13 Authors Like Charlotte Byrd for Fans of Dark Romance Books

If you’re a fan of dark, suspenseful romance books, check out our guide with thrilling authors like Charlotte Byrd.

Addictive, dark romance is what Charlotte Byrd is all about, and the fact that this author has sold more than 1.5 million copies of her books suggests that it’s what many of us readers are about, too! Byrd is a bestselling author who lives in Southern California and loves dark romance storytelling, hot weather, and beautiful beaches. 

Byrd’s personality shines through in her writing, conveying her love for steamy escapist romance that you can’t put down! Fans of Byrd who have worked through every dark romance book she’s written will no doubt be casting around to find their new binge-worthy writer. You might also be interested in our list of authors like Penelope Sky.

Best Authors Like Charlotte Byrd Ranked

1. Lara Adrian, 1966 – 

Lara Adrian is the pen name of author Tina St. John and is the brains behind the hugely popular Midnight Breed series of dark vampire romance novels. Adrian is an Amazon and New York Times bestselling writer and has received many awards for her work, including accolades from National Readers’ Choice and Romantic Times magazine accolades. For readers new to this author, the Midnight Breed collection, Kiss of Midnight, is a compelling and steamy romantic read to start with.

“And in the back of his mind, an ancient conscience whispered that whoever she was, she already belonged to him.”

Lara Adrian, Kiss of Midnight
Sale
Kiss of Midnight (The Midnight Breed, Book 1)
  • Adrian, Lara (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 432 Pages - 05/01/2007 (Publication Date) - Dell (Publisher)

2. Victoria Quinn, Active 2017 – 

New York Times bestselling author Victoria Quinn is best known for the Obsidian series, an epic, darkly romantic collection that begins with the novel Black Obsidian. Fans of Charlotte Byrd will devour these intense, plot-driven books – but not to worry, Quinn has written several other collections, including the Boss, Cherry, and Hamilton series, so there’s plenty to sink your teeth into. When she’s not dreaming up the plot of her next bestseller, Quinn loves to relax at home in Seattle with her husband and two cats.

“A real man admits when he’s wrong. He acknowledges his flaws and doesn’t hide behind his pride. Drop the ego and man up.”

Victoria Quinn, Black Obsidian
Black Obsidian
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Quinn, Victoria (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 433 Pages - 03/07/2017 (Publication Date) - Hartwick Publishing (Publisher)

3. Elle Kennedy, 1979 – 

Readers who love the strong romantic suspense elements in Charlotte Byrd’s Tell Me to Stop series will adore Canadian bestselling author Elle Kennedy. This writer’s Killer Instincts collection begins with the novel Midnight Rescue, which introduces readers to Abby Sinclair, an assassin charged with undertaking various dangerous assignments. When Abby’s cover is blown, it’s down to mercenary Kane Woodland to come to the rescue… Check out these authors like Elle Kennedy and authors like QB Tyler.

“‘I won’t hurt you,’ he said quietly. ‘For once in your life, lower your guard and let yourself feel something, damn it.’”

Elle Kennedy, Midnight Rescue
Midnight Rescue: A Killer Instincts Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Kennedy, Elle (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 368 Pages - 05/01/2012 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

4. Georgia Le Carre, Active 2013 – 

Le Carre writes steamy adult romance novels, often with a sting in their tail, that readers of Charlotte Byrd will appreciate. Every novel in Le Carre’s Billionaire Banker series has been an Amazon bestseller. If you’re new to this author, begin with Owned, which is the beginning of the collection and introduces readers to Lana Bloom and the gorgeous, mysterious stranger that appears in her life and seems determined to pursue her.

“He is seized by an unthinking, irresistible call to hunt…To Possess. To own her.”

Georgia Le Carre, Owned
Owned (Billionaire Banker Series Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Le Carre, Georgia (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 201 Pages - 10/14/2013 (Publication Date) - Georgia Le Carre (Publisher)

5. Penelope Douglas, Active 2015 – 

If you’re looking for your next hit of contemporary romance with lots of action, Penelope Douglas is well worth checking out. This New York Times bestselling author is the pen behind the Hellbent series, comprising six fast-paced, adrenaline-packed tales of forbidden romance. From Falls Boys to the forthcoming Pirate Girls, only start one of these novels if you’re prepared to read it in one sitting – they’re seriously addictive. Douglas loves horror movies and cites her favorite authors as Steig Larrson, Marie Lu, and Erin Morgenstern. Learn more in our list of authors like Penelope Douglas.

“You think I would let her touch me?” he whispers, hefting me up high. “Only you’re allowed to touch me.”

Penelope Douglas, Falls Boys
Falls Boys (Hellbent Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Douglas, Penelope (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 501 Pages - 03/21/2022 (Publication Date) - Penelope Douglas LLC (Publisher)

6. Sylvia Day, 1973 – 

Sylvia Day
Photo of author Sylvia Day, 2015

There are over thirteen million copies of the Japanese-American writer Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series in print, and the rights have been licensed in more than forty territories worldwide. Darkly suspenseful and romantic, the Crossfire novels have captivated readers around the globe, offering hope that, no matter where we’ve come from and what we’ve suffered in the past, we all deserve – and can find – true love. Day currently serves on the Author’s Guild Board of Directors and hosts creative writing seminars across the US. You may also enjoy these authors like Sylvia Day.

“I’ve always seen you, angel. From the moment you found me, I’ve seen nothing but you.”

Sylvia Day, Bared to You
Bared to You (Crossfire, Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Day, Sylvia (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 337 Pages - 05/24/2012 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

7. Alessandra Torre, Active 2012 – 

Alessandra Torre
Photo of author Alessandra Torre at a book signing, 2014

Alessandra Torre isn’t just the author of fourteen novels; she’s also featured in articles in Elle and Elle UK, has guest blogged for RT Book Reviews and The Huffington Post, and is Cosmopolitan’s Bedroom Blogger. On top of all that, two of this author’s books have been optioned for film, and her novels have been published in nine different countries. Fans of Charlotte Byrd’s blend of romance and suspense will find much to enjoy in Torre’s stories. The Ghostwriter is a great introduction to this author and deserves to find its way to the top of your summer to-read pile.

“Funny what you find out about people when they leave you. Or when your mind stops making excuses for all of their clues.”

Alessandra Torre, The Ghostwriter
The Ghostwriter
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Torre, Alessandra (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 318 Pages - 09/29/2017 (Publication Date) - DCA (Publisher)

8. Lisa Jewell, 1968 – 

Lisa Jewell
Photo of Lisa Jewell, 2018

The UK author Lisa Jewell has written many popular contemporary novels, including her 1998 debut Ralph’s Party and Thirtynothing. In recent years, Jewell has become well known for her romantic suspense novels with a darker edge, such as The Family Upstairs and The Night She Disappeared. This author’s career took off after a challenge from her friend to write three chapters of a novel in exchange for dinner at Jewell’s favorite restaurant. Jewell accepted the challenge, and the rest is history!

“‘All men are weak,’ said Phin. ‘That’s the whole bloody trouble with the world. Too weak to love properly. Too weak to be wrong.’”

The Family Upstairs, Lisa Jewell
Sale
The Family Upstairs: A Novel
  • Jewell, Lisa (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 384 Pages - 06/02/2020 (Publication Date) - Atria (Publisher)

9. Aya de Leon, 1967 – 

If you loved Charlotte Byrd’s crime-romance Black Edge books, then you’ll adore the novels of American author and activist Aya de Leon, which cover similar territory. A Spy in the Struggle is a great way to get acquainted with this author. The tale concerns newly hired FBI lawyer Yolanda Vance, who’s tasked with infiltrating a teen activist group – but also has to deal with getting swept off her feet simultaneously.

“‘Three things cannot long stay hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth. —Buddha’”

Aya de Leon, A Spy in the Struggle
Sale
A Spy in the Struggle: A Riveting Must-Read Novel of Suspense
  • de Leon, Aya (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 336 Pages - 12/29/2020 (Publication Date) - Dafina (Publisher)

10. Nora Roberts, 1950 – 

Nora Roberts
Photo of author Nora Roberts, 2007

There are few prolific novelists than Nora Roberts, who’s written more than 225 contemporary romance books. Roberts was also the first inductee into the Romance Writers of America Hall of Fame, and her novels have held the top spot on the New York Times bestseller list for around 180 weeks. Readers who enjoy the twists and turns of a classic Charlotte Byrd story will be gripped by Roberts’s Less of a Stranger – a great introduction to this writer’s world.

“His hair was blond. Not pale like the twins’ but dusty and sun-streaked.” Nora Roberts, Less of a Stranger

Nora Roberts, Less of a Stranger
Less Of A Stranger
  • Roberts, Nora (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 224 Pages - 09/01/2003 (Publication Date) - Silhouette (Publisher)

11. Diana Biller, Active 2018 – 

Diana Biller’s latest novel, Hotel of Secrets, is a rich fusion of edge-of-your-seat espionage and old-fashioned romance, with intrigue imbuing every page. The novel has been meticulously researched, making it even easier to fall under the author’s spell as you delve further into the mysteries of the dilapidated Hotel Waller.

“During ball season, anything can happen, even love.”

Diana Biller, Hotel of Secrets
Sale
Hotel of Secrets
  • Biller, Diana (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 416 Pages - 03/28/2023 (Publication Date) - Griffin (Publisher)

12. Linda Howard, 1950 –

Linda Howard’s first novel, All the Glitters, appeared in 1982, and today, she’s racked up more than fifty publications. Those seeking their next installment of suspenseful romance should add Kill and Tell to their ‘to read’ pile; this novel is a heady blend of politics, power, murder, and passion. It’s the first book in Howard’s CIA Spies series, so there’s plenty more to enjoy! You might like these authors like Toni Anderson.

“The bar lights glittered on the wet pavement, and jazz wailed out of the open doors of the bars, colliding with the more discordant, driving beats coming from the strip joints, where bored-looking dancers, both male and female, gyrated their hips and humped poles and pretended to be sexy.”

Linda Howard, Kill and Tell
Kill and Tell: A Novel (CIA Spies Series Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Howard, Linda (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 321 Pages - 08/09/2011 (Publication Date) - Pocket Books (Publisher)

13. Maya Banks, Active 2006 –

Maya Banks
Photo of author Maya Banks at a book signing, 2015

The Darkest Hour by Maya Banks is a seminal example of this author’s skill at weaving a romantic suspense novel full of action, adventure, and plot twists. Ex-Navy SEAL Ethan Kelly is on a desperate mission to find his wife, Rachel, who brutal drug cartel members have captured. Kelly is prepared to do whatever it takes to save his beloved – and pay any price along the way. Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best Jeffrey Archer books

“She laid her head against his collarbone, and he kissed her temple. To her shock, she felt a shudder roll through his body about the same time she registered wetness against her skin. Tears. His tears.”

Maya Banks, The Darkest Hour
Sale
The Darkest Hour (A KGI Novel)
  • Banks, Maya (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 304 Pages - 09/07/2010 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

Author

  • Melanie Smith is a freelance content and creative writer from Gloucestershire, UK, where she lives with her daughter, long-suffering partner, and cat, The Magical Mr. Bobo. Her blog posts and articles feature regularly in magazines and websites around the world.