7 Best Authors Like Mark Edwards To Check Out

Are you a fan of Mark Edward’s novels? Then, check out our round-up of the best authors like Mark Edwards!

Mark Edwards is the best-selling author of multiple thriller and crime fiction novels, including What You Wish For, Because She Loves Me, In Her Shadow, Here to Stay, The House Guest, and his newest book, No Place to Run.

Known for his twists and turns, Edwards has incredible creative writing talent. To date, Edwards has sold over three million copies of his books since his debut novel in 2013, and in 2019 he won The Cat and Mouse Award for the Most Elusive Villain for his book The Last of the Magpies. Edwards was born in England and started writing in his 20s. As a teenager, he was a fan of Stephen King, creating a passion for thriller novels in the young author.

He got his professional start in the marketing world and, in the early 2000s, turned to writing. Mark Edwards often dips into the world of Indie authors, choosing to self-publish some of his books. He did well as a self-published author and has landed book deals with Harper Collins after his novels did well on their own.

1. Louise Voss

Louise Voss is the author of Detective Patrick Lennon and Kate Maddox’s series of books. Some of her top-rated books are From the Cradle, the first Detective Lennon thriller, and The Blissfully Dead, the second. She also wrote Killing Cupid, Catch Your Death, The Venus Trap, and His Other Woman. 

Louise Voss co-published six novels with Mark Edwards, including the Detective Patrick Lennon books Forward Slash and Killing Cupid. In addition, she writes psychological thrillers, police procedurals, and contemporary novels. In addition to writing, she works as a literary consultant and mentors writers.

“It’s fine, Mervyn,’ said the blond, hearty-looking man next to him, reaching across the table to give Patrick’s and Carmella’s hands a bone-squeezing shake. ‘Let me introduce you to everyone. I’m Tris Kent, managing director of Gideon Records.”

Louise Voss
Sale
From the Cradle (A Detective Lennon Thriller, 1)
  • Edwards, Mark (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 383 Pages - 11/01/2014 (Publication Date) - Thomas & Mercer (Publisher)

2. Claire McGowan

Claire McGowan is the author of several thrilling crime novels, including Are You Awake, I Know You, The Push, and What You Did. She is also the author of Paula Maguire’s books, including The Lost, The Dead Ground, and The Silent Dead. Goodreads lists her as an author similar to Mark Edwards, Claire McGowan grew up in Ireland and earned a degree from Oxford University. She then moved to London, where she grew her literary career. McGowan publishes crime fiction under this name and contemporary women’s fiction under Eva Woods.

“Silence in the courtroom, silence in the street, the biggest mouth in Ireland is just about to speak . . .”

Claire McGowan
Sale
Are You Awake?
  • McGowan, Claire (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 351 Pages - 11/08/2022 (Publication Date) - Thomas & Mercer (Publisher)

3. Sarah Pearse

Sarah Pearse is the author of the Elin Warner series. This includes The Sanatorium and The Retreat. These page-turning crime novels follow a young detective as she tries to determine the truth behind suspicious deaths. This is a relatively new author in the novel crime genre. The Sanatorium was her first book, and it was an instant Number One in the New York Times bestseller list. It has been translated into over 30 languages and sold over half a million copies, making it a popular choice for a new author. She published the sequel, The Retreat, in 2022.

“Family is all you have, but it isn’t found only in a blood connection. Family shows itself in the unlikeliest of moments: the split-second glances, a gesture, the hand next to yours when you need it the most.”

Sarah Pearse
The Retreat: A Novel
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Pearse, Sarah (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 368 Pages - 07/19/2022 (Publication Date) - Pamela Dorman Books (Publisher)

4. Judith Flanders

Judith Flanders is the author of the Sam Clair series. The debut book, A Murder of Magpies, is a funny excursion into the world of Sam Clair, her Goth assistant, and her partner Inspector Field. The follow-up books are A Bed of Scorpions, A Cast of Vultures, and A Howl of Wolves. Judith Flanders was born in London and moved to Montreal as a young girl.

In 2001, she wrote her first book, A Circle of Sisters, which outlined the life of four sisters of the Victorian era. In 2011 she published the Invention of Murder: How the Victorians Revelled in Death and Detection and Created Modern Crime. Her research for this book led her into the novel crime genre.

“There are supposed to be endorphins or whatever that make you feel great when you exercise. I don’t think I have any, because I only feel great when I’m lying on the sofa reading a book, possibly while simultaneously eating biscuits.”

Judith Flanders
Sale
The Invention of Murder: How the Victorians Revelled in Death and Detection and Created Modern Crime
  • Flanders, Judith (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 576 Pages - 07/15/2014 (Publication Date) - St. Martin's Griffin (Publisher)

5. Robert Bryndza

Best Authors Like Mark Edwards: Robert Bryndza
Jindřich Nosek (NoJin), CC BY-SA 4.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Robert Bryndza is a prolific author who wrote Detective Erika Foster and Kate Marshel’s detective tales. The Girl in the Ice is book one of the Detective Chief Inspector Erika Foster series, and Nine Elms is the first book of the Kate Marshall series. Both books feature strong female leads who find themselves searching for the killer in a murderous story.

To date, The Girl in the Ice has sold over 1.5 million English copies and has 29 language translations. Robert Bryndza has sold over five million copies of his crime and thriller novels, he was born in England and currently lives in Slovakia. Bryndza started his career as an actor before discovering his love for writing.

“When I am gone, release me; let me go. I have so many things to see and do, You mustn’t tie yourself to me with too many tears, But be thankful we had so many good years. I gave you my love, and you can only guess How much you’ve given me in happiness.”

Robert Bryndza
Sale
The Girl in the Ice (Erika Foster Series, 1)
  • Bryndza, Robert (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 416 Pages - 04/24/2018 (Publication Date) - Grand Central Publishing (Publisher)

6. Daniel Hurst

Daniel Hurst is the best-selling author of The Passenger and other psychological thriller books that have topped the Amazon charts. The Passenger tells of a single mom who finds herself amid blackmail. This work was published by Inkubator Books and had many positive book reviews on Goodreads.

Other popular titles from this author include ‘Til Death Do Us Part and We Used to Live Here. Hurst is an English author who has worked as a bartender and in a few other roles before becoming a successful author. He created The 20 Minute Series, a series of short psychological books that can be read in one sitting. Many reviewers call these “soap operas in book form.”

“My mum hates her life, and she’s always in a bad mood. It annoys me that she thinks the right thing for me to do is become just like her.”

Daniel Hurst
The Passenger: A psychological thriller with an ending you won't see coming
  • Hurst, Daniel (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 276 Pages - 03/26/2021 (Publication Date) - Independently published (Publisher)

7. L. J. Ross

Finally, the last author on this list is L.J. Ross. The author of the DCI Ryan Mysteries and the Alexander Gregory Thrillers, L.J. Ross, has many works under her name. Her first book, Holy Islandbecame an international bestseller almost instantly, and she continues to top the “Most Read” and “Most Sold” fiction charts worldwide. Ross was born in England and moved to Paris and then later Florence. She worked as a lawyer for several years before retiring from law to writing full-time. She has many charitable works that she uses her income to support.

“Violent murder tended to kill your appetite for sugar.”

L. J. Ross
Holy Island: A DCI Ryan Mystery (The DCI Ryan Mysteries Book 1)
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Ross, LJ (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 316 Pages - 12/31/2014 (Publication Date)

Looking for more? Check out our round-up of the best books by Dostoevsky!

Join over 15,000 writers today

Get a FREE book of writing prompts and learn how to make more money from your writing.

Powered by ConvertKit