11 Best Authors like Elle Kennedy: Discover Love on Every Page

Discover our guide and immerse yourself in the passionate, heartwarming, and exciting worlds created by authors like Elle Kennedy.

The contemporary romance genre is a literary treasure trove, brimming with tales of love, passion, and the complexities of human relationships. Readers who enjoy vivid storytelling and captivating characters often find themselves immersed in the works of talented authors, each offering unique perspectives and engaging narratives. For fans of the genre, discovering authors like Elle Kennedy can be an exciting journey through the vast landscape of contemporary romance, where fresh voices and unforgettable stories await exploration.

Elle Kennedy is an acclaimed author of contemporary and new adult romance novels, best known for her gripping storylines and endearing characters. With her popular Off-Campus and Briar U series, she has established herself as a prominent figure in romance literature. Readers who appreciate Elle Kennedy’s exceptional talent for creating captivating stories with swoon-worthy romances always seek authors like Eloisa James or Elle Kennedy to expand their literary horizons with unforgettable love stories. 

Best Authors like Elle Kennedy Ranked

1. Colleen Hoover, 1979 –

Colleen Hoover
Photo of author Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover is a renowned author of contemporary romance and new adult novels, with her emotionally driven storytelling captivating readers worldwide. Her ability to explore complex emotions and relationships has earned her a dedicated following on social media and booktok. Many of her books have become New York Times bestsellers. She has a knack for creating memorable characters that resonate with readers. In addition to It Ends with Us, Colleen has written other popular novels such as Ugly Love, Confess, and November 9, further solidifying her reputation as a talented and versatile author in the romance genre.

One of her best books is It Ends with Us, a powerful and heart-wrenching story that delves into the complexity of love and the strength it takes to break free from abusive relationships. With captivating main characters, the book tackles complex themes with sensitivity and grace, leaving a lasting impact on its readers. It Ends with Us has received numerous accolades and is often featured in book recommendations for contemporary romance.

“Sometimes the one who loves you is the one who hurts you the most.”

Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us
It Ends with Us: A Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Hoover, Colleen (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 381 Pages - 08/02/2016 (Publication Date) - Atria Books (Publisher)

2. Christina Lauren, 1980 – 

Christina Lauren
Photo of Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings

Christina Lauren is the pen name for the writing duo of Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings, who have taken the contemporary romance genre by storm with their witty, engaging, and heartfelt stories. Their partnership began on the internet, and they’ve since become a powerhouse in the romance world, with several of their books landing on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists. The duo is known for creating memorable heroines and exploring a variety of tropes, keeping their fans eagerly anticipating each new release. Some of their popular novels include Beautiful Bastard, Roomies, and Love and Other Words, which showcase their range and skill in crafting engaging romantic stories.

A delightful enemies-to-lovers story, The Unhoneymooners showcases Christina Lauren’s ability to craft engaging, feel-good romances. The book follows two main characters on an all-expenses-paid honeymoon trip together, despite their mutual dislike. As they navigate various mishaps and challenges, they see each other in a new light, leading to an unexpected romance.

“Sometimes you meet someone who is irritating in the best way.”

Christina Lauren, The Unhoneymooners

3. Penelope Douglas, 1981 –

Penelope Douglas
Book cover of Bully

Penelope Douglas is a celebrated author of new adult romance and contemporary romance novels, known for her captivating storytelling and relatable characters. Her books often explore the themes of love, growth, and the transformative power of relationships. With multiple books on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists, Penelope has a dedicated following among romance readers. In addition to the Fall Away series, Penelope has written other popular series, such as the Devil’s Night series, and standalone novels like Birthday Girl, showcasing her versatility and talent in romance.

Bully, the first book in the Fall Away series, stands out as a high school romance that follows the story of a young woman falling for her tormentor, leading to a passionate enemies-to-lovers romance. With complex main characters and an exploration of the power dynamics within relationships, Bully has become a favorite among readers for its emotional depth and engaging narrative.

“Love makes you weak. It makes you powerless.”

Penelope Douglas, Bully
Bully (The Fall Away Series Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Douglas, Penelope (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 337 Pages - 02/18/2014 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

4. Ana Huang, 1991 –

Ana Huang
Book cover of If We Ever Meet Again

Ana Huang is an up-and-coming contemporary and new adult romance genre author. Thanks to her well-crafted stories and engaging characters, she has quickly gained a following on social media and booktok. Ana’s books often feature a mix of tropes, from enemies-to-lovers to slow burn romances, making her work a popular choice among romance readers seeking book recommendations. Apart from If We Ever Meet Again, Ana has written other engaging novels, such as Twisted Games and These Violent Delights, which showcase her skill in crafting immersive stories and memorable characters.

If We Ever Meet Again, a captivating slow-burn romance, follows two college students who meet during a study abroad program in Paris. The book’s main characters navigate their growing feelings for each other while confronting personal challenges and cultural differences. With its immersive setting and relatable characters, If We Ever Meet Again has quickly become a favorite among readers.

“Maybe the best kind of love is the unexpected kind.”

Ana Huang, If We Ever Meet Again
If We Ever Meet Again (If Love Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Huang, Ana (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 294 Pages - 06/30/2020 (Publication Date) - Amazon Digital Services (Publisher)

5. Sarina Bowen, 1971 –

Sarina Bowen
Book cover of The Year We Fell Down

Sarina Bowen is an accomplished author of sports romance novels focusing on hockey players and college romance. Her engaging writing and memorable characters have earned her a spot on the USA Today bestseller list. Her books are often recommended for fans of Elle Kennedy’s Off-Campus series. Sarina’s work is known for its emotional depth, humor, and strong bonds between her characters. In addition to the Ivy Years series, Sarina has co-written the popular Him and WAGs series with Elle Kennedy, further demonstrating her skill in crafting compelling sports romances.

The Year We Fell Down, the first book in the Ivy Years series, is a beloved college romance that follows two hockey players who bond over their love of the sport and their struggles. The book explores resilience, personal growth, and the power of love to heal. With its realistic portrayal of college life and well-developed main characters, The Year We Fell Down has become a favorite read among sports romance fans.

“Just because I can’t do it doesn’t mean I don’t see it happening.”

Sarina Bowen, The Year We Fell Down
The Year We Fell Down: A Hockey Romance (The Ivy Years Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Bowen, Sarina (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 274 Pages - 03/20/2014 (Publication Date) - Tuxbury Publishing LLC (Publisher)

6. Tessa Bailey, 1982 –

Tessa Bailey
Book cover of Fix Her Up

Tessa Bailey is a bestselling author of contemporary and new adult romance novels. Her work is known for its steamy love scenes, engaging characters, and captivating storylines. With multiple books on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists, Tessa has a dedicated following among romance readers, who eagerly anticipate each new release. Her work often features strong, independent heroines and irresistible heroes, creating a winning combination for fans of the genre. Besides Fix Her Up, Tessa has written other popular series like the Line of Duty and the Romancing the Clarksons series, demonstrating her range and skill in crafting steamy and engaging romances.

Fix Her Up, the first book in the Hot & Hammered series, is a charming and steamy romance that follows a home renovation specialist and his best friend’s younger sister as they navigate their undeniable attraction. With its witty banter, strong character development, and engaging plot, Fix Her Up has become a favorite among readers for its blend of humor and heat. The book showcases Tessa Bailey’s talent for creating memorable characters and addictive storylines that resonate with fans of contemporary romance.

“If you can’t stand the heat, don’t fall for a firefighter.”

Tessa Bailey, Fix Her Up

7. Kristen Callihan, 1976 –

Kristen Callihan
Book cover of The Hook Up

Kristen Callihan is a popular author of contemporary, new adult, and paranormal romance novels. Her captivating storytelling and memorable characters have earned her a dedicated fan base and spots on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists. Kristen’s work often features strong, independent heroines, and her engaging writing style has made her a favorite among romance readers.

The Hook Up, the first book in the Game On series, is a fan-favorite college sports romance novel that follows the love story between a star football player and an educated young woman. With its witty banter, emotional depth, and well-developed characters, The Hook Up has become a highly recommended read for new adult romance fans. In addition to the Game On series, Kristen has written the captivating Darkest London series, which blends historical romance with paranormal elements, further showcasing her talent for creating immersive worlds and unforgettable romances.

“You can’t control everything, and sometimes you have to trust that what’s meant to happen will.”

Kristen Callihan, The Hook Up
The Hook Up (Game On Series Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Callihan, Kristen (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 354 Pages - 09/07/2014 (Publication Date) - Plain Jane Books (Publisher)

8. Mariana Zapata, 1984 –

Mariana Zapata
Book cover of Kulti

Mariana Zapata is a celebrated author of contemporary romance and new adult romance novels. She is known for her slow-burn romances that gradually build tension and chemistry between the main characters. Her engaging writing and well-developed characters have earned her a loyal following among romance readers who appreciate the depth and realism of her stories.

Kulti, one of Mariana’s most highly recommended novels, follows the story of a female soccer player who must navigate her complicated feelings for her new coach, a retired soccer legend. The book showcases Mariana’s talent for creating engaging, slow-burn romances that capture readers’ hearts. In addition to Kulti, Mariana has written other popular slow-burn romances such as The Wall of Winnipeg and Me and From Lukov with Love, demonstrating her ability to create compelling stories with relatable characters and emotionally satisfying conclusions.

“Trust. Such an easy word. Such an impossible quality.”

Mariana Zapata, Kulti
Kulti
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Zapata, Mariana (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 552 Pages - 03/20/2015 (Publication Date)

9. Helena Hunting, 1979 –

Helena Hunting
Book cover of Pucked

Helena Hunting is a bestselling author of contemporary romance, sports romance, and romantic comedy novels. Her work is known for its humor, steamy love scenes, and engaging characters. Helena’s ability to create heartwarming and entertaining stories has earned her spots on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists and made her a favorite among romance readers.

Pucked, the first book in the Pucked series is a hilarious and steamy sports romance that follows the love story between a professional hockey player and his teammate’s sister. With its laugh-out-loud humor, sizzling chemistry, and memorable characters, Pucked has become a popular recommendation for fans of romantic comedy and sports romance. In addition to the Pucked series, Helena has written other well-received books, such as the Shacking Up series, and standalone novels like Meet Cute, which continue to showcase her talent for crafting delightful, romantic, and engaging stories.

“Sometimes the things we can’t change end up changing us.”

Helena Hunting, Pucked
PUCKED (The Pucked Series Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Hunting, Helena (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 382 Pages - 05/03/2015 (Publication Date) - Helena Hunting (Publisher)

10. R.S. Grey, 1986 –

R.S. Grey is a bestselling author of contemporary romance and romantic comedy novels. Her captivating stories and relatable characters have earned her a dedicated following among romance readers. With her unique blend of humor, heart, and steamy love scenes, R.S. Grey has become a go-to author for fans looking for lighthearted, feel-good reads that brighten their day.

One of R.S. Grey’s standout novels is Scoring Wilder, a charming sports romance featuring a young soccer player who finds herself falling for her off-limits coach. The book showcases R.S. Grey’s talent for crafting engaging stories filled with witty banter, laugh-out-loud humor, and sizzling chemistry between the main characters.

“He was a storm I never saw coming, an unexpected tempest that blew me off course.”

R.S. Grey, Scoring Wilder
Scoring Wilder
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Grey, R.S. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 404 Pages - 06/15/2014 (Publication Date)

11. Ilsa Madden-Mills, 1968 –

Ilsa Madden-Mills
Book cover of Dear Ava

Ilsa Madden-Mills is an acclaimed author of contemporary romance and new adult romance novels. Her emotionally charged stories, unforgettable characters, and engaging writing have earned her spots on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestseller lists. With her ability to explore complex relationships and the transformative power of love, Ilsa Madden-Mills has become a favorite among fans of the genre.

One of her most popular books is Dear Ava, an intense enemies-to-lovers romance that follows the story of a high school senior who receives an anonymous love letter from one of her tormentors. The book delves into themes of forgiveness, redemption, and personal growth, showcasing Ilsa Madden-Mills’ talent for creating emotionally resonant stories that captivate readers. Looking for more? Check out our round-up of essays about emotions!

“The stars in the sky might be endless, but the ones in your eyes are infinite.”

Ilsa Madden-Mills, Dear Ava
Dear Ava: Enemies-to-Lovers Standalone Romance
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Madden-Mills, Ilsa (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 376 Pages - 02/01/2020 (Publication Date)

Author

  • Kate has been writing since she was 10 years old, tapping away on an old typewriter in her childhood bedroom. Today, Kate is a seasoned freelance writer with over 10 years of experience writing for print and online media. She’s an avid reader and believes in the power of words to transport readers to new worlds, and inspire and nurture creativity. Kate is also a published author and is currently working on her next project.