10 Best Authors Like Rosamunde Pilcher

Discover our guide with authors like Rosamunde Pilcher who write romance novels and family sagas that captivate readers with British author’s true-to-life.

New York Times bestseller Rosamunde Pilcher (1924-2019) was known for her romance novels, family dramas, short stories, and mainstream fiction works. To date, her books have sold more than 60 million copies worldwide. Pilcher got her start writing novels under the name Jane Fraser. After 11 successful books, she switched to writing under her name with 1955’s Secret to Tell. One of Pilcher’s most well-known works, The Shell Seekers, follows the story of a British woman who reflects on her life in flashbacks, giving readers an insider’s view of what life was like during World War II and other difficult 20th-century time periods.

Literary critics praise Pilcher for taking the women’s literature genre to a new level, staying away from flowery descriptions, and digging into the realistic and challenging aspects of relationships and family. Her books are beloved book by book clubs worldwide, and fans of Pilcher are constantly discovering their favorite new book from her catalog on Goodreads. If you love the works of Rosamunde Pilcher, be sure to check out our list of authors like Danielle Steel!

Best Authors Like Rosamunde Pilcher Ranked

1. Maeve Binchy, 1939 – 2012

Maeve Binchy
Photo of Maeve Binchy smiling at the camera

Maeve Binchy‘s fiction books have sold more than 40 million copies worldwide. The Irish author published 16 novels throughout her career, with an additional book, A Week in Winter, published after her death. Binchy’s books are known for showing distinct contrasts between life in Britain and Ireland and the differences between rural and urban life. She was widely celebrated for her personality and writing, she was described as having a “total lack of malice.” She was known in the literary world for her warm personality just as much as her renowned creativity.

“Writing is a bit like going on a diet; you should either tell everyone or no one.”

Maeve Binchy, The Maeve Binchy Writers’ Club
Light a Penny Candle
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Maeve Binchy (Author) - Kate Binchy (Narrator)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 12/15/1999 (Publication Date) - Random House Audio (Publisher)

2. Robin Pilcher, 1950 –

The Long Way Home
The Long Way Home book cover image

The name isn’t a coincidence – Robin Pilcher is the eldest son of Rosamunde Pilcher and happily followed in his mother’s footsteps. The author’s books include An Ocean ApartStarting Over, and A Risk Worth Taking, all of which became bestsellers. Much like his mother, Pilcher writes about themes of love and family but also offers the often-ignored male perspective to readers. Pilcher is praised for his deep understanding of the human condition, as he describes trauma, loss, and mental health issues in a way that shows compassion for his characters.

“They both dissolved into laughter, and Jane immediately felt at ease, any fears of how the overriding gloom of present circumstances might have affected her long-time friend expelled from her mind. They were still very much on the same wavelength, still able to laugh together.”

Robin Pilcher, An Ocean Apart
An Ocean Apart: A Novel
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Robin Pilcher (Author) - John Lee (Narrator)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 12/29/2020 (Publication Date) - Tantor Audio (Publisher)

3. Elizabeth Berg, 1948 –

Elizabeth Berg
Photo of Elizabeth Berg signing a book

Elizabeth Berg started as a writer when she won a Parents magazine essay contest. She wrote her first novel, Durable Goods, in 1993. She followed her first work with Joy School and True to Form, creating a trilogy that followed protagonist Katie Nash as she traveled as a part of a military family. Her book Open House was an Oprah’s Book Club selection. In addition to writing, Berg teaches workshops and is the founder of Writing Matters. This series works to serve and connect writers and their audiences.

“I cried until my eyes swelled shut, and then I slept, a black, dreamless sleep from which I awoke amazingly refreshed, at least until I remembered.”

Elizabeth Berg, The Year of Pleasures
Earth's the Right Place for Love: A Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Berg, Elizabeth (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 276 Pages - 03/21/2023 (Publication Date) - Random House (Publisher)

4. Jan Karon, 1937 –

Shepherd Abiding
Book cover of Sheperd Abiding

Jan Karon started working in an advertising agency, where she began writing samples on her boss’s desk in hopes that he’d recognize her talent and allow her to advance in the company. She went on to have a highly successful career in writing for ad agencies. When she turned 50, she left advertising. She began writing a novel in installments for a North Carolina newspaper, The Blowing Rocket. Eventually, the installments turned into Karon’s first novel, At Home in Milford, which was nominated for an American Booksellers Book of the Year Award three times. She’s also known for writing holiday-themed books, cookbooks, and children’s books.

“I’d like you to know that I’ve forgiven him. Again and again. Once done, of course, back comes the Enemy to persecute and prosecute, and I must ante up to God and forgive yet again.”

Jan Karon, Home to Holly Springs
Somewhere Safe with Somebody Good: The New Mitford Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Karon, Jan (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 687 Pages - 09/02/2014 (Publication Date) - G.P. Putnam's Sons (Publisher)

5. Amanda Skenandore

The Nurse's Secret
The Nurse’s Secret book cover image

Amanda Skenandore is a nurse by trade but a historical fiction writer at heart. Coming from a family of readers, she loves putting her day job to good use in her novels, including The Nurse’s Secret. The book allows readers to understand many of the real-life issues that led to the development of modern nursing. Her debut novel, Between Earth and Sky, won the American Library Association’s Reading List Award for Best Historical Fiction.

“To take all that in demands both an iron constitution and a gentle soul. That’s the type of woman we’re looking for. That’s what matters.”

Amanda Skenandore, The Nurse’s Secret
The Nurse's Secret: A Thrilling Historical Novel of the Dark Side of Gilded Age New York City
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Skenandore, Amanda (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 370 Pages - 06/28/2022 (Publication Date) - Kensington Books (Publisher)

6. Adriana Trigiani, 1969 –

Adriana Trigiani
Photo of Adriana Trigiani speaking to a crowd

Heralded as “one of the reigning queens of women’s fiction,” bestselling author Adriana Trigiani has published 20 fiction and non-fiction books. The author is known for writing about themes of love and family. She’s also a known playwright and debuted off-Broadway with Secrets of the Lava Lamp in 1985 at the Manhattan Theater Club. She’s also written scripts for several television shows, including A Different World and The Cosby Show.

Readers love Trigiani’s Big Stone Gap series, which includes Big Stone GapMilk Glass Moon, and Home to Big Stone Gap. The books are set in Trigiani’s hometown in Virginia.

“That’s when you know for sure somebody loves you. They figure out what you need and they give it to you — without you asking.”

Adriana Trigiani, Very Valentine
The Good Left Undone: A Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Trigiani, Adriana (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 447 Pages - 04/26/2022 (Publication Date) - Dutton (Publisher)

7. Barbara Taylor Bradford, 1933 –

Remember
Remember book cover image

Barbara Taylor Bradford has written 39 bestsellers throughout her storied career. The British-American writer published her first book, A Woman of Substance, in 1979 it sold more than 30 million copies worldwide. Before she burst onto the writing scene, Bradford strongly believed in her ability to succeed, leaving school at just 15 years old to become a reporter. She quickly worked her way up the ranks, beginning as a typist, getting promoted to a reporter, becoming a fashion editor, and later a syndicated columnist.

She abandoned several of her first efforts to write a novel, then had a moment of clarity. In discussing this time of her life, Bradford stated, “I was in my late thirties. I thought: what if I get to 55, and I’ve never written a novel? I’m going to hate myself. I’m going to be one of those bitter, unfulfilled writers.”

“We are each the authors of our own lives, Emma. We live in what we have created. There is no way to shift the blame and no one else to accept the accolades.”

Barbara Taylor Bradford, A Woman of Substance
A Man of Honor (Harte Family Saga Book 8)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Bradford, Barbara Taylor (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 451 Pages - 12/28/2021 (Publication Date) - St. Martin's Press (Publisher)

8. Belva Plain, 1915 – 2010

The Golden Cup
The Golden Cup book cover image

Belva Plain was a beloved American contemporary fiction author. Before she began writing novels, she started in the industry by writing short stories for magazines, selling her first story to Cosmopolitan when she was 25 years old. She published her first novel, Evergreen, in 1978. The book received rave reviews, staying at the top of the New York Times bestseller list for over ten months.

Throughout her career, Plain had 21 novels appear on the coveted NYT list. She was known for her old-school attitude – despite writing for several hours each day, she never switched from pen and paper to a computer.

“Over and over, she had tended that dress as it wore out, knotting the first loose threads, catching the next tiny rent, mending and hiding the splits one after the other, wearing the dress as long as the fabric could be decently held together, until eventually there came a tear too wide to be bound up, and the dress had to go. Perhaps her life with Bud had been like that and had been destined to end even without his death.”

Belva Plain, Daybreak: A Novel
Evergreen: A Novel (Werner Family Saga Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Plain, Belva (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 706 Pages - 12/15/2009 (Publication Date) - Dell (Publisher)

9. Anne Rivers Siddons, 1936 – 2019

The House Next Door
The House Next Door book cover image

Anne Rivers Siddons was known for her romance novels set in the American South. She got her start writing for Atlanta magazine in 1963. Her first novel, Heartbreak Hotel, followed the struggles of life in the South during the Civil Rights movement. Her second novel, Peachtree Road, became a bestseller, with over a million print copies. The author also leaned into the horror genre with her book The House Next Door, which Stephen King heralded as one of the best horror novels of the century. You might also be interested in these authors like Bill Bryson.

“Walter loves the sea, and I need it in some elemental way that I cannot even come close to verbalizing. I become dim and shriveled somehow at my very core if I am away from the sea too long. When I return to it I seem to fill up and overflow with it, soaking in the vast, sighing wetness of it like a parched vine in a long, soft spring rain.”

Anne Rivers Siddons, The House Next Door
Low Country
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Siddons, Anne Rivers (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 461 Pages - 10/13/2009 (Publication Date) - HarperCollins e-books (Publisher)

10. Joanna Trollope, 1943 –

Joanna Trollope
Photo of Joanna Trollope smiling at the camera

British writer Joanna Trollope is a romance writer who started writing in the historical romance genre under the pen name Caroline Harvey. Despite winning the Romantic Novel of the Year Award in 1980 for her novel Parson Harding’s Daughter, she struggled to find continued success. She decided to make the switch to writing contemporary fiction. Her 1987 novel entitled The Choir was the author’s first contemporary novel. Trollope is often praised for tackling challenging issues in her books, including divorce, sexual orientation issues, infertility, and more.

“Was it worth saying that she was no longer going to do anything for anyone since it seemed to her that the more generous she was, the more she herself seemed to get punished?” 

Joanna Trollope, Sense & Sensibility
Sense & Sensibility: A Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Trollope, Joanna (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 418 Pages - 10/29/2013 (Publication Date) - Harper (Publisher)

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best gay romance novels!

Author

  • Amanda has an M.S.Ed degree from the University of Pennsylvania in School and Mental Health Counseling and is a National Academy of Sports Medicine Certified Personal Trainer. She has experience writing magazine articles, newspaper articles, SEO-friendly web copy, and blog posts.