the pen name of Mary Bly, a tenured professor at Fordham University teaching William Shakespeare. So it’s not surprising that her novels resonate with Shakespearean writing, including her The Taming of the Duke, published in 2006, a classic story of seduction and sisterhood. James has over 30 historical romance novels translated into 28 languages, with approximately 7 million copies in print. Out of 30, she has 12 New York Times and 16 USA Today bestsellers. 

James incorporates her fears and experiences in her writing. For instance, her Fool for Love drew inspiration from her daughter’s early life, and the story of miscarriage in Midnight Pleasures echoes her fears during pregnancy. Her other prominent works are When Beauty Tamed the Beast and her bestselling memoir Paris in Love.

Are you thinking of publishing your book yourself? See our list of famous authors who self-published their works to get inspired.

Best Authors Like Eloisa James Ranked

1. Elizabeth Hoyt, 1970 – Present

Elizabeth Hoyt
A photo of Elizabeth Hoyt at a book signing event in Chicago, 2013

Elizabeth Hoyt wrote over 27 novels and debuted with The Raven Prince in 2006, the first of her The Princes trilogy. From then on, she pursued full-time writing and became one of the best historical romance authors, entering the New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestselling lists. 

Hoyt also received the RT Reviewers Choice Award and All About Romance Readers Award. Her work on Wicked Intentions features a woman who lives with her past and a man controlled by his worldly desires. From here, you’ll see how Hoyt’s love for writing romance stories manifests in her novels. 

“Every word you have uttered is engraved upon my heart.”

Elizabeth Hoyt, Wicked Intentions
Wicked Intentions (Maiden Lane Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Hoyt, Elizabeth (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 401 Pages - 07/17/2010 (Publication Date) - Grand Central Publishing (Publisher)

2. Lisa Kleypas, 1964 – Present

Right after college, at age 21, Lisa Kleypas published her first novel, Where Passion Leads. In 2003, her Where’s My Hero and Worth Any Price were among the Amazon Editor’s Top Ten Picks for Best Romance

After these, her novels were all over the New York Times bestselling list, won the RITA Awards for Best Historical Romance, and became Hallmark Hall of Fame movie basis. In 2016, she released her new series, The Ravenels, about a widow and a high-ranking man’s erotic seduction. 

“But I hope to love them someday. Sometimes one must love something before it becomes lovable.”

Lisa Kleypas, Cold-Hearted Rake: The Ravenels
Cold-Hearted Rake: The Ravenels, Book 1
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Kleypas, Lisa (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 419 Pages - 10/27/2015 (Publication Date) - Avon (Publisher)

3. Julia Quinn, 1970 – Present

Julia Quinn
A photo of Julia Quinn, 2008

Julia Quinn received three RITA Awards, recognizing her outstanding contribution to the literary and historical romance genre. Among the 16 members, Quinn is the 13th in Romance Writers of America’s Hall of Fame. She also appeared in USA Today and TIME Magazine. She has 18 books on the New York Times bestselling list, and her books have been translated into 26 languages. 

Quinn is famous for her Bridgerton series. The second book, The Viscount Who Loved Me, showcases Quinn’s skills in telling love stories with charming yet powerful turns of events. Shondaland also adapted the series for an original Netflix Series. 

“And in that moment, she knew she loved him. With every thought, every emotion, every piece of her being, she loved him.”

Julia Quinn, The Viscount Who Loved Me
The Viscount Who Loved Me: Bridgerton (Bridgertons Book 2)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Quinn, Julia (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 455 Pages - 04/28/2015 (Publication Date) - Avon (Publisher)

4. Lorraine Heath, No data

Lorraine Heath writes with her two pseudonyms – Rachel Hawthorne and Jade Parker. She’s authored over 60 novels of historical and contemporary romances and appeared in New York Times and USA Today bestsellers lists.

She finished her first novel, Sweet Lullaby, in 1993. Her lovable characters and unique interpretation of human emotions in this book garnered her loyal readers. Another impactful work from Heath is Texas Glory from her Texas Trilogy. It tells the story of a girl prisoner who was traded for land and water rights and how she found a man with a pure heart and fell in love.

“Sometimes having the dream makes you more content than having the reality.”

Lorraine Heath, In Bed with the Devil
In Bed With the Devil (Scoundrels of St. James Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Heath, Lorraine (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 383 Pages - 10/06/2009 (Publication Date) - HarperCollins e-books (Publisher)

5. Susan Elizabeth Phillips, 1944 – Present

Suzan Elizabeth Phillips
A publicity photo of Susan Elizabeth Phillips, 2012

Susan Elizabeth Phillips is an American historical and contemporary romance novel writer known as the Queen of Romantic Comedy. She’s the lone author who won five times in Romance Writers of America’s Favorite Book of the Year. 

In an interview, Eloisa James listed Susan Phillips’ It Had To Be You as her top choice of other writers’ romance novels. James described Phillips’ writings as ‘brilliant, utterly witty dialogue.’ The book is about two stubborn people playing a tug of war with their hearts. 

“See, there you go being antagonistic. Marriage means learning to compromise.”

Susan Elizabeth Phillips, It Had To Be You
It Had To Be You (Chicago Stars, 1)
  • Phillips, Susan Elizabeth (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 400 Pages - 06/24/2008 (Publication Date) - William Morrow Paperbacks (Publisher)

6. Mary Balogh, 1944 – Present

Mary Balogh is a retired teacher and novelist with over 100 books in print. Her first novel, A Masked Deception, was published in 1983 and received the Romantic Times Award for Regency Best New Writer.   

Her New York Times bestselling series, Bedwyn Saga, debuted with Slightly Married. It’s a compilation of stories about seduction, passion, temptation, privilege, and love. Be surprised by how Balogh plays with her characters as she lets her readers feel what genuine love truly is. 

“I have read somewhere that we often spend a lifetime searching for what we already have.”

Mary Balogh, Slightly Married
Slightly Married (Bedwyn Saga Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Balogh, Mary (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 368 Pages - 04/01/2003 (Publication Date) - Dell (Publisher)

7. Anne Gracie, 1955 – Present

Anne Gracie incorporates real-life lessons in her novels, including her award-winning series Marriage of Convenience and Chances Sisters series. Her works have been translated into 16 languages and a Japanese manga version. 

The Perfect Rake, the Merridew series’ first book, tells how fate can bind two different hearts at a perfect time. Gracie’s sweet, passionate, emotional, and heart-stopping storytelling engages her audiences in reading her historical romance novels.

“Even when no one loves you, there is always someone to love, someone who needs to be loved. Always.”

Anne Gracie, The Perfect Rake

8. Sarah MacLean, 1978 – Present

Sarah Maclean
A photo of Sarah Maclean at the Romance Writers Conference, 2015

Aside from being a bestselling author, Sarah Maclean is a columnist for the New York Times and the Washington Post. She won the RITA Award for Best Historical Romance writer in 2013 and 2014.

Her novels have now been translated into over 20 languages, including her Love By Numbers series. Book one, Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake, features a lady looking for a partner willing to break the rules. 

“Kisses should not leave you satisfied. They should leave you wanting.” 

Sarah Maclean, Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake

9. Nora Roberts, 1950 – Present

Nora Roberts
A photo of Nora Roberts, 2007

Nora Roberts authored over 200 romantic novels and sold over 300 million copies worldwide. She works on different genres, such as romantic thrillers, science fiction, suspense thrillers, and history and contemporary romances. One of her famous romance novels, Tears of the Moon, tells the story of a songwriter and how he searches for what it means to be content in life.

“It’s left to us still living to miss those who aren’t.”

Nora Roberts, Tear of the Moon

10. Shane Galen, 1972 – Present

Shane Galen is one of the pen names of Shane Bolks, a famous historical romance novelist. Her experiences as a secondary teacher gave her three tickets to the RITA Award and a unique perspective in writing bestselling books.

Her Lord and Lady Spy is one of her most famous works, featuring an intelligent gentleman outsmarted by a tactical lady. This book highlights Galen’s skills in interpreting emotions and unraveling her characters’ past in pursuit of their passion for life. Spy Wore Blue and True Spies followed this book.

“His feet were already bloody and numb from the walk here – but she was a woman, and he still believed in chivalry.”

Shane Galen, True Spies

11. Victoria Alexander, 1950 – Present

Victoria Alexander first worked as a United States television reporter before she started writing historical romance and fiction novels. She was labeled a Historical Storyteller in 2009 and received numerous awards. 

The Princess and The Pea is an elegant story of a true American Princess who’s bound to inherit an empire but is caught up in a love potion spell. Her other well-known books are Seduction of a Proper Gentleman and The Perfect Mistress. 

“When a man finds the one woman who is right, it scarcely matters what else is wrong.”

Victoria Alexander, Seduction of a Proper Gentleman

12. Tessa Dare

Tessa Dare
A photo of Tessa Dare, 2014

Tessa Dare is the author of 25 historical romance novels, most set in the Regency period. Several of her books entered the New York Times and USA Today bestsellers. She also received two RITA Awards and the RT Book Reviews Seal of Excellence. 

Her famous novel, A Night To Surrender, tells stories of heartbroken, shy, and misunderstood young women. Dare fonds creating entertaining heroines who want to go against the normal. You like might also like these authors like Ali Hazelwood.

“And she was well enough acquainted with loneliness to understand that the worst part wasn’t having nobody caring for you – it was having nobody to care for.”

Tessa Dare, Romancing the Duke

13. Amanda Quick, 1948 – Present

Amanda Quick
A photo of Amanda Quick at the Romance Writers conference, 2012

Amanda Quick is Jayne Ann Krentz’s pen name when writing historical romance and suspense novels. She’s been on the New York Times bestseller list for 40 novels and has sold over 35 million copies of her books worldwide. Her well-received historical romance novel, Ravished, is about a woman longing for a powerful and clever man. You might also be interested in these authors like Amor Towles.

“I am well aware that for some, love and passion do not always follow the traditional path.”

Amanda Quick, Lie By Moonlight

14. Christi Caldwell, No data

Christi Caldwell published her first novel, Forever Betrothed, Never the Bride, in 2013. Since then, she has become a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. Most of her works are inspired by her true life, including her first novel about her son with Down Syndrome. Her For the Love of Duke also features her twin daughters. Caldwell’s ability to incorporate life’s imperfections in her writings earned her loyal readers.

“Life is horrible and unfair and terrifying. But those are not reasons to stop living.”

Christi Caldwell, For the Love of Duke

15. Caroline Linden, 1972 – Present

Caroline Linden authored over 51 novels, mostly stories set in Regency England. She’s a RITA Awardee, and her books made the USA Today bestselling list.  All the Duke I Need is the third book of her Desperately Seeking Duke series, which tells a story of love and trust. Her other popular novels are An Earl Like You and The Secret of My Seduction. Loved this? Check out our round-up of best dark romance authors!

“As long as she would have him, the rest of the world could go hang.”

Caroline Linden, One Night in London

Author

  • Maria Caballero is a freelance writer who has been writing since high school. She believes that to be a writer doesn't only refer to excellent syntax and semantics but also knowing how to weave words together to communicate to any reader effectively.