10 Best Authors Like Patricia Briggs who are Masters of Urban Fantasy

Discover our list of authors like Patricia Briggs, who spin intricate urban fantasies and tales of mystery, magic, and the supernatural.

Urban fantasy is a sub-genre of fantasy that marries the trappings of contemporary life with elements of the fantastic, such as magic, mythical creatures, and supernatural beings. Some of the best fantasy authors offer readers an escape from the mundane, a thrilling alternate reality that’s hidden within their own, presenting an appealing contrast that fuels the genre’s popularity. With its unique blend of mystery, adventure, and romance, urban fantasy appeals to those who relish the idea of a fantastical underworld thriving beneath the veneer of daily life.

Stepping into the world of Patricia Briggs is like entering a fusion of the every day and the supernatural. Patricia Briggs is an acclaimed author within the urban fantasy genre, recognized for her knack for immersive world-building and compelling character development.

Two of her most renowned series include the Mercy Thompson series, which follows the life of a shapeshifting mechanic in a world where the paranormal is the norm, and the Alpha and Omega series, which delves into the realm of werewolves, bringing a unique mix of suspense, romance, and fantasy. Patricia Briggs’ work is emblematic of the best the urban fantasy genre has to offer, and this list of authors like Patricia Briggs only adds to the enjoyment.

Best Authors Like Patricia Briggs Ranked

1. Nalini Singh, 1977 –

Nalini Singh
Nalini Singh

Born in Fiji but raised in New Zealand, Nalini Singh attended the University of Auckland, where she studied English Literature and Law and graduated with honors. As a multi-award-winning author, Singh has been recognized by the Romance Writers of New Zealand, where she placed third in the Clendon Award competition. She was also awarded the Jane Porter Award and the Readers’ Choice Award from the Clendon Award. Her Psy/Changeling series and Guild Hunter series have both gained her recognition on the New York Times bestseller list. She also received the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award in 2014.

Singh’s first novel in the Psy/Changeling series, Slave to Sensation, introduces readers to a dystopian future where the world is populated by three races: the emotionless Psy, the shapeshifting Changelings, and the human population caught in between. The book centers around Sascha Duncan, a Psy struggling to conceal her emotions, and Lucas Hunter, a Changeling alpha, whose path crosses with Sascha in his pursuit of a Psy serial killer. The intricate world-building and evolving relationship dynamics form the crux of this urban fantasy novel.

“Hunter had become the only ruling alpha in the DarkRiver leopard pack at twenty-three years of age.”

Nalini Singh, Slave to Sensation
Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Singh, Nalini (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 353 Pages - 03/31/2009 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

2. Jeaniene Frost, 1974 –

Jeaniene Frost
Jeaniene Frost

Jeaniene Frost found her calling in writing urban fantasy and paranormal romance novels. Her life in Maryland includes exploring old cemeteries, reading, watching movies, and traveling by car. Frost’s Night Huntress series quickly found its footing, earning her the PEARL award for Best New Author of Paranormal Romance in 2009. Frost’s books have been featured on several book lists, including the Wall Street Journal, Publishers Weekly, ABA Indiebound, and more.

Her debut novel, Halfway to the Grave, marked the beginning of the Night Huntress series. This urban fantasy introduces Cat Crawfield, a half-vampire hunting the undead to avenge her mother, and Bones, a vampire bounty hunter who becomes Cat’s unlikely ally. Together, they navigate threats, uncover secrets, and deal with their growing attraction. A balance of humor, action, and romance elevates the story’s depth and appeal.

“No. I don’t think you’re pretty. I think you’re the most beautiful girl I’ve ever seen.”

Jeaniene Frost, Halfway to the Grave
Halfway to the Grave: A Night Huntress Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Frost, Jeaniene (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 384 Pages - 10/13/2009 (Publication Date) - HarperCollins e-books (Publisher)

3. Jim Butcher, 1971 –

Jim Butcher
Jim Butcher

Born and raised in Missouri, Jim Butcher’s passion for storytelling emerged in his early 20s. Butcher has been vocal about his long and arduous journey to becoming a published author and is always helpful in offering aspiring writers honest information about the hard work involved. The Dresden Files, his best-known work, is a blend of magic and mystery that adds significantly to the genre. Notably, Butcher received the Hugo Award in 2009 for The Dresden Files: Welcome to the Jungle.

Storm Front, the first book of The Dresden Files series, immerses readers in the life of Harry Dresden, a wizard detective in modern-day Chicago. With his unique skill set, Dresden aids the police in solving crimes that have a supernatural bend. The novel presents an absorbing mixture of detective fiction and fantasy, setting the foundation for a series that has enthralled fans for years. You might be interested in exploring more fantasy books, check out our round-up of best JK Rowling books.

“Smiling always seems to annoy people more than actually insulting them. Or maybe I just have an annoying smile.”

Jim Butcher, Storm Front
Storm Front (The Dresden Files, Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Butcher, Jim (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 332 Pages - 04/01/2000 (Publication Date) - Roc (Publisher)

4. Charlaine Harris, 1951 –

Charlaine Harris
Charlaine Harris

Charlaine Harris hails from Mississippi, where she started writing very early. It wasn’t until she graduated college that she turned her attention from writing poetry and plays to writing urban fantasy mysteries. Her work, often characterized by an inventive blend of mystery and the supernatural, led to her being a New York Times bestselling author and being nominated for the Agatha Awards under the Best Novel category in 1990.

Harris’s novel Dead Until Dark is the first entry in the Southern Vampire Mysteries series. The narrative revolves around Sookie Stackhouse, a telepathic waitress from a small Louisiana town. Her life changes dramatically when she meets Bill Compton, a vampire. Harris skilfully weaves elements of mystery, romance, and the paranormal into a compelling narrative set in a world where humans and vampires coexist.

“Denise wasn’t truly pretty, but she was so flashy and confident that it took a while to figure that out.”

Charlaine Harris, Dead Until Dark
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Harris, Charlaine (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 332 Pages - 05/01/2001 (Publication Date) - Ace (Publisher)

5. Laurell K. Hamilton, 1963 –

Laurell K. Hamilton
Laurell K. Hamilton

Born in Heber Springs, Arkansas, and raised in Indiana, Laurell K. Hamilton earned dual degrees in English and Biology from a private Indiana college, formerly Marion College. She is passionate about animal rescue efforts and supports several animal charities. During her long career, she has authored several standalone titles, two book series, spin-off comic books, and several anthologies. Hamilton’s writing skillfully blends urban fantasy, mystery, and horror elements.

Guilty Pleasures, the first book in the Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter series, introduces readers to the eponymous heroine, a professional necromancer and vampire hunter in a world where vampires and shapeshifters exist openly. As Anita navigates a series of vampire murders, Hamilton skillfully unfolds a world that balances crime-solving with supernatural elements, setting the stage for a highly successful urban fantasy series.

“Fear will bind you closer than love, or hate, and it works a hell of a lot quicker.”

Laurell K. Hamilton, Guilty Pleasures
Guilty Pleasures: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Hamilton, Laurell K. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 300 Pages - 09/24/2002 (Publication Date) - Berkley (Publisher)

6. Kevin Hearne, 1970 –

Kevin Hearne
Kevin Hearne

Kevin Hearne, an Arizona native, is a modern voice in the urban fantasy genre, best known for his Iron Druid Chronicles. Hearne spent seventeen years as a high school English teacher before pursuing writing full-time. His first book, Hounded, quickly became a success and led to a series spanning nine books and several short stories.

The first book of the Iron Druid Chronicles, Hounded, presents Atticus O’Sullivan, the last of the Druids. Set in modern-day Arizona, the novel spins a tale of magic, myth, and mayhem as Atticus battles with the gods of old. Hearne’s deft storytelling immerses readers in a vivid world, combining Irish mythology with contemporary settings and humor.

“Cowardly? Bleh. Tell you what: Let’s debate the meaning of honor and see who lives longer.”

Kevin Hearne, Hounded
Hounded (with two bonus short stories): Book One of The Iron Druid Chronicles
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Hearne, Kevin (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 320 Pages - 05/03/2011 (Publication Date) - Del Rey (Publisher)

7. Carrie Vaughn, 1973 –

Carrie Vaughn
Carrie Vaughn

Colorado-based author Carrie Vaughn was born into an Air Force family and thus has lived in multiple places during her life. Vaughn loved science fiction from a young age, and some of her favorite authors include Ray Bradbury, Joseph Conrad, Iain M. Banks, and Ursula K. LeGuin. She is best known for her Kitty Norville series, featuring a werewolf radio host, which was a breakout success and earned Vaughn the RT Reviewers’ Choice Award for Best First Mystery for Kitty and the Midnight Hour.

Kitty and the Midnight Hour, the first book in the Kitty Norville series, centers on Kitty Norville, a radio host for a late-night music program. However, her life takes an unexpected turn when she starts a call-in show for supernaturals, inadvertently revealing her secret as a werewolf to her listeners. As she navigates this new reality, Kitty becomes a beacon for others hiding their supernatural identities while dealing with various personal and supernatural threats. You might also be interested in our guide on authors like Orson Scott Card.

“That’s not any fun. I want to have fun.”

Carrie Vaughn, Kitty and the Midnight Hour
Kitty and The Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Vaughn, Carrie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 289 Pages - 01/09/2007 (Publication Date) - Grand Central Publishing (Publisher)

8. Karen Marie Moning, 1964 –

Karen Marie Moning
Karen Marie Moning

Born in Cincinnati, Ohio, Karen Marie Moning has carved a niche in urban fantasy and romance. After graduating from Purdue University with a degree in Society and Law, she eventually became a novelist. Before that, she had been a bartender, insurance specialist, and computer consultant. Her Fever series, a seamless blend of mystery, suspense, and the supernatural has garnered her numerous awards, including the prestigious RITA award for Best Paranormal Romance.

Moning’s Darkfever, the first entry in the Fever series, introduces readers to MacKayla Lane, a southern woman traveling to Ireland to investigate her sister’s murder. Her quest pulls her into a world of dark magic and ancient secrets. Moning’s skillful storytelling and engaging plot create a compelling read that effectively sets up the intricate world of the Fever series.

“Movies tell you what to think. A good book lets you choose a few thoughts for yourself.”

Karen Marie Moning, Darkfever
Darkfever: Fever Series Book 1
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Moning, Karen Marie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 382 Pages - 10/31/2006 (Publication Date) - Delacorte Press (Publisher)

9. Kelley Armstrong, 1968 –

Kelley Armstrong
Kelley Armstrong

Canadian author Kelley Armstrong has been a staple in the urban fantasy genre for over two decades. Armstrong’s career began with her Women of the Otherworld series, which has earned her recognition and acclaim. She has also made a name for herself in the young adult genre with her Darkest Powers trilogy. Her work shows her keen interest in psychology, technology, and all things supernatural.

In the first book of the Women of the Otherworld series, Bitten, Armstrong introduces readers to Elena Michaels, a journalist living in Toronto and the world’s only female werewolf. Armstrong crafts a rich world where the supernatural lives alongside the mundane, blending suspense, horror, and romance elements. The story’s compelling characters and well-drawn setting make it a standout in the urban fantasy genre. You might be interested in exploring more fantasy books, such as best books by Kristin Hannah.

“I’ve been fighting it all night. I’m going to lose.”

Kelley Armstrong, Bitten
Bitten (An Otherworld Novel Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Armstrong, Kelley (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 539 Pages - 09/07/2004 (Publication Date) - Plume (Publisher)

10. Faith Hunter, 1947 –

Faith Hunter
Faith Hunter

Faith Hunter, born Gwendolyn Faith Hunter, is a Louisiana-born author. She uses the pen name Faith Hunter for her urban fantasy novels and Gwen Hunter for her thriller genre novels. Hunter began writing while still in high school in Louisiana. She graduated with a degree in Allied Health Technology and began a successful career working in a local hospital. Hunter has more than 40 books, including the popular Jane Yellowrock series. Her past medical experience shows in the rich scientific detail in her novels.

The first novel in the Jane Yellowrock series, Skinwalker, revolves around Jane, a shapeshifter who can turn into any creature she desires. Hired by the vampire council of New Orleans to hunt down a rogue vampire, Jane’s mission takes unexpected turns. Hunter’s detailed world-building and strong, complex heroine has made this series a favorite among urban fantasy fans.

“Beast had once informed me that humans were hunters only by luck and because they had opposable thumbs.”

Faith Hunter, Skinwalker
Skinwalker (Jane Yellowrock, Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Hunter, Faith (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 338 Pages - 05/22/2009 (Publication Date) - Ace (Publisher)

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best young adult books!

Author

  • Kate has been writing since she was 10 years old, tapping away on an old typewriter in her childhood bedroom. Today, Kate is a seasoned freelance writer with over 10 years of experience writing for print and online media. She’s an avid reader and believes in the power of words to transport readers to new worlds, and inspire and nurture creativity. Kate is also a published author and is currently working on her next project.