10 Best Authors Like Quinn Loftis to Explore the Supernatural

Discover our list of the best authors like Quinn Loftis, and explore the supernatural world of vampires, werewolves, and witches with plenty of romance.

Quinn Loftis is the author of the Grey Wolves series, a series about werewolves that is 19 books long and counting. As a young woman, her favorite books were Harry PotterAlpha and Omega, and Pride and Prejudice. This combination may be part of why her books often feature wolves, fantasy, and romance.

Loftis started writing in 2011 when she self-published Prince of Wolves, her first novel. Though she didn’t expect to have much success, the book was a hit, and it has been downloaded over 1 million times since its initial publication. This success pushed her to continue writing; today, Loftis has over 40 books. Fate and Fury, one of her books, is a USA Today bestseller.

When she is not writing, Loftis enjoys spending time with her family or preparing for Christmas, her favorite holiday. If you’re a fan of her romantic fantasy books, then these best authors like Quinn Loftis are worth looking into. Ready to write your own fantasy novel? Check out our N.K. Jemisin MasterClass review!

Best Authors Like Quinn Loftis Ranked

1. Aileen Erin

Aileen Erin
Aileen Erin

Aileen Erin is the pen name for author Eileen Latcham, a self-proclaimed nerd who loves science fiction. Erin studied Radio-TV-Film at the University of Texas. After graduation, she attended Seton Hill University for a master’s in Writing Popular Fiction. She lives in Texas, where she writes and reads science fiction. Aileen is the author of the Alpha Girls and Aunare Chronicles series. Becoming Alpha, the first book in the Alpha Girl series was her first book, published in 2013. The book tells the story of a young woman who ends up amid boy drama with a side of vampires and werewolves.

“I can’t do that. I can’t turn my emotions off and on like that. I’m either all in or all out. And if you can’t do that—if I don’t come first, then for God’s sake, leave me alone.”

Aileen Erin, Becoming Alpha
Becoming Alpha (Alpha Girl)
  • Erin, Aileen (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 348 Pages - 09/20/2016 (Publication Date) - Ink Monster (Publisher)

2. Shelly Crane

Shelly Crane
Book cover of Undeniably Chosen by Shelly Crane

New York Times bestselling author Shelly Crane is a book collector who also loves contributing her writing to the world of literature. Crane became an author by accident, as it was never her intention. Yet, the idea for her first novel, Significance, would not leave her alone. She put it on paper to get it out of her mind, and it became her first book, which she published in 2011. The book is a supernatural romance that started a six-book series, ending with Undeniably Chosen, which she published in 2015.

“You know that feeling when you’re at your favorite restaurant and you see the waitress coming with your food, that happy feeling that slides down your spine? Find the girl that gives you that same feeling. And marry her.”

Shelly Crane, Undeniably Chosen
Undeniably Chosen: a Significance novel
  • Crane, Shelly (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 376 Pages - 03/31/2015 (Publication Date) - CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (Publisher)

3. Jamie L. Biggs

Book cover of Finding Nikki by Jamie L. Biggs
Book cover of Finding Nikki by Jamie L. Biggs

Supernatural romance author Jamie L. Biggs took an unusual journey to become an author. She started with a Bachelor of Science in Visual Communication, then got a master’s in Education. Even while working in these fields, she had a passion for telling stories and soon turned that passion into a writing career. As a relatively new author, she published her first book, Finding Nikki, in 2018, followed by Paid in Full, the first Kelly Kennedy book, in 2020, and Captive in 2021. Her books feature vampires and werewolves who find romance in the human world.

“Sometimes I sit and envision my life as a motion picture that will play out with a happily ever after ending.”

Jamie L. Biggs, Finding Nikki
Finding Nikki: A White Mountain Pack Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Biggs, Jamie L (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 270 Pages - 10/13/2018 (Publication Date) - Amazon Digital Services (Publisher)

4. G.K. DeRosa

Book cover of Half-Blood by G.K. DeRosa
Book cover of Half-Blood by G.K. DeRosa

As a USA Today bestselling author, G.K. DeRosa has enjoyed expressing her imagination since childhood. She fell in love with storytelling as a child in elementary school but decided to study business at the University of Florida after high school. After graduating, she returned to her storytelling roots, publishing the Guardian series for young adults. Wilder was the first book in the series, and it introduced DeRosa’s readers to a fantasy world where a young Celeste Wilder falls in love with a boy from a supernatural world.

DeRosa published the book in 2015 and continued writing, introducing many magical characters to her fans. In 2019, she introduced The Darkblood Academy books with Half-Blood, then in 2019, she introduced the Hitch series with its first book, The Bachelorette.

“Cinder is safe with Ash. Bringing Luna to her room will only put the girl in the line of fire once again. I, for one, do not want to have to explain to Fenix and Flare that we got their little sister killed.”

G.K. DeRosa, Half-Blood
Darkblood Academy: Book One: Half-Blood (A Supernatural Academy Series)
  • DeRosa, G.K. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 256 Pages - 06/04/2019 (Publication Date) - Independently published (Publisher)

5. Regan Ure

Book cover of Alpha by Regan Ure
Book cover of Alpha by Regan Ure

Regan Ure hails from South Africa and started writing when she was just 12 years old. After publishing two teen fiction romance novels, she started working in computer programming. That work allowed her to travel through much of the world. After she became a mother, she decided to start writing again and published short stories on a free publishing website.

This success caused her to seek publication, and her journey into novel writing began in earnest. Alpha, which she published in 2015, was her first book. It featured werewolves and shapeshifters, placing her in the middle of the fantasy romance genre.

“One thing I hated most about school was waking up early. Why did school have to start so early?”

Regan Ure, Alpha
Alpha (Forever)
  • Ure, Regan (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 312 Pages - 07/31/2015 (Publication Date) - Regan Ure (Publisher)

6. Jody Morse

Book cover of Howl by Jody Morse
Book cover of Howl by Jody Morse

Jody Morse writes young adult paranormal romance books, often co-authored with her sister Jayme Morse. The writing duo lives in Pennsylvania and uses the Pocono Mountains as the setting for their books. A graduate of East Stroudsburg University, Morse has written over 70 books over 11 years.

Her largest series is The Sherwood Wolves, which starts with Wolfbound and ends with Mate BoundHowl, her 2011 novel and the first book in the series of the same name is another popular work. Many of Morse’s books are published as Kindle editions only.

“The boy really needed a haircut. Didn’t he know that shoulder-length hair on guys just wasn’t sexy unless you looked like Johnny Depp?”

Jody Morse, Howl
Howl (Howl Series Book 1)
  • Hardcover Book
  • Morse, Jody (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 262 Pages - 12/03/2021 (Publication Date) - Independently published (Publisher)

7. Noelle Marie

Book cover of Bitten by Noelle Marie
Book cover of Bitten by Noelle Marie

Noelle Marie is a mom and homemaker by day, but she writes tantalizing supernatural romances on the side. While her passion is her children, she also enjoys reading and baking. Bitten is her first novel, which she published in 2014. It tells the story of a 16-year-old realist who doesn’t believe in mythological creatures, yet she finds herself falling in love with a werewolf. She also wrote the Finding Us series and a standalone retelling of Beauty and the Beast entitled Beastly.

“Katherine knew that she could handle anything that came her way as long as Bastian was always there to smile at her like that and kiss her like this.”

Noelle Marie, Bitten
Bitten (Once Bitten, Twice Shy)
  • Marie, Noelle (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 310 Pages - 10/19/2014 (Publication Date) - CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (Publisher)

8. Lana Meylan

Book cover of First Hunter by Lana Meylan
Book cover of First Hunter by Lana Meylan

Lana Meylan writes romantic paranormal books that have plenty of action in them. The books are in three series, Forged by Fate, The Eternity Road, and The Weight of Magic. Of the three, The Weight of Magic is her longest, with eight books total. The First Hunter, the first in The Eternity Road series, features a thrilling mix of witches and vampires along with a hearty helping of romance. 

When not writing, Melyan can be found watching her favorite television show, and her enjoyment of streaming popular shows led to the style of her books, which are known for their fast pace and episodic style that mirror many modern television shows. Meylan also enjoys video gaming and lives in Norway with her children. Her books are considered young adult fiction and feature mythical creatures like vampires and witches.

“She was falling through total darkness. The next moment, she jolted at the impact with something soft, and her eyes flew open.”

Lana Meylan, First Hunter
The First Hunter (The Eternity Road, Book 1)
  • Melyan, Lana (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 344 Pages - 05/02/2023 (Publication Date) - Independently published (Publisher)

9. Kestra Pingree

Book cover of Taken by Werewolves by Kestra Pingree
Book cover of Taken by Werewolves by Kestra Pingree

Kestra Pingree is the author of the Nightshade Academy books, which starts with Awakened Vampire. Like many of the authors on this list, Pingree has a werewolf series entitled The Lost Princess of Howling Sky. This series is intended for adult readers and starts with Taken by Werewolves. This prolific author is also a singer, songwriter, and animator who streams under the name Usachii. The author claims to have many books already in mind; they just need to find the time to write them.

“I reluctantly looked behind me again, more toward my left to decipher what she could possibly be pointing at. Then I saw it, color beyond the ash.”

Kestra Pingree, Taken by Werewolves
Taken by Werewolves (The Lost Princess of Howling Sky Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Pingree, Kestra (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 196 Pages - 04/26/2018 (Publication Date)

10. Felicity Heaton

Book cover of Prophecy: Child of Light by Felicity Heaton
Book cover of Prophecy: Child of Light by Felicity Heaton

The final author on the list is Felicity Heaton, a New York Times and internationally bestselling author who writes paranormal romances with quite a bit of passion. Heaton’s books are well-known for their intricate fantasy worlds with creative details throughout. Her Angel is an excellent series for those who love angels with a dark side, while the Vampires Realm series is one of her more famous works.

A prolific and busy writer, she has over 140 distinct books. Heaton has had a passion for writing and fantasy since childhood, and putting the two together into a successful career makes a lot of sense. Prophecy: Child of Light was her first book, published in 2007.

“The walls around her had closed in over the years, making the mansion increasingly unbearable, and drawing her ever more to the world outside her bedroom window.”

Felicity Heaton, Prophecy: Child of Light
Prophecy: Child of Light: An Epic Vampire Paranormal Romance (Vampires Realm Romance Series Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Heaton, Felicity (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 478 Pages - 11/24/2013 (Publication Date) - Alinar Publishing (Publisher)

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best authors like Terry Pratchett!

Author

  • Nicole Harms has been writing professionally since 2006. She specializes in education content and real estate writing but enjoys a wide gamut of topics. Her goal is to connect with the reader in an engaging, but informative way. Her work has been featured on USA Today, and she ghostwrites for many high-profile companies. As a former teacher, she is passionate about both research and grammar, giving her clients the quality they demand in today's online marketing world.