10 Best Authors Like Neil Gaiman Every Sci-Fi Fan Should Read

Neil Gaiman is a prolific writer who writes for all ages, from children to adults. Fans will want to check out our list of the best authors like Neil Gaiman.

Born in 1960 in Hampshire, England, Neil Gaiman has written everything from short stories to graphic novels and film scripts. His contributions to literature make him a popular writer with children through adults, and his books focus on fairy tales, sci-fi themes, and Norse mythology.

Gaiman started as an author writing comic books, including two series for Marvel and several graphic novels for younger readers, including Coraline. Of these, The Sandman was his most famous, and it was the first comic book to win the World Fantasy Award for Best Short Story. Today, he has over 40 books and numerous short stories.

Fans of Gaiman’s novels know that some of his best books are The Ocean at the End of the Lane and Anansi Boys, which debuted at the top of the New York Times bestseller list upon their release. He also has a young-adult novel called The Graveyard Book, which won a Newbery Award. He also has a series of picture books for young children.

Because of the variety of books and styles embraced by this author, a list of authors like him is pretty varied, but readers looking for ideas will appreciate the works of these writers. If you like Neil Gaiman, you might also enjoy authors like John Grisham.

Here Are The Best Authors Like Neil Gaiman You Shoul Read

1. Terry Pratchett, 1948-2015

Terry Pratchett
Author Terry Pratchett is wearing a red lanyard, black leather coat, glasses, and black hat

Terry Pratchett published his first story when he was 13 years old, leaving school to pursue writing full-time at age 17. His Discworld series is one of the most popular of his works, and he was knighted in 2009 after his ongoing success. The Colour of Magic was his first Discworld series book, and after its success, he went on to publish 41 books, which have been sold worldwide.

This English author also won a Carnegie Medal for The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents, a children’s novel he produced. Good Omens is another of his books, which was a collaboration with Neil Gaiman. Are you looking for more fiction books to add to your reading list? You might want to check out our round-up of the best James Michener books!

“No, what he didn’t like about heroes was that they were usually suicidally gloomy when sober and homicidally insane when drunk.”

Terry Pratchett, The Colour of Magic
Sale
The Color of Magic: A Discworld Novel (Discworld, 1)
  • Pratchett, Terry (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 288 Pages - 01/29/2013 (Publication Date) - Harper (Publisher)

2. Diana Wynne Jones, 1934-2011

Diana Wynne Jones
Author Diana Wynne Jones sits leaning forward with her hand on her cheek and wearing a wristwatch

British novelist Diana Wynne Jones, born in 1934, sadly died of lung cancer in 2009 and was known for her fantasy novels that explored time travel and parallel universes. This London-born teacher started writing to keep her mind sharp when her children were little. Charmed Life, her first novel in the Chrestomanci series, won a Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize in 1978. The Crown of Dalemark, which ended the Dalemark four-book series, won the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. She also wrote the Howl’s Castle trilogy, which begins with Howl’s Moving Castle. Her works are often compared to the Harry Potter series. 

“Funny the way it was never enough to swear and promise just the once. You seemed to have to rethink and repromise every time the subject came up.”

Diana Wynne Jones, The Crown of Dalemark
Sale
Crown of Dalemark, The
  • Hardcover Book
  • Jones, Diana Wynne (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 480 Pages - 10/31/1995 (Publication Date) - GreenWilBk (Publisher)

3. Stephen King, 1947-present

Stephen King
Author Stephen King looks away from the camera while wearing glasses

Stephen King is a versatile writer with over 75 books to his name. One of his more recent books, Fairy Tale, published in 2022, puts him in the same category as Neil Gaiman. It talks of a parallel world with a war between good and evil. King was born in Maine in 1947 and attended the University of Maine. He sold his first novel, Carrie, in 1973 and hasn’t stopped writing horror and suspense novels since. King won the 2003 National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to the American Letters and has had multiple New York Times bestsellers.

“You never know where the trapdoors are in your life, do you?”

Stephen King, Fairy Tale
Sale
Fairy Tale
  • Hardcover Book
  • King, Stephen (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 608 Pages - 09/06/2022 (Publication Date) - Scribner (Publisher)

4. Alan Moore, 1953-present

Alan Moore
Author Alan Moore wears a black shirt, yellow blazer, and white tie. He has a full beard and looks at the camera with a window behind his head

Alan Moore is a British comic book writer and novelist who writes science fiction and horror novels. He worked for Marvel UK and DC Comics and had a role in many well-known movies and films. His work included work on Spiderman, Superman, and Swamp Thing. He also created The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and Promethea.

Two of his books, Watchmen and V for Vendetta, gave comics a more mature theme. Many of his books fall into the graphic novel category, but he prefers to use the term” comic book to refer to them. He has many Eisner Awards, including four Best Graphic Album awards. Because his books take on the multiple universe theme, they align with the work of Neil Gaiman.

“All we ever see of stars are their old photographs.”

Alan Moore, Watchman
Sale
Watchmen (2019 Edition)
  • Moore, Alan (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 448 Pages - 05/20/2019 (Publication Date) - DC Comics (Publisher)

5. Erin Morgenstern, 1978-present

Erin Morgenstern
Erin Morgenstern leans forward while smiling. She is wearing a black shirt, necklace, and glasses.

Erin Morgenstern is a new player in the fantasy novel genre, but she has two excellent works. Her debut novel, The Night Circus, is a fairy tale with a ghostly twist that she published in 2011, and it won the Locus Award for Best First Novel and made her a bestselling author. In 2018 she added The Starless Sea; in 2014, she added Flax-Golden Tales, a collection of 261 short fiction pieces. Morgenstern earned her degree from Smith College.

“The finest of pleasures are always the unexpected ones.”

Erin Morgenstern, The Night Circus
Sale
The Night Circus: A Novel
  • Trade paperback
  • Morgenstern, Erin (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 516 Pages - 07/03/2012 (Publication Date) - Anchor Books (Publisher)

6. Douglas Adams, 1952-2001

Douglas Adams
Author Douglas Adamas grins slightly while looking at the camera and wearing a dark shirt

Douglas Adams wrote The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, a book that eventually became a major motion picture. This English author and screenwriter sold over 15 million copies of his Hitchhiker’s Guide series and had several additional books in his name. He was known from his school days as an excellent writer and did sketches for radio comedy shows as an adult. He died unexpectedly in 2001, and his final, unfinished novel, The Salmon of Doubt, was published after his death.

“If there’s anything more important than my ego around, I want it caught and shot now.”

Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
Sale
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
  • Adams, Douglas (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 208 Pages - 06/23/1997 (Publication Date) - Del Rey (Publisher)

7. N.K. Jemisin, 1972-present

N.K. Jemisin
Author N.K. Jemisin looks over her shoulder at the camera. She has a red shirt and a turquoise necklace

As the first author to win three Best Novel Hugo Awards in a row, N.K. Jemisin deserves a spot on this list. She won the third Hugo for The Stone Sky after winning it for The Obelisk Gate and The Fifth Season the two years prior. She also won a Nebula award for The Stone Sky. a spot on this list. This science fiction writer has short fiction works in many professional magazines, including Clarkesworld and Popular Science. She was also named to Time 100, a list of the 100 most influential people in the world.

“I think,” Hoa says slowly, “that if you love someone, you don’t get to choose how they love you back.”

N.K. Jemisin, The Stone Sky
Sale
The Stone Sky (The Broken Earth, 3)
  • Jemisin, N. K. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 464 Pages - 08/15/2017 (Publication Date) - Orbit (Publisher)

8. Philip Pullman, 1946-present

Philip Pullman
Author Philip Pullman signs a novel. He is sitting at a table wearing a dark shirt and tan blazer

Philip Pullman was born in Norwich, England, and attended Oxford University. He writes fantasy books, and in 2008 The Times named him one of the 50 greatest British writers since 1945. He was knighted for his contributions to English literature. Northern Lights, the first of a trilogy called His Dark Materials, won a Carnegie Medal in 1995.

The final book in the series, The Amber Spyglass, won the Whitbread Book of the Year Prize in 2002; it was the first children’s book to earn that award. If you like reading sci-fi books, you might want to explore our round-up of the best authors like octavia butler.

“We are all subject to the fates. But we must act as if we are not, or die of despair.”

Philip Pullman, Northern Lights
Northern Lights (His Dark Materials)
  • New
  • Mint Condition
  • Dispatch same day for order received before 12 noon
  • Guaranteed packaging
  • No quibbles returns

9. Susanna Clarke, 1959-present

Susanna Clarke
Susanna Clarke looks awake from the camera while standing against a yellow wall and wearing a gray shirt, earrings, and glasses

English author Susanna Clarke was born in Nottingham and attended Oxford. She is known for her fantasy and alternate history books, including The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Piranesi. Her debut novel, Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, won or was nominated for 11 different awards, including a Hugo, Nebula, and the Locus Award for Best First Novel.

“Time and I have quarreled. All hours are midnight now. I had a clock and a watch, but I destroyed them both. I could not bear the way they mocked me.”

Susanna Clarke, Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell: A Novel
  • Clarke, Susanna (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 1024 Pages - 08/01/2006 (Publication Date) - Tor Books (Publisher)

10. Ray Bradbury, 1920-2012

Ray Bradbury
Ray Bradbury smiles while wearing a tan suit jacket, brown tie, white shirt, and glasses

American author and screenwriter Ray Bradbury was a versatile writer who wrote mysteries, horror novels, science fiction, fantasy, and realistic fiction. Born in Illinois, he eventually moved to Los Angeles, where he lived most of his life. As a child, he was an avid reader, which translated well into his writing career.

He started his literary career with a short story published in a fanzine, then borrowed money from a friend to attend the First World Science Fiction Convention to launch his own fanzine. His most famous novel is likely Fahrenheit 451, which has over 5 million copies in print and is considered an American classic. If you’d like to write your own novel, check out our writing tips for fiction!

“There must be something in books, something we can’t imagine, to make a woman stay in a burning house; there must be something there. You don’t stay for nothing.”

Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451
Sale
Fahrenheit 451
  • Fahrenheit 451;9781451673319;1451673310
  • Ray Bradbury (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 249 Pages - Simon & Schuster (Publisher)

Author

  • Nicole Harms has been writing professionally since 2006. She specializes in education content and real estate writing but enjoys a wide gamut of topics. Her goal is to connect with the reader in an engaging, but informative way. Her work has been featured on USA Today, and she ghostwrites for many high-profile companies. As a former teacher, she is passionate about both research and grammar, giving her clients the quality they demand in today's online marketing world.