10 Best Authors Like Olivia Cunning Who Take Being a Groupie to a Whole New Level

Discover our list of authors like Olivia Cunning, who have realistically captured the erotic appeal of rock stars and other kinds of alpha males in novels.

Rockstars in real life seem to ooze a kind of sexuality that mere mortals can only dream about. There’s something about their presence on stage that makes them larger than life, and these are the features that make them rich fodder for the erotic rockstar genre, a subgenre of erotic romance novels.

A leading author in the erotic rock star genre, Olivia Cunning skillfully brings to life the unbridled passion and rock-n-roll lifestyle in some of the best erotic novels. Her signature series, Sinners on Tour, has earned Cunning immense praise for its potent eroticism, intricate character dynamics, and genuine portrayal of the music industry. Cunning’s compelling narratives blend heart-thumping concert scenes with sizzling romance and emotional exploration, and readers can expect similar work from this list of authors like Olivia Cunning.

Best Authors Like Olivia Cunning Ranked

1. Nikki Sloane

Book cover of Three Simple Rules by Nikki Sloane
Book cover of Three Simple Rules by Nikki Sloane

Nikki Sloane is a contemporary romance novelist who has been an active voice in the erotic rock star genre for several years. She lives in Kentucky, and her southern roots are a distinct influence in her storytelling. Sloane’s work tends to blend fiery romantic relationships with deep emotional struggles. A former ballroom dance instructor, waitress, and screenwriter, she now keeps her fans satisfied with a prolific stream of sexy novels. Nikki Sloane is a proud recipient of the USA Today bestselling author award and a four-time finalist for the RITA award.

Three Simple Rules is arguably Nikki Sloane’s best work to date and certainly one that Sloane is very proud of. This novel spins a tale of a woman, Evie, who enters a sexually charged agreement with two brothers to fund her business. The book skillfully captures their unconventional arrangement’s emotional turmoil, sensual tension, and potential fallout.

“The last rule is your body belongs to me, SO that means your orgasms are mine. You don’t come without my permission.”

Nikki Sloane, Three Simple Rules
Three Simple Rules (The Blindfold Club Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Sloane, Nikki (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 319 Pages - 01/26/2015 (Publication Date) - Shady Creek Publishing (Publisher)

2. Jessalyn Jameson

Book cover of The Intern's Submission by Jessalyn Jameson
Book cover of The Intern’s Submission by Jessalyn Jameson

Hailing from California, Jessalyn Jameson is a distinguished author within the erotic rock star genre. Known for her dynamic characters, engaging storytelling, and intensely passionate scenes, she has significantly impacted the genre. Her vivid portrayal of the rock star lifestyle adds an exciting backdrop to her scintillating romances.

One of Jameson’s most successful novels is The Intern’s Submission. Cabot Reed, a wealthy and powerful businessman, is captivated by his young intern, Rylan Blake, whose fiery spirit ignites a dangerous desire in him. Their professional relationship transcends the office when Rylan discovers Cabot’s dominant lifestyle, leading to an intoxicating power play that pushes boundaries. As Cabot teaches Rylan the art of submission, their affair risks his impending inheritance of Reed Enterprises. They stand on the brink of ecstasy or the collapse of an empire.

“My body jerked in response to the power in that singular command.”

Jessalyn Jameson, The Intern’s Submission
Illicit Education (The Intern's Submission Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Jameson, Jessalyn (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 329 Pages - 06/27/2023 (Publication Date)

3. Helen Hardt

Book cover of Unchained by Helen Hardt
Book cover of Unchained by Helen Hardt

Helen Hardt, a renowned author in the erotic genre, was born and raised in California before relocating to Colorado. Her love of writing began when she was only six years old. However, she worked in several other jobs before becoming a full-time novelist. Hardt’s novels often incorporate her diverse life experiences, adding depth to her work. Hardt is now recognized as one of the most influential voices in contemporary erotic romance literature.

Unchained, one of Hardt’s most famous works, draws readers into the turbulent relationship between Dante Gabriel and Erin Hamilton, a woman inexplicably drawn towards him. Unchained showcases Hardt’s proficiency in creating emotionally complex characters and her ability to illustrate their relationships with vivid, sensual detail.

The novel has been praised for its perfect blend of eroticism, emotion, and gripping storyline. If you like reading romance books, you might want to check out our round-up of the best dark romance books.

“Lust rolled through me.”

Helen Hardt, Unchained
Unchained: Blood Bond: Volume 1 (Parts 1, 2 & 3) (Blood Bond Saga)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Hardt, Helen (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 317 Pages - 10/02/2018 (Publication Date) - Waterhouse Press (Publisher)

4. Brooklyn Cross

Book cover of Dark Side Of The Cloth by Brooklyn Cross
Book cover of Dark Side Of The Cloth by Brooklyn Cross

Brooklyn Cross is another popular author in the erotic novel genre whose work will likely appeal to fans of Olivia Cunning. She only began writing full-time in 2016, but her success in such a short time is remarkable. Cross enjoys spicing her books with humor to offset the darkness and edginess. An equestrian at heart and previous contender, Cross now dedicates herself to satisfying her fans’ voracious appetite for more.

Dark Side of the Cloth is one of Cross’s best works. Raised to lead a cartel, Dean O’Sullivan rejects his dark destiny. He finds a new life in the Army and, eventually, as a priest in a small town. There, he encounters Yasmine Jacobs, a woman haunted by survivor’s guilt and struggling to move forward. Their attraction is intense, wrestling with their own morality and societal constraints. In the face of irresistible temptation, they must determine who is the forbidden fruit in this irresistible dance of desire.

“Yasmine heard soft whimpers as she stepped into the hallway and turned to follow the sound.”

Brooklyn Cross, Dark Side of the Cloth
Dark Side of the Cloth (The Righteous Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Cross, Brooklyn (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 286 Pages - 09/03/2021 (Publication Date)

5. Piper Sullivan

Book cover of Loving The Nurse by Piper Sullivan
Book cover of Loving The Nurse by Piper Sullivan

Piper Sullivan calls herself an old-school romantic, bringing a unique blend of romance, humor, and wit into her writing. A favorite author in the erotic genre, she’s known for her expert storytelling and engaging characters. Sullivan’s novels incorporate her rich cultural background and personal experiences, adding depth and authenticity to her narratives.

Sullivan’s novel, Loving the Nurse, showcases her proficiency in the genre. Chef Antonio Ricci is the epitome of a heartbreaker, a charming bad boy with a devastating smirk. Despite his obvious affection for his daughter Rosie during her check-ups, his persona suggests an unending trail of romantic escapades. A sensible woman would know he spells trouble. But with each encounter, resisting the magnetic pull of his charm becomes more challenging, threatening to upend the protagonist’s world.

“I was sure, despite having no evidence, that there was a string of broken hearts in his wake.”

Piper Sullivan, Loving the Nurse
Loving the Nurse: A Single Dad Medical Romance (Healing Love Book 2)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Sullivan, Piper (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 176 Pages - 06/25/2021 (Publication Date)

6. Kylie Scott

Book cover of Lick by Kylie Scott
Book cover of Lick by Kylie Scott

Queensland, Australian author Kylie Scott is a prominent figure in the erotic rock star genre. Scott is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author with over two million books sold. She’s a veteran in the romance writing industry, having written numerous successful novels throughout her career. Scott’s work has earned her prestigious recognition, such as the Australian Romance Reader Awards and the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award, and her work has been translated into fifteen languages.

Her novel, Lick, features a drunken Vegas wedding between Evelyn and David, a successful guitarist rockstar. As the story unfolds, readers are led on a passionate journey of self-discovery, love, and the challenges of fame. Scott’s masterful storytelling and her ability to weave in steamy romance make Lick a standout in the erotic rock star genre.

“I was going to kill him. Slowly. Strangle him with the overpriced thong. A fitting death for a rock star.”

Kylie Scott, Lick
Lick: A Stage Dive Novel (Stage Dive Series Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Scott, Kylie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 321 Pages - 11/11/2013 (Publication Date) - St. Martin's Griffin (Publisher)

7. Sian Ceinwen

Book cover of Wicked Opportunity by Sian Ceinwen
Book cover of Wicked Opportunity by Sian Ceinwen

Another Aussie, Sian Ceinwen, is finally making a name for herself in the erotic rock star genre after spending her younger years making up tales to write for her friends. She wrote her first book as part of the NaNoWriMo challenge in 2011, which ended up being the first in a four-book series. Her novels, noted for their engaging narratives and passionately crafted characters, have impacted readers, which will continue to make her books sell well.

Ceinwen’s novel Wicked Opportunity centers on the tumultuous relationship between a married-to-a-rockstar woman and her husband’s two bandmates, who also become her lovers. Explosive sessions in the bedroom are entwined with feelings of guilt and lust. What’s a good rock star wife to do? Wicked Opportunity is a remarkable representation of Ceinwen’s storytelling ability, effortlessly blending emotion, sensuality, and the inescapable allure of rock-n-roll.

“Dante is looking as good as ever. He’s wearing jeans and a tight t-shirt that shows off his muscled torso nicely.”

Sian Ceinwen, Wicked Opportunity
Wicked Opportunity: A Steamy Rock Star Romance (Something Wicked Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Ceinwen, Sian (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 300 Pages - 01/11/2022 (Publication Date)

8. Luci Fer

Book cover of International Tour by Luci Fer
Book cover of International Tour by Luci Fer

Luci Fer is the pseudonym for a popular author in the erotic rock star genre, recognized for her intricate characters and emotionally charged narratives. Fer’s work explores the passionate underbelly of the rock-n-roll scene, offering readers an intense romantic journey similar to how Olivia Cunning delivers.

International Tour is one of Fer’s standout novels and part of a wildly popular series. Following a triumphant regional tour, rock band Abandoned Bygone, led by Brax, embarks on a groundbreaking international tour with Glaze in Canada. However, unresolved traumas from bandmate Charlie’s past emerge, challenging the group’s dynamics and their shot at international success. As relationships are tested, unexpected alliances form, altering their course in unprecedented ways. Amidst the pressures of stardom and unexpected shocks, will they splinter or unite, forever changing their lives and the music industry?

“They were the wind that flowed effortlessly through my fingers, our connected souls woven together like wires forming the right kind of sparks.”

Luci Fer, International Tour
International Tour: Part Two of Tour Series
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Fer , Luci (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 491 Pages - 05/05/2023 (Publication Date)

9. S.L. Lake

Book cover of Rock Lane by S.L. Lake
Book cover of Rock Lane by S.L. Lake

S.L. Lake is a notable author in the erotic rock star genre, but she keeps it simple at home. She’s a self-described stay-at-home mom and enjoys her life in the suburbs of Dallas. When she isn’t writing hot and engaging novels featuring sexy rockstars, she spends her time traveling, cooking, and reading. To her credit, Lake’s novels have significantly contributed to the genre, engaging readers with their potent blend of romance and music.

In Rock Lane, Lake explores the fiery relationships between very different worlds. Raised in the political spotlight, Becca Hamilton, daughter of the Vice President, crosses paths with David Lane, son of the Senate Majority Leader and drummer of Liquid Lunaci.

Their lives diverge as Becca rises as a political influencer and David becomes a music sensation. However, a scandalous night captured by intrusive lenses thrusts them back together. As Becca faces her graduate studies and David prepares for a solo career, they must navigate love, ambition, scandal, and exes.  If you like reading romance books, you might want to check out our round-up of the best books by Sylvia Day.

“After two full hours, each of the members are dripping with sweat and exhaustion as they finish their set, they take their bow and thank D.C. for the support.”

S.L. Lake, Rock Lane
Rock Lane (The Lane Family Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Lake, S.L. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 305 Pages - 03/10/2023 (Publication Date) - S.L. Lake (Publisher)

10. Sima Ben

Book cover of Double Devotion by Sima Ben
Book cover of Double Devotion by Sima Ben

Sima Ben holds a bachelor’s degree in social sciences, but after 12 years of a professional career, she left to become a full-time author. Her husband and children are fully supportive, especially since Ben’s books have certainly resonated with readers in the erotic rock star genre. Her work, imbued with the electricity of the rock-n-roll world and steamy romance, has made a definite mark on the genre, and there is surely much more to come from Sima Ben.

In her book Double Devotion, Ben chronicles the tumultuous journey of a newly divorced single mom who thinks love is not on her cards. She finds herself in a complex romantic tangle with international rockstar Michael Jones and his best friend, Avi. Michael is a whirlwind of passion and fame, while Avi offers strength and stability. Intriguingly, both men are interested in her and her, in them. Torn between two intoxicating worlds, she ponders the possibility of an unconventional three-way relationship, questioning societal norms and her desires.

“I have a proposal for you. Listen, since we’re both a bit lost and also looking to get lost for a while, let’s disappear together.”

Sima Ben, Double Devotion

No products found.

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best authors like Eloisa James!

Author

  • Kate has been writing since she was 10 years old, tapping away on an old typewriter in her childhood bedroom. Today, Kate is a seasoned freelance writer with over 10 years of experience writing for print and online media. She’s an avid reader and believes in the power of words to transport readers to new worlds, and inspire and nurture creativity. Kate is also a published author and is currently working on her next project.