22 Authors Like Grace Burrowes for the Ultimate Historical Romance

Discover binge-worthy historical fiction with our list of authors like Grace Burrowes. Dive into love stories that will whisk you away to another era!

Romance is one of the most popular writing genres, and authors like Grace Burrowes focus on the allure of historical affairs. We have the perfect list if you’re a big fan of the New York Times and USA Today bestseller Grace Burrowes.

On her website, Burrowes shares, “I started keeping a diary before I could write cursive, but had no notion I might be a writer until I was well into adulthood.

Now, she’s a successful author, bagging the 2010 Publishers Weekly Best Book with her debut novel, The Heir. Since then, she has published over 100 novels and is an established figure in the historical romance genre.

This article showcases 22 authors like Grace Burrowes to bring you romance across the centuries. The list focuses predominantly on the Tudor, Georgian, and Victorian eras. It seems we don’t consider the medieval or classical periods to be particularly romantic.

Nevertheless, they gave birth to many notable affairs. For any budding romance writers out there, perhaps that is an opportunity to make your mark!

Are you looking for more women writers? See our list of the best books written by female authors.

Best Authors Like Grace Burrowes Ranked

1. Julia Quinn, 1970 –

Julia Quinn
Julia Quinn published the first installment of the Bridgerton series in 2000

Julia Quinn, the “Queen of Regency Romances,” is also the mind behind the 2020 Netflix show Bridgerton. Netflix adapted her Bridgerton series, starting with The Duke and I.

The Regency period relates to the nine years between 1811 and 1820 when George IV acted as Regent, or proxy ruler, in place of his ailing father.

Quinn is an 18-time New York Times bestseller of almost 40 novels translated into over 40 languages. In 2023, Queen Charlotte, which she co-authored with another New York Times bestseller, Shonda Rhimes, also premiered on Netflix.

Besides writing in the same genres and setting, Quinn and Burrowes create light and engaging stories by adding humor. They present well-crafted characters with distinct personalities and backgrounds that readers relate to and adore.

To say that men can be bullheaded would be insulting to the bull.”

Julia Quinn, The Duke and I
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 10:55 pm GMT

2. Eloisa James, 1962 –

Eloisa James
A Kiss at Midnight by Eloisa James is her version of Cinderella

Mary Bly writes under the pen name Eloisa James. As a Shakespeare professor, she incorporates Shakespearean elements into her writing, as in her Pleasures Trilogy.

James is best known for novels set in the Georgian period (1714 to 1837). She accurately depicts the eras’ customs, manners, and conventions for an immersive reading experience. Compared to Burrowes, James’ books are darker, more emotional, and contain steamier love scenes.

One of her most famous works is Wilde in Love, the first installment of The Wildes of Lindow Castle series. It’s about the romance of a charming bachelor everyone wants and a witty and uberly private heroine. Cosmopolitan named it one of the best books of 2017.

It was also bitterly true that a person who doesn’t want you is twice as desirable.”

Eloisa James, Desperate Duchesses
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:05 am GMT

3. Lisa Kleypas, 1964 – 

Lisa Kleypas
Lisa Kleypas listens to music and watches videos for inspiration

Lisa Kleypas is a RITA award-winning and New York Times bestselling contemporary and historical romance author. She was also a pageant queen in her earlier life, earning the Miss Massachusetts 1985 and Miss America 1986 titles. Though her early novels are set in the Regency era, she also writes about the late Victorian period (1837 to 1901).

Her most popular book is the 2016 Devil in Disguise, the story of Lady Merritt Sterling, a widowed young woman, and Keir MacRae, a whisky distiller on the run. It’s the seventh installment of The Ravenels series but can be read as a standalone novel.

It’s easy for us to mistake shyness for coldness and silence for indifference.”

Lisa Kleypas, Devil in Winter
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 02:46 am GMT

4. Tessa Dare, 1979 – 

Tessa Dare
Tessa Dare is a Jane Austen fan and has written Austen-based fanfiction

Tessa Dare delivers romance novels set in the Regency era that modern readers can relate to. She’s a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over 20 historical romances and is known for penning brave heroines who withstand the unequal customs of their times.

Dare’s novels’ present a distinct balance of emotion, humor, and sensuality. Her most well-received series is the Girl Meets Duke collection, which starts with The Duchess Deal. It’s about an impromptu decision of the Duke of Ashbury to marry Emma Gladstone — the lady in a wedding gown who suddenly appeared in his library. Once Emma becomes pregnant with his heir, the duke says they won’t share a bed ever again, Emma will make him rethink that.

I think you underestimate my capacity for taking normal human interaction and making it awkward.”

Tessa Dare, When a Scot Ties the Knot
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 02:56 am GMT

5. Mary Balogh, 1944 –

Mary Balogh
Mary Balogh’s first five books were written in longhand

Mary Balogh (pronounced BA-log) always dreamed of being a writer and, as a child, invented stories with her dolls. In 1988, she finally became a full-time author. Since then, her Georgian era-based tales of romance with intricate plots have captured the hearts of many, including Grace Burrowes. Balogh and Burrowes even partnered to write Once Upon a Dream (Bedwyn Saga #6.5).

Balogh’s first book, A Masked Deception, was followed by over 70 novels and almost 30 novellas. She’s a multi-awarded New York Times bestselling author of the Misstress Series, Simply Quartet, and Slightly (Bedwyn Saga). She also received the Romantic Times Lifetime Achievement Award.

“I would be consumed by you,’ she said, and blinked her eyes furiously when she felt them fill with tears. ‘You would sap all the energy and all the joy from me. You would put out all the fire of my vitality.”

Mary Balogh, Slightly Dangerous
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:11 am GMT

6. Sarah MacLean, 1978 –

Sarah MacLean
Sarah MacLean’s Nine Rules When Romancing the Rake stayed on the New York Times Bestseller List for four weeks

Sarah MacLean debuted as a New York Times bestseller with her first book, Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake. Since then, she’s also become a USA Today bestseller of young adult and historical romance. Her books are set in the Regency and Victorian periods.

MacLean advocates women’s empowerment, presenting cultural and social issues in her novels. Brooklyn Magazine called her “one of the leading progressive feminist voices writing romance today.”

Two novels from her Rules of Scoundrels series (No Good Duke Goes Unpublished and A Rogue by Any Other Name) earned the RITA Awards for Best Fictional Romance.

“Perfect is too clean, too easy. I don’t want perfect any more than I want to be perfect. I want imperfect.”

Sarah Maclean, A Rogue by Any Other Name
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 02:56 am GMT

7. Sabrina Jeffries, 1958 –

Sabrina Jeffries
Sabrina Jeffries published works under the pseudonyms Deborah Martin and Deborah Nicholas

At 12 years old, Sabrina Jeffries wanted to be a writer and hoped one of her books would someday save the world. Today, this New York Times bestselling author has over 50 novels and has sold over nine million copies worldwide.

Jeffries primarily writes steamy romances set in the Regency and Victorian eras, with storylines that develop far beyond romance. For instance, her novel Undercover Duke includes a murder investigation, making it something of a crime fiction novel. It earned #9 on the Publishers Weekly mass market paperback list.

“Love is taking chances when every rational part of you screams, ‘Don’t risk it.”

Sabrina Jeffries, A Lady Never Surrenders
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:01 am GMT

8. Loretta Chase, 1949 –

Loretta Chase
Loretta Chase based Mr. Chase, a character from her debut novel Isabella, on her husband

Loretta Lynda Chekani, aka Loretta Chase, is a multi-awarded New York Times bestseller of over 30 historical romance books. She’s best known for her Regency and Victorian romances, delivering fast-paced, sensual, and nontraditional plots.

Chase earned two RITA Awards for Best Novel for her The Sandalwood Princess and Lord of Scoundrels. She’s also a Reviewers’ Choice winner in various categories. In 2021, she received the Romance Writers of America VIVIAN Award. Her novel Ten Things I Hate About the Duke bagged her this highest honor in romance fiction.

Jessica, you are a pain in the arse, do you know that? If I were not so immensely fond of you, I should throw you out the window.”

Loretta Chase, Lord of Scoundrels
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 02:56 am GMT

9. Madeline Hunter, 1952 –

Madeline Hunter
Madeline Hunter is a former college professor and glass collector

Madeline Hunter published her first novel, By Arrangement, in 2000. The novel earned her the Waldenbooks Bestselling Debut Author award. Since then, she has written over 20 early 19th-century English romances and sold more than six million prints, establishing her name in the genre. Hunter’s also a two-time RITA winner and features on the New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestseller lists.

Hunter’s painstaking historical research lends authenticity to her work. Her narrative often combines mystery, humor, and suspense and includes a good dose of smut. A top-recommended Hunter novel is the third and final installment to her A Duke’s Heiress series, The Heiress Bride. Readers love Nicholas Radnor and Iris Barrington’s palpable chemistry.

My anger was never with you, but with the little hell my heart had put me in.”

Madeline Hunter, The Romantic
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 02:57 am GMT

10. Elizabeth Hoyt, 1970 –

Elizabeth Hoyt
Elizabeth Hoyt also writes contemporary romance under the pen name Julia Harper

Elizabeth Hoyt is a frequent name on the New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestseller lists. One of her most critically acclaimed novels is The Raven Prince, a story set in 1760s England about a widowed woman who became the secretary of a man with a bad temper.

Hoyt published 28 more novels set in the mid-18th-century period, including Amazon’s Editors Pick Scandalous Desires. It’s the tale of Silence Hollingbrook and her folly with the river pirate Mickey O’Connor. The novel is brimming with dramatic revelations and has a fast-paced plot.

Why did men think that saying something louder made it true?”

Elizabeth Hoyt, The Raven Prince
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:01 am GMT

11. Sherry Thomas,1975 –

Sherry Thomas
Sherry Thomas learned English by reading English romance novels

Sherry Thomas writes fantasy, Victorian-era historical romance, and wuxia-inspired duologies. Wuxia is a Chinese fiction genre focused on ancient martial arts heroes. 

This USA Today bestseller debuted in historical romance in 2008 with Private Arrangements. Publishers Weekly recognized this as the Best Book and Best First Historical Romance of the year. Fellow historical romance authors and critics have also acknowledged her writing prowess.

Thomas has won multiple literature awards for her late 19th-century novels, including the RITA Awards Romance Writers of America in 2009 and Best Historical Romance in 2010.

Do not undervalue what you are ultimately worth because you are at a momentary disadvantage.”

Sherry Thomas, A Study in Scarlet Women

If you enjoy escapism, check out our roundup of the best fantasy authors.

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:00 am GMT

12. Jo Beverley, 1947 – 2016

Jo Beverley
Jo Beverley co-founded the Ottawa Romance Writers’ Association

Jo Beverley (Mary Josephine Dunn Beverley) was a New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestselling author and a five-time RITA Awards Best Novel award recipient. During her lifetime, she wrote over 80 books and co-authored many works, including novels, novellas, and short stories. Beverley was labeled “one of the great names of the genre” by Romantic Times.

Her novels are set either in the Middle Ages (500-1500 CE) or the Georgian period, which includes the Regency era. Some of Beverley’s bestsellers are Lady Beware, A Shocking Delight, and Too Dangerous for a Lady. In 2016, Beverley died of cancer, leaving a beautiful legacy to the historical romance genre.

It’s nice sometimes to be the river rather than the rock.”

Jo Beverley
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 10:15 pm GMT

13. Anne Gracie, 1955 –

Anne Gracie
Anne Gracie learned history from Georgette Heyer, Rosemary Sutcliffe, and Henry Treece books

Anne Gracie’s love for reading inspired her to try her hand at fiction, especially when she discovered historical romance. This Australian novelist published her first Regency-era book in 1999, titled Gallant Waif.

Goodreads lists 89 books under Gracie’s profile, several of which are included in the Library Journal and National Public Radio best book lists. She’s a five-time RITA Award recipient and two-time Romantic Book of the Year – Australia awardee, to name a few.

Gracie has novelized four of The Tudors TV series with Michael Hirst. She’s remarkable in giving classic romance a fresh twist through well-developed characters and structured plots.

Even when no one loves you, there is always someone to love, someone who needs to be loved. Always.”

Anne Gracie, The Perfect Rake
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 10:15 pm GMT

14. Carla Kelly, 1947 –

Carla Kelly
Carla Kelly found her first writing success in Western American Fiction

Carla Kelly has a master’s degree in American Indian Wars and Historiography, which has inspired some of her novels. However, she is also particularly interested in the Napoleonic and Regency periods.

Kelly’s Mrs. Drew Plays Her Hand, and The Lady’s Companion earned her the RITA Award for Best Regency of the Year in 1995 and 1997. You’ll enjoy Kelly’s The Admiral’s Penniless Bride if you like Grace Burrowes’s The Captive.

… it is better to love foolishly than to hate bitterly.”

Carla Kelly, Reforming Lord Ragsdale
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:00 am GMT

15. Meredith Duran

Meredith Duran
Meredith Duran’s obsession with British history started with the infamous Anne Boleyn

Meredith Duran has always been fascinated by British history. Eventually, this fascination led her to publish over 12 books set in the Regency and Victorian periods. She published her debut book in 2008, The Duke of Shadows, which is now available in 13 languages. Along with her 2009 novel Bound by Your Touch, it earned Duran two spots among the 2010 100 Romances of All Time.

Duran is also a USA Today bestselling author for Fool Me Twice, which won the 2015 RITA Awards for Historical Fiction. Fool Me Twice is about a young woman who infiltrates a duke’s home, posing as a maid to uncover her family’s past.

Words are not the only way we communicate, you and I. They never were.”

Meredith Duran, The Duke of Shadows
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 02:56 am GMT

16. Shana Galen, 1972 –

Shana Galen
Shana Galen is the pen name of Shane Bolks

Shana Galen is known for her fast-paced, witty, and adventurous Regency stories. She’s an accomplished bestseller of historical romance and a three-time RITA Awards nominee.

So far, Galen has over 60 books, including her most famous Lord and Lady Spy. It’s a post-Napoleonic war tale of secret agent Lady Sophia Smythe and her spy husband, Lord Adrian Smythe.

To her, the journey was as important as the destination.”

Shana Galen, Sweet Rogue of Mine
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:05 am GMT

17. Jane Ashford, 1948 –

Jane Ashford
Jane Ashford fell in love with the Regency period from Georgette Heyer’s works

On her website, Jane Ashford (Jane Nancy LeCompte) shares that she has loved Regency stories since she was a teenager. Inspired by Georgette Heyer’s Arabella, Ashford ventured into writing her own novels. She started with Gwendeline and published it in 1980.

Today, Ashford is a two-time Career Achievement Award nominee by Romantic Times Book Reviews. She has a range of historical romances, including her popular series, The Duke’s Son with Heir to the Duke as its first installment.

Don’t waste a minute not being happy.”

Jan Ashford
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 02:56 am GMT

18. Erica Ridley

Erica Ridley
Erica Ridley began writing stories in elementary school

Erica Ridley is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of feel-good historical romances. Goodreads listed 132 books under her name, but her most famous work is the Dukes of War and Rouges to Riches series. These collections feature war heroes and mischievous peers who find love in England’s Regency era.

If you’re looking for a holiday-themed novel, try Ridley’s 12 Dukes of Christmas series, starting with Once Upon a Duke. It’s a witty and heartwarming Regency romance in a snow-covered village.

You let people underestimate you, because their dismissal gave you power.”

Erica Ridley, The Duke Heist
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 02:57 am GMT

19. Kelly Bowen, 1989 –

Kelly Bowen
Kelly Brows is a former research scientist

Kelly Bowen’s love for history and romance pushed her to become an author, and her efforts earned her a RITA award. This Canadian novelist published her first book, I’ve Got My Duke to Keep Me Warm, in 2014. Like Burrowes, Bowen’s Regency romance books present relatable characters and heartwarming love stories.

In 2021, she shared her first standalone novel, The Paris Apartment. It centers around Aurelia Leclaire’s adventure in uncovering her grandmother’s past. The story takes readers back to 1942, in German-occupied Paris.

You only meet the love of your life once. And if you’re fool enough not to recognize that sort of love and treasure it for what it will become, then you never deserved it in the first place.”

Kelly Bowen, The Paris Apartment
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 02:56 am GMT

20. Ella Quinn

Ella Quinn
Ella Quinn was a political science professor

Ella Quinn has always dealt with the serious side of everything. As a lawyer and political science teacher, reading historical romance was her escape. Now, she creates spicy and cheery tales set in Regency England herself. Her debut novel is also the first book in her Marriage Game series, The Seduction of Lady Phoebe, released in 2013.

Caroline Linden, a fellow writer in the genre, describes Quinn’s When a Marquis Choose a Bride as “a classic Regency romp! Perfect for fans of Grace Burrowes.”

Augusta wanted his arms holding her and she should not. She took a shuddering breath.”

Ella Quinn, Believe in Me
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:06 am GMT

21. Emily Larkin

Emily Larkin
Being the daughter of a writer and librarian, Emily Larkin grew up in a house full of books

Emily Larkin used to write stories until secondary school, then lost interest in English. Years later, Larkin turned her thoughts into a manuscript. Now, she’s a USA Today bestselling author of over 30 Regency romances.

Larkin is a finalist in various awards, including the RITA Awards, National Readers Choice, Booksellers Best, and Koru Awards. The Baleful Godmother series is Larkin’s most famous work, capturing readers with novels combining various genres. It starts with Unmasking Miss Appleby, a tale of Charlotte Appleby, a young woman who can shapeshift and decides to pretend to be a man.

Each jotted word, each underlined sentence, gave her a glimpse of who he was. His thoughts, his opinions, his values all were laid out for her to see.”

Emily Larkin, Unmasking Miss Appleby
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:01 am GMT

22. Courtney Milan, 1976 –

Courtney Milan
Courtney Milan published her first novel in 2010

Courtney Milan is a New York Times and USA Today bestseller of Regency and Victorian period romance. Her novels received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, and Booklist. Milan is loved not only because of her tales of “carriages and corsets” but also because most of her works can be described as feminist fairytales.

Milan’s Brothers Sinister series is her most popular work. It has a strong narrative, with diverse characters and social commentary. The first book in the series is The Duchess War, but there’s also a novella published before the first novel (The Governess Affair: A Novella).

She was nothing. He had everything. And for what little it was worth, he was embarrassed by his own strength.”

Courtney Milan, The Duchess War
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/09/2024 03:11 am GMT

Author

  • Maria Caballero is a freelance writer who has been writing since high school. She believes that to be a writer doesn't only refer to excellent syntax and semantics but also knowing how to weave words together to communicate to any reader effectively.