14 Authors Like Toni Morrison That Are Voices of Resilience

These authors like Toni Morrison have shaped the literary landscape, exploring themes of race, identity, and the strength of the human spirit.

African American literature has given us some of modern history’s most influential and thought-provoking works. Exploring themes of race, identity, and resilience, these stories provide an essential window into the African American experience, reflecting the pain, triumph, and endurance of people who have faced adversity and injustice. Over the years, the authors on this list have used their talents to challenge societal norms, break down barriers, and create space for important conversations about race and representation.

Toni Morrison is a prolific novelist, essayist, and editor. Her work consistently pushed boundaries and defied expectations, earning her many accolades and awards, including the Nobel Prize in Literature and the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. Some of her most renowned works, such as Beloved, Song of Solomon, and Sula, delve into the complexities of African American life, exploring the legacy of slavery, the impact of racism, and the power of community. This list of authors like Toni Morrison demonstrates that her message lives on.

Best Authors Like Toni Morrison Ranked

1. Alice Walker, 1944 –

Alice Walker
Alice Walker speaking from behind a podium

Alice Walker is a renowned author, poet, and activist whose work has been recognized with numerous awards, including the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and the National Book Award. She is known for her evocative portrayal of African American women’s experiences and her commitment to social justice. One of her most famous novels, The Color Purple, remains a must-read book recommendation and a touchstone in the literary world. The novel’s groundbreaking narrative highlights the resilience of Black people in the face of adversity and oppression.

In The Color Purple, Walker tells the heart-wrenching story of Celie, a young Black girl living in rural Georgia during the early 20th century. The novel explores themes of love, sisterhood, and the power of the human spirit to overcome trauma. Walker’s lyrical prose and unforgettable characters have made this novel a classic in the canon of African American literature.

“I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don’t notice it.”

Alice Walker, The Color Purple
The Color Purple
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Walker, Alice (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 302 Pages - 09/20/2011 (Publication Date) - Open Road Media (Publisher)

2. Zora Neale Hurston, 1891 – 1960

Zora Neale Hurston
author Zora Neale Hurston, portrait photo wearing a hat

Zora Neale Hurston was a trailblazing female writer and anthropologist known for her seminal fiction works and contributions to the Harlem Renaissance. She was among the first African American women to gain widespread recognition in the literary world, paving the way for future generations of Black female authors. Hurston’s work often drew from her own experiences and showcased the richness and complexity of Black culture in the Jim Crow-era South.

Hurston’s masterpiece, Their Eyes Were Watching God, is a must-read novel that has earned a place among the great works of American literature. The story follows Janie Crawford, a young black woman in the early 20th century, as she navigates love, identity, and self-discovery. With its lyrical prose and vivid imagery, Hurston’s novel has captivated readers for generations.

“There are years that ask questions and years that answer.”

Zora Neale Hurston, Their Eyes Were Watching God

No products found.

3. James Baldwin, 1924 – 1987

James Baldwin
James Baldwin standing outside

James Baldwin was a prolific writer and social critic whose works explored themes of race, sexuality, and identity in mid-20th century America. Baldwin’s fearless exploration of taboo subjects and his eloquent prose earned him a place among the most influential writers of his time. His essays and novels have become essential for anyone interested in understanding the experience of Black people in America, with many works appearing on bestseller lists.

One of Baldwin’s most celebrated novels, Go Tell It on the Mountain, is a semi-autobiographical story that examines the role of religion and family in the lives of Black people during the Harlem Renaissance. The novel follows the life of John Grimes, a young Black man grappling with his spiritual and personal identity. Baldwin’s powerful storytelling and insightful characterizations make this novel a must-read for anyone interested in the complexities of the African American experience.

“You think your pain and your heartbreak are unprecedented in the history of the world, but then you read.”

James Baldwin, Go Tell It on the Mountain
Go Tell It on the Mountain (Vintage International)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Baldwin, James (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 242 Pages - 09/17/2013 (Publication Date) - Vintage (Publisher)

4. Maya Angelou, 1928 – 2014

Maya Angelou
Maya Angelou attending president bill Clinton’s inauguration

Maya Angelou was an iconic figure in American literature, known for her powerful poetry and autobiographical works. Her writing often explored themes of race, gender, and the human spirit, earning her numerous accolades, including three Grammy Awards and the Presidential Medal of Freedom. Angelou’s work has had a lasting impact on the literary world, inspiring countless readers and writers with her unwavering honesty and courage.

Angelou’s groundbreaking memoir, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, chronicles her early life and the traumas she faced as a young Black girl growing up in the Jim Crow South. The book explores themes of race, identity, and resilience, offering a powerful and moving testament to the strength of the human spirit. Angelou’s lyrical prose and candid storytelling make this memoir a must-read for anyone interested in the African American experience.

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”

Maya Angelou, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Angelou, Maya (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 317 Pages - 04/15/2009 (Publication Date) - Random House (Publisher)

5. Jesmyn Ward, 1977 –

Jesmyn Ward
Jesmyn Ward standing atop a mountain

Jesmyn Ward is a contemporary author who has gained significant recognition in the literary world for her poignant and powerful writing. A two-time winner of the National Book Award for Fiction, Ward is known for her vivid portrayal of the African American experience in the rural South. Her work often explores family, poverty, and race themes, offering a unique perspective on the lives of black people in America.

Ward’s novel, Sing, Unburied, Sing, is a haunting and evocative story that weaves together multiple generations of a Mississippi family. The book follows 13-year-old Jojo and his family on a harrowing journey to confront their past and find redemption. Sing, Unburied, Sing has earned widespread acclaim, with many readers and critics considering it a must-read work of contemporary fiction.

“Sometimes the world don’t give you what you need, no matter how hard you look.”

Jesmyn Ward, Sing, Unburied, Sing
Sing, Unburied, Sing: A Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Ward, Jesmyn (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 299 Pages - 09/05/2017 (Publication Date) - Scribner (Publisher)

6. Ta-Nehisi Coates, 1975 –

Ta-Nehisi Coates
Ta-Nehisi Coates giving a speech

Ta-Nehisi Coates is a prominent author, journalist, and social activist whose work examines the intersection of race, culture, and politics in contemporary America. Coates has earned numerous awards for his writing, including the National Book Award for Nonfiction and the MacArthur “Genius” Fellowship. His insightful and thought-provoking essays have made him a leading voice on issues of race and inequality in the United States.

Coates’ critically acclaimed memoir, Between the World and Me, is a powerful exploration of the African American experience, framed as a letter to his teenage son. The book delves into the challenges and realities of being a black man in America, offering a compelling and deeply personal reflection on race and identity.

“You are growing into consciousness, and my wish for you is that you feel no need to constrict yourself to make other people comfortable.”

 Ta-Nehisi Coates, Between the World and Me
Between the World and Me
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Coates, Ta-Nehisi (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 155 Pages - 07/14/2015 (Publication Date) - One World (Publisher)

7. Colson Whitehead, 1969 –

Colson Whitehead
Colson Whitehead at the texas book festival

Colson Whitehead is an acclaimed author known for his innovative and genre-defying works of fiction. A two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, Whitehead has established himself as a leading voice in contemporary literature. His novels often tackle pressing social issues while experimenting with form and structure, making him a favorite among readers and critics.

Whitehead’s novel, The Underground Railroad, reimagines the historical escape route for enslaved people as an actual railway system, blending elements of history, fantasy, and social commentary. The story follows Cora, a young enslaved person, as she embarks on a harrowing journey to freedom, pursued by a relentless slave catcher. The Underground Railroad has been praised for its compelling narrative and inventive approach to history.

“Sometimes a useful delusion is better than a useless truth.”

Colson Whitehead, The Underground Railroad
The Underground Railroad (Pulitzer Prize Winner) (National Book Award Winner) (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Whitehead, Colson (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 300 Pages - 08/02/2016 (Publication Date) - Anchor (Publisher)

8. Toni Cade Bambara, 1939 – 1995

Toni Cade Bambara
Toni Cade Bambara all smiles in a crowd

Toni Cade Bambara was an influential author, educator, and social activist whose work had a lasting impact on the literary world. Known for her powerful storytelling and vibrant characters, Bambara often centered her writing on the lives of African American women, exploring themes of race, class, and feminism. Her short stories and novels have been widely praised, and she played a key role in shaping the emerging voices of Black female authors in the 20th century.

Bambara’s short story collection, Gorilla, My Love, is a masterful exploration of the African American experience, featuring diverse characters and settings. The stories in the collection are both humorous and poignant, showcasing Bambara’s talent for capturing the essence of everyday life. Gorilla, My Love has become a classic in African American literature, inspiring countless readers and writers.

“Words set things in motion. I’ve seen them doing it. Words set up atmospheres, electrical fields, charges.”

Toni Cade Bambara, Gorilla, My Love
Gorilla, My Love (Vintage Contemporaries)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Bambara, Toni Cade (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 192 Pages - 02/09/2011 (Publication Date) - Vintage (Publisher)

9. Ralph Ellison, 1913 – 1994

Ralph Ellison
Ralph Ellison posing in front of a bookshelf

Ralph Ellison was a celebrated author and intellectual whose work significantly impacted American literature. Best known for his groundbreaking novel, Invisible Man, Ellison explored themes of race, identity, and the African American experience in the 20th century. His writing earned him numerous accolades, including the National Book Award, and he became a prominent figure in the literary world.

Invisible Man is a powerful and deeply affecting novel that follows the journey of a young black man who feels unseen and unrecognized in a world dominated by racism and prejudice. The novel’s innovative structure and rich symbolism make it a must-read classic of American literature.

I am invisible, understand, simply because people refuse to see me.”

 Ralph Ellison, Invisible Man
Invisible Man
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Ellison, Ralph (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 610 Pages - 09/02/2019 (Publication Date)

10. Octavia Butler, 1947 – 2006

Octavia Estelle Butler
Octavia Butler at a book signing

Octavia Butler was a pioneering science fiction author whose work broke new ground in the genre, addressing themes of race, gender, and identity. As one of the few African American women writing science fiction during her time, Butler’s innovative storytelling and unique perspectives earned her numerous awards, including multiple Hugo and Nebula Awards.

Butler’s acclaimed novel, Kindred, is a thought-provoking exploration of the legacy of slavery in America. The book tells the story of Dana, a young black woman who is inexplicably transported back to the antebellum South, where she must confront her ancestors’ brutal past. Kindred is a captivating and powerful novel that remains a must-read in the science fiction genre.

“I never realized how easily people could be trained to accept slavery.

Octavia Butler, Kindred
Kindred
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Butler, Octavia E. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 306 Pages - 02/01/2004 (Publication Date) - Beacon Press (Publisher)

11. Langston Hughes, 1902 – 1967

Langston Hughes
Langston Hughes posing for an official photo

Langston Hughes was a prolific poet, novelist, and playwright who played a central role in the Harlem Renaissance. His writing often celebrated the lives and experiences of African Americans, and he was known for his innovative use of jazz and blues rhythms in his poetry. Hughes’ work has had a lasting impact on the literary world and is considered one of the most influential Black writers in American history.

Hughes’ poetry collection, The Weary Blues, showcases his talent for blending the rich cultural traditions of black people with his distinctive poetic voice. The poems in this collection touch on themes of love, race, and identity, offering an engaging and moving portrait of African American life during the early 20th century.

“I, too, sing America. I am the darker brother.”

Langston Hughes, The Weary Blues
The Weary Blues
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Hughes, Langston (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 87 Pages - 01/01/2022 (Publication Date) - Open Road Media (Publisher)

12. Nella Larsen, 1891 – 1964

Nella Larsen
Close-up photo of Nella Larsen

Nella Larsen was a groundbreaking female writer and an important figure in the Harlem Renaissance. As a mixed-race woman, Larsen’s work often explored themes of race, identity, and the complexities of passing in a racially divided America. Her novels have been praised for their nuanced portrayal of the African American experience and their exploration of the social and psychological pressures faced by black people in the early 20th century.

Larsen’s novel, Passing, tells the story of two light-skinned black women, Irene and Clare, who navigate the complexities of racial identity in the 1920s. The novel delves into themes of self-discovery, loyalty, and the consequences of crossing racial boundaries, providing a powerful commentary on race and identity in America. Passing remains an influential work in African American literature and a must-read for those interested in the intricacies of race relations.

“It’s funny about ‘passing.’ We disapprove of it and at the same time condone it.”

Nella Larsen, Passing
Passing
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Larsen, Nella (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 171 Pages - 07/06/2021 (Publication Date) - Signet (Publisher)

13. Audre Lorde, 1934 – 1992

Audre Lorde
Photo of a contemplate Audre Lorde

Audre Lorde was an influential poet, essayist, and activist whose work focused on issues of race, gender, and sexuality. A self-proclaimed “Black, lesbian, mother, warrior, poet,” Lorde’s writing is characterized by its passion and intensity, making her a central figure in the feminist movement and a powerful voice in the literary world.

Lorde’s collection of essays and speeches, Sister Outsider, showcases her fierce commitment to social justice and incisive critiques of the systems perpetuating inequality. The essays in the collection explore a wide range of topics, from the power of language to the importance of intersectional feminism. Sister Outsider remains essential for those interested in understanding the complexities of race, gender, and sexuality.

I am not free while any woman is unfree, even when her shackles are very different from my own.”

Audre Lorde, Sister Outsider
Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches (Crossing Press Feminist Series)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Lorde, Audre (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 210 Pages - 01/04/2012 (Publication Date) - Crossing Press (Publisher)

14. Gloria Naylor, 1950 – 2016

The Women of Brewster Place
Book cover of The Women of Brewster Place

Gloria Naylor was a celebrated author whose work often centered on the lives of African American women, exploring themes of community, spirituality, and the power of female bonds. Naylor’s novels have been praised for their richly detailed narratives and compelling characterizations, earning her numerous accolades, including the National Book Award for her first novel, The Women of Brewster Place.

The Women of Brewster Place is a powerful and moving novel that follows the lives of seven African American women living in a rundown housing project. Through interconnected stories, Naylor weaves a tapestry of their experiences, delving into themes of love, loss, and the strength of sisterhood. The Women of Brewster Place remains a classic in African American literature and a testament to the resilience and spirit of Black women.

“Time’s passage through the memory is like molten glass that can be opaque or crystalize at any given moment at will: a thousand days are melted into one conversation, one glance, one hurt, and one hurt can be shattered and sprinkled over a thousand days.”

Gloria Naylor, The Women of Brewster Place
The Women of Brewster Place: A Novel in Seven Stories (Penguin Contemporary American Fiction Series)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Naylor, Gloria (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 195 Pages - 06/28/2005 (Publication Date) - Penguin Books (Publisher)

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best Hermann Hesse books!

Author

  • Kate has been writing since she was 10 years old, tapping away on an old typewriter in her childhood bedroom. Today, Kate is a seasoned freelance writer with over 10 years of experience writing for print and online media. She’s an avid reader and believes in the power of words to transport readers to new worlds, and inspire and nurture creativity. Kate is also a published author and is currently working on her next project.