11 Best Authors Like Odette Stone: Hot Romance Novels with Alpha Males and Strong Female Leads

Discover our list of authors like Odette Stone, who are ready and willing to whisk readers into a world where fantasies come true in the best way possible.

The hot and steamy romance genre engrosses readers with passionate narratives, intense emotional depth, and tantalizingly explicit carnal situations. These stories feature strong, alpha males who meet their match with equally strong female protagonists who navigate the complex relationships with aplomb. Vivid descriptions stir the senses in a way that may not be openly acceptable except between the pages of books like these. Popular authors like Odette Stone and others excel in this genre, delivering heart-throbbing tales of love, lust, and everything in between that leave readers yearning for more.

Odette Stone is an extremely popular author in the hot and steamy romance genre. She is known for her writing style, which offers compelling characters in challenging circumstances. Her stories are known for their charged, intimate scenes wrapped inside intriguing plot narratives.

Notable books include the Puck series and popular titles such as Puck Me Secretly, The Penalty Box, and Home Game. Stone’s characters typically include hot fantasy figures like hockey hunks, dangerous Mafia members, and Navy Seals.

Best Authors Like Odette Stone Ranked

1. Kendall Ryan, 1981 –

Book cover of All The Way by Kendall Ryan
Book cover of All The Way by Kendall Ryan

A bonafide Texan, Kendall Ryan enjoys her daily family life and a scintillating author’s life by night. Ryan is a New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today bestselling author with over 26 hot romance titles under her Texan belt. Many of her books have also been translated into various other languages. She writes series books and standalone novels; her work is also available on audio.

One of the books in her Hot Jocks series, All the Way, is a hit with readers who adore hockey players. Asking a favor of a friend to help her with her intimacy issues, protagonist Becca Walsh soon finds herself in over her head. Her friend happens to be a hockey hottie, so when they spend one explosive night together, a connection has been made. But how can he convince her it all wasn’t just a play? This torrid read will leave readers turning the pages for more.

“I lean into his embrace, and when I turn my head, his lips find mine. And then, like it’s the most natural thing in the world, Owen is kissing me.”

Kendall Ryan, All the Way
All the Way (Hot Jocks Book 2)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Ryan, Kendall (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 346 Pages - 09/24/2019 (Publication Date) - Amazon Digital Services (Publisher)

2. Ivy Smoak

Book cover of Temptation by Ivy Smoak
Book cover of Temptation by Ivy Smoak

A leading bestselling author, Ivy Smoak’s books have sold more than 4 million copies around the globe. She is a Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestselling author and an Amazon number one bestselling author for her Hunted series. Smoak began seriously writing as a junior in college. Although she didn’t obtain instant success, with perseverance, she found a broad readership base through self-publishing hot romance novels in the vein of Fifty Shades of Grey.

Temptation is the first book in the Hunted series by Ivy Smoak. The novel introduces Penny Taylor, a college student whose life changes when she meets James Hunter, a successful businessman, and professor. As their attraction grows, they navigate ethical boundaries, their complex pasts, and the challenges of their disparate social statuses.

The story blends romance, drama, and suspense as their forbidden relationship unfolds, highlighting the struggle between love, ethics, and temptation. If you liked this round-up of romance novels, you might also like our guide on the best erotic novels.

“Professor Hunter had an air of danger around him. He was intriguing because he terrified me.”

Ivy Smoak, Temptation
Temptation (The Hunted Series Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Smoak, Ivy (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 353 Pages - 04/08/2015 (Publication Date) - Loft Troll Ink (Publisher)

3. Kate Meader

Book cover of Flirting With Fire by Kate Meader
Book cover of Flirting With Fire by Kate Meader

Kate Meader, a USA Today bestselling author, hails from Ireland and currently resides in Chicago. With a background in law and a penchant for storytelling, Meader seamlessly blends romance with humor, creating compelling narratives that often explore strong, empowered women and the men who fall for them. Her writings have been praised for their witty dialogue, vivid character development, and warm-hearted love stories.

Meader’s Flirting with Fire is the first in her popular Hot in Chicago series. The novel follows the life of a female firefighter in a male-dominated industry and her unexpected, passionate romance with the city’s mayor. With well-developed characters, sizzling chemistry, and a plot filled with humor and heart, this book is a testament to Meader’s knack for writing charismatic, contemporary romance.

“So this was where jock straps went to die.”

Kate Meader, Flirting with Fire
Flirting with Fire (Hot In Chicago Series)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Meader, Kate (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 360 Pages - 03/24/2015 (Publication Date) - Pocket Books (Publisher)

4. Brenda Rothert

Book cover of Now And Then by Brenda Rothert
Book cover of Now And Then by Brenda Rothert

Brenda Rothert is an acclaimed American author known for writing contemporary romance novels. Rothert was a former journalist who transitioned to full-time writing after realizing her passion for storytelling. Her books often strike a perfect balance between steamy romance and poignant emotional journeys, making her a favorite among fans of the genre.

One of Rothert’s bestselling works is Now and Then. The book presents a deeply emotional love story that focuses on a woman overcoming a traumatic past and a man who helps her through the healing process. The delicate treatment of the heavy theme and Rothert’s adept skill at depicting romantic relationships have made this book a standout among her work.

“‘I love you,’ he said, reaching his hands around her hips. ‘I’m in love with you, Em, and I want us to be together.'”

Brenda Rothert, Now and Then
Now and Then (The Now Series Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Rothert, Brenda (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 231 Pages - 01/12/2014 (Publication Date) - Silver Sky Publishing, Inc. (Publisher)

5. Rebecca Jenshak

Book cover of The Assist by Rebecca Jenshak
Book cover of The Assist by Rebecca Jenshak

Rebecca Jenshak is a self-proclaimed “jock-turned-writer” who found her calling in penning sports romance novels. Jenshak, a USA Today bestselling author, uses her background in sports to create authentic, gripping narratives around athletes and their romantic pursuits. Her books are loved for their relatable characters, steamy romance, and engaging plots.

Jenshak’s Smart Jocks series has been particularly well-received, with the first book, The Assist, earning high praise. The novel centers on a student-athlete and a studious girl who cross paths, leading to an unlikely romance. With a unique spin on the classic sports romance trope, The Assist explores the balance between academic and athletic pursuits, framed through a heartwarming love story.

“If it doesn’t involve classes, caffeine, or sleep, I don’t have time for it.”

Rebecca Jenshak, The Assist
The Assist: A College Sports Romance (Smart Jocks Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Jenshak, Rebecca (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 356 Pages - 11/01/2018 (Publication Date)

6. Tijan

Book cover of Fallen Crest High by Tijan
Book cover of Fallen Crest High by Tijan

Tijan is a well-known author of new adult and college romance novels. She began her writing journey by publishing her works online. Eventually, she gained immense popularity, leading to several of her books becoming New York Times bestsellers. Tijan’s novels typically feature strong-willed, independent female protagonists and complex love interests, often set against the backdrop of a college or sports environment.

One of Tijan’s most notable works is Fallen Crest High, the first in the Fallen Crest series. The book follows the life of a teenager whose world turns upside down when her mother falls in love with a wealthy man. As she navigates the challenges of her new elite social circle, she’s also drawn into a complicated romantic entanglement. The book has gripped readers with its intriguing narrative and relatable characters, solidifying Tijan’s place in the genre.

“None of it mattered. I mattered. I was the only one. I had to take care of myself.”

Tijan, Fallen Crest High
Fallen Crest High (Fallen Crest Series, Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Tijan (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 375 Pages - 10/31/2012 (Publication Date)

7. Darcie McQueen

Book cover of Sweet Vendetta by Darcie McQueen
Book cover of Sweet Vendetta by Darcie McQueen

Sweet Vendetta is a mafia romance and the second in McQueen’s Vows & Vendettas series in which Gretchen, a seasoned operative, wraps up her mission involving the McDonagh brothers only to be roped back in by the irresistible Callum McDonagh. They embark on a dangerous mission to save women from a ruthless human trafficking ring.

Gretchen, posing as Callum’s property, must balance her covert operations with her growing desire for Callum. As they face a mafia prince who poses a lethal threat, Callum’s promises to Gretchen, freedom, and safety hang in the balance, their futures uncertain. You might be interested in exploring romance prompts, check out our round-up of top writing prompts for romance.

“There is no part of him, at least observable when he’s clothed, that isn’t tattooed with horrifying mythological creatures.”

Darcie McQueen, Sweet Vendetta
Sweet Vendetta: A Mafia Romance (Vows & Vendettas Book 2)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • McQueen, Darcie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 372 Pages - 05/26/2022 (Publication Date)

8. Jessica Ruben

Book cover of Rising by Jessica Ruben
Book cover of Rising by Jessica Ruben

Jessica Ruben, a practicing attorney by day, is a USA Today bestselling author known for her intense and heartfelt contemporary romance novels. Ruben’s work often grapples with heavy themes such as poverty, crime, and self-worth, providing a layer of depth and realism that sets her work apart in the genre. Her novels are praised for their well-developed characters, gripping narratives, and emotional depth.

Ruben’s Vincent and Eve series has gained significant recognition, particularly the first book, Rising. This novel follows the journey of a young woman from a poverty-stricken neighborhood who gets an opportunity to study at a prestigious university, where she meets a man with a dark past. The blend of romantic tension, emotional exploration, and stark social contrast make Rising an impactful read that resonates with readers. For more, check out our list of authors like Meghan Quinn.

“When we’re together, I feel like we’ve got something more than just attraction.”

Jessica Ruben, Rising
Rising (Vincent and Eve Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Ruben, Jessica (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 188 Pages - 05/01/2018 (Publication Date) - JessicaRubenBooks, LLC (Publisher)

9. Lisa Suzanne

Book cover of A Little Like Destiny by Lisa Suzanne
Book cover of A Little Like Destiny by Lisa Suzanne

Lisa Suzanne is a contemporary romance author who has carved out a niche for herself with her engaging storytelling and memorable characters. A former high school English teacher, Suzanne’s love for writing and literature is evident in her books. Her works are known for their emotional depth, steamy romance, and relatable characters, making her a USA Today bestselling author.

Among Suzanne’s impressive list of works, A Little Like Destiny stands out as one that will especially appeal to readers of Odette Stone. This book follows the love triangle between an ordinary woman, a rock star, and his brother. With a healthy dose of romance, heartache, and uncertainty, A Little Like Destiny presents Suzanne’s knack for writing emotional and engaging love stories.

“It’s fun to pretend, but a fantasy is all it’ll ever be.”

 Lisa Suzanne, A Little Like Destiny
A Little Like Destiny
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Suzanne, Lisa (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 264 Pages - 08/31/2017 (Publication Date) - Books by LS, LLC (Publisher)

10. Georgia Le Carre

Book cover of The Billionaire Banker by Georgia Le Carre
Book cover of The Billionaire Banker by Georgia Le Carre

Georgia Le Carre, a bestselling author whose work appeals to fans of Odette Stone, is appreciated for her emotionally intense and provocative romance novels. Her works often explore the darker sides of love and passion, pushing boundaries and offering readers an immersive, often exhilarating reading experience. Le Carre’s compelling storytelling and complex characterizations have won her a large international fan base.

Le Carre’s The Billionaire Banker series has received particular notice, and the first book of the same name stands out. This novel presents an intriguing love story between a young, innocent woman and a rich, powerful man embroiled in a world of wealth and deceit. This potent passion, power dynamics, and suspense blend marks Le Carre’s unique narrative style. You might also be interested in our guide on authors like Rosamunde Pilcher.

“If you ask you might get a no and I’m not taking no for an answer. I’m telling you: we’re getting married.”

Georgia Le Carre, The Billionaire Banker
The Billionaire Banker Series - Box Set
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Le Carre, Georgia (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 690 Pages - 07/20/2014 (Publication Date) - Georgia Le Carre (Publisher)

11. Ashley Jade

Book cover of Complicated Hearts by Ashley Jade
Book cover of Complicated Hearts by Ashley Jade

Ashley Jade is a hot romance author recognized for her emotionally charged and often edgy romance novels. Known for pushing the envelope with her storylines, Jade isn’t afraid to explore darker themes and complex emotions. Her characters are real, flawed, and relatable, making her work resonate with a broad audience.

In Complicated Hearts, when Breslin fell in love with Asher Holden, she was unprepared for the heartbreak that followed. Three years of healing later, she didn’t expect to see him again. Asher confronts his past when he crosses paths with Breslin. Meanwhile, Landon is thrown off-course by Breslin and Asher. Love becomes a complicated melody, with each heart pulling a different string, leading to an unpredictable finale that will resonate with fans of Odette Stone. For more, you might be interested in our round-up of authors like Susan Mallery.

“I finally understood at that moment why people called it a crush. Because it’s that glimmer of hope that crushes you in the end.”

Ashley Jade, Complicated Hearts
Complicated Hearts (Book 1 of the Complicated Hearts Duet.)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Jade, Ashley (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 239 Pages - 06/06/2017 (Publication Date)

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of romance author best sellers!

Author

  • Kate has been writing since she was 10 years old, tapping away on an old typewriter in her childhood bedroom. Today, Kate is a seasoned freelance writer with over 10 years of experience writing for print and online media. She’s an avid reader and believes in the power of words to transport readers to new worlds, and inspire and nurture creativity. Kate is also a published author and is currently working on her next project.